Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Asian
Bakery
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a vegetarian and vegan section in the menu. Serves Asian cuisine and a few western dishes. Check with the staff regarding vegan dishes when ordering. Has tofu as an alternative as well as coconut milk for coffees. A range of herbal teas, coffee, fresh juices and smoothies are available. Indoor and outdoor seating. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for The Little Leaf
© OpenStreetMap contributors

30 Reviews

First Review by CoralPage

DanielMáčovský

Points +33

Vegetarian
12 Feb 2024

Waiting for food is way hot to met new people

I was w8ing for food maybe 1hour
They forgot to bring drink for me and for few tables next to me.
They was so busy, and only 2 waiters are working.
Food wasn't bad but still not the great.
Prizes are fine to compare with other restaurant here.
You have 6 option of vegetarian meals.

Pros: Location , Beer

Cons: Time to serve your food , Taste of food

Advertisement

melanievi

Points +906

Vegan
06 Oct 2023

ok

the atmosphere here is nice and food is ok, as elsewhere in Cat ba. nice views during sunset time. read the menu carefully. I though I was getting falafel but it was just the name of a budha bow haha

Lilbirdierobin

Points +40

Vegan
08 Sep 2023

Ok food

Decent food and the owner was very nice but unfortunately he lied to us when we asked if the water in the ice/ juice was filtered and we both got violently sick😡

RhysJones

Points +753

Vegetarian
29 Jun 2023

Bit disappointed by the food

This was in a really nice location and the interior was really nice. We ordered the tofu soy sauce and the vegetable cari. Both dishes were a bit sweet (which might suit some tastes) and felt quite similar. It was also more expensive than other places we'd preferred in town.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-14

Pros: Nice interior

Cons: Quite expensive compared to other places in town, Both main courses were quite sweet

Selina_nsw

Points +3489

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Only ok

I ordered the Vietnamese pancake and the fresh spring rolls.
I would have liked it if they cut the pancakes already in pieces since it gets really messy if you do it to fit them into the rice paper. I only got provided 3 rice papers which is definitely not enough for 2 pancakes.
Also the pancake was a bit too oily and lacking in flavor.
The spring rolls were decent but I have had many better ones before in Vietnam.

ValaVegan

Points +70

Vegan
08 Mar 2023

Best Bahn mi

Best Bhan mi on whole vietnam! We loved it! I would give 5 star if it would be possible on happycow.
Edit: 2nd best banh mi in Vietnam :)

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-16

Pros: Best bhan mi in whole Vietnam

coldbuckwheatnoodles

Points +4518

Vegan
16 Feb 2023

It's alright.

Cute space on the main road of the island, the food I had wasn't the best, not really seasoned, but if you put some sauces on it it was good.

Marialvarado

Points +37

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2022

Amazing place!

Food is so reasonably priced, portions are large and flavourful and the views/people watching are great. Can’t seem to give five stars, but it was a 10/10 for my group :)

davidredstone

Points +1406

Vegetarian
07 Dec 2022

Decent place. Quiet & good prices.

December 2022 - There are some mixed reviews on google, but don't be put off.
The Little leaf has a hostel upstairs, so you see westerners coming and going, and sitting with laptops, in the cafe. The staff were nice and at least one person spoke decent English. One of the cafe tables is a tourist information desk 😂
I came for lunch, and had a cappuccino (average), a mango shake (ok) and a cashew nut vegetable stir-fry with steamed rice (pretty good). The music here was soft background stuff rather than the annoyingly loud Christmas music covers, that everyone else seems to be playing.

So I'd say it's worth trying The Little Leaf. It's also cheaper than the popular, 'Like Coffee' (up the road).

Pros: Veg'n menu page. Good prices. , Music wasn't too loud, English speaking staff

Cons: The veg'n menu is a bit simple

MiaSerafin

Points +98

Vegan
02 Oct 2022

Nowhere to be found

I think it doesn't exist anymore or we were looking in the wrong place but google maps says it's located somewhere else and we searched there too.

ninscha

Points +860

Vegan
09 Mar 2020

Okay

I had a Banh mi chay for takeaway on the sleeper bus, it was bigger and more filling than usual but also 30K, still good though.

Pros: Nice people, good English

Cons: Pricey

RotemMozes

Points +354

Vegan
28 Feb 2020

My favourite place in cat ba

A simple place to sit and enjoy a nice meal

Pros: Go food and prices

JessicaCastine

Points +24

Vegan
13 Feb 2020

Hours: 9am-10pm

I had the curry. It doesn’t come with tofu, but you can add it. When the dish first comes, it looks small, but it is quite filling and delicious. The coffee is lovely and good price. It’s not drip coffee though.. It’s also an ok place to get some work done.

Pros: Ok work space , Mid range price

Cons: A few more vegan options would be nice

valepaz

Points +283

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Just ok

The banh mi was ok, but far from being great, there was no seasoning, I’ve had better outside of Vietnam and certainly in other parts of Vietnam. The tomato soup was very disappointing, it felt like eating tomato sauce straight from the can.

Pros: Vegan options, Banh mi, Place it self

Cons: Food is not great

nimsajnala

Points +99

Vegan
14 Jan 2020

Not understanding what vegan means

My boyfriend got a “vegan” chocolate cake to take away (and didn’t look at it until he was home) and it was a cream cake that couldn’t be more dairy which was obviously quite disappointing.

elien25

Points +256

Vegan
13 Jan 2020

OK banh mi

Banh mi chay for 30k was OK. Not too much flavour but I guess I just miss the banh mi from Southern Vietnam...

BeaRowe24

Points +268

Vegan
11 Dec 2019

Fab vegan sandwich

Came first thing in the morning to get food before a boat tour, they open at 7 so was perfect timing to pick up a sandwich before meeting on the main strip at the end of the road. Our takeaway food was made so quickly and was amazing! I had the veggie sandwich 👌🏼

Pros: Open early, Lovely food, Close to main road

abibarlow95

Points +331

Vegan
09 Dec 2019

Good food & friendly staff

We had the Banh Mi’s which were huge and the fresh spring rolls - both delicious. Really good customer service and understanding of veganism. The waiter told me the bread had a tiny bit of milk in it (this is pretty common across Asia). We chose to eat them anyway however it’s worth noting if you’re allergic.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Cheap, Friendly staff

LoveAnimalLoveNature

Points +1387

Vegan
24 Oct 2019

Nice place

Cozy restaurant with a lot of plants. Very nice to sit here and enjoy the atmosphere. We had a nice passion fruit mojito and banh mi. The banh mi was good, but sauce was missing, so it was a bit dry. But sauce was available on the table. Fresh ingredients, nice tofu inside.

Pros: Many vegetarian dishes, not expensive

Cons: Missing sauce on banh mi

kelseyjaynex

Points +2737

Vegan
19 Oct 2019

Great place

Only tried a couple of things off the menu, but they were delicious and great value so we kept going back for them - that and the 10k draught beers. Love the tofu banh mi, usually elsewhere I need to get two as they’re small and not filling - but not here. It’s a giant one for only 30k with lots of juicy tofu and fresh veggies but no sauce - that’s fine though as there’s chilli & soy sauce on the table. The bun nem chay (fried spring rolls) are also amazing. Staff are really friendly and efficient, decor is nice and they have super cheap drink specials on beer and cocktails - very confusing though so ask the staff to explain them as the sign out the front is pretty hard to decipher. They also gave us a 10% off food voucher for a return visit. They’re very eager to please!

Pros: delicious fresh food, nicely presented, drink specials

SabCelli7

Points +403

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Not the best

I ordered the Banh Mi because I was reading all the reviews on how good it was here but I was disappointment. The bread was really nice but it was too much to even get a good taste on everything inside! I also had to add a ton of chili sauce to add to the taste, was a little too bland. My friend ordered the stir fry noodles with veggies and she said it was very oily and needed soy sauce and chili sauce for more flavor. We both liked what we had but just not the best! The place was super nice and staff was friendly. Food also came out fast. Banh mi was only 30k as well.

Pros: Fast service , Nice staff , Good atmosphere

Cons: Meat on menu

schwabni

Points +35

Vegetarian
12 Aug 2019

Very good banh mi

Very tasty and cheap banh mi. Smoothies and Mocktails were also very good!

Would go again

Pros: Tasty, Close to our hotel , Good prices

FloBold

Points +222

Vegan
24 Apr 2019

Nice Banh Mi

Good sandwich with tofu and vegetables which we got to take away on most days of our stay.

Zoermiddleton

Points +56

Vegan
19 Apr 2019

Delicious food

We had the banh mi and it was one of the best so far in Vietnam. The decor and atmosphere are really nice and the staff were friendly.

spicemustflow

Points +269

Vegetarian
22 Mar 2019

Excellent veggie food in Cat Ba!

We came here a few times while in Cat Ba, they serve a great mix of local and Western food. We tried their curry, veggie burger, soups, pizza and pasta, and it was always pretty good. Best tofu banh mi on the island. Their coffee is delicious, and the pour strong cocktails. Gets busy at night, but always happy to pull out more tables. They have a lunch special (20% off entree's) and an evening special (2 for 1 cocktails). Worth a visit or two!

Pros: Friendly staff, Good food

Cons: A little more expensive than typical joints

Ellalauwa

Points +757

Vegan
14 Mar 2019

Good but not amazing

The staff was really nice. All the meat dishes seem to be very good but I feel like the veggie dishes don't get the same amount of love from the cooks. It's still good but it's not amazing. Skip the fresh spring rolls though, they're not worth it. The fruit salad on the other hand was really good but I was quite annoyed to find out during payment that the 20÷ discount during lunch hours was not valid for the fruit bowl because it was considered to be a dessert.

larapfaui

Points +80

Vegan
09 Mar 2019

Not the best place to go

Unfortunately, we didn't like it at all. Very slow service, eventhough the place was basically empty.
The green tea we ordered was so bitter we couldn't drink it, the camomile tea didn't even taste like camomile but was straight up a lime tea and the rose bud tea tasted nothing but sweet.
Furthermore, the Banh Mi we ordered was really dry without any sauce. Only good thing was the cheap price and nice terrace, yet we definitely won't go there again.




This page has been viewed 4577 times.