11
  • The Khukuri Restaurant

  • (15)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Delivery
Take-out
Nepalese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Nepalese cuisine restaurant. Menu is well marked and offers vegetarian/vegan choices like mustang aloo, chana masala, and bhindi takara. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-14:00, Mon-Thu 17:00-23:30, Sun 17:00-23:00.


Venue map for The Khukuri Restaurant
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by nicofisher

phonebox13

Points +558

Vegan
19 Jul 2023

A must try when in Edinburgh.

I ordered two sides (decent portions) for takeaway -- and was blown away by how good it was. Will definitely come back again whenever Iโ€™m in Edinburgh.

Pros: Friendly staff, Cheap

Advertisement

Phips

Points +100

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

Really tasty food and friendly staff

We really enjoyed the vegan starter plate as well as the vegan curries with lemon rice ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿป definitely worth a visit, would come back again!

RachelHallows

Points +40

Vegan
15 Aug 2021

Amazing curries!

I've been here twice now and the food has been outstanding both times. There isn't a massive vegan selection but certainly enough for a filling meal with food left over to take home. There are vegan options for starters, mains and breads. All of the veg options are 2 chillies - not super spicy but a bit of a kick. My friend was able to ask for her food to be slightly milder so I'm sure they could do the same with these. I think they had the best saag aloo I've ever had. Our only complaint was that the service was pretty slow and uneven - I waited probably 15+ minutes to get my water, and my friend had long since finished her starter by the time mine came out. But it's still worth it unless you're in a hurry. I will absolutely go back.

Pros: delicious food, decent options

Cons: slow service

KittyHenning

Points +23

Vegan
06 Jun 2021

Anniversary celebration

Chose Khukuri for our anniversary because we love Nepalese food. We were quite surprised by the volume of vegan selection on the menu! About half the menu is vegetarian/vegan so we were spoilt for choice.
We eventually settled on Bodi, mushroom tarkari and aubergine tarkari with lemon rice, roti and chapati on the side. Everything had so much flavour and had fresh ingredients (no tinned mushrooms).
We checked with the waitress about dairy as one of us has an allergy and they were really great with checking over everything. We also feel it was really reasonably priced for such a delicious meal and great portion size.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian/vegan options, Great portion size and price, Good service

PlantBasedTraveller

Points +66

Vegan
29 Oct 2020

Favourite Edinburgh restaurant

I love this place! Loads of vegan friendly options clearly marked on the menu and the food is always delicious. I often find myself craving the momos! Service can be slow as its quite small and usually pretty busy, but you forgive them because the food is worth the wait and the staff are lovely.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Best momos! , Good value

Cons: Can be a bit slow

gypsykirk

Points +31

Mostly Veg
01 Oct 2020

Beautiful food. Clean with friendly staff. Recommended!

After looking for somewhere to eat in Edinburgh Khukuri came up on happy cow. The menu looked great so we booked. The food was delicious, the wine was great and as much as we had to rush our mains for a cinema date, we enjoyed every bit of it. I would definitely go back. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐ŸŒฑ

Pros: Vegan options, Reasonable prices. , Delicious food

Cons: Nothing of note !

philkm29

Points +44

Vegan
19 Dec 2019

Beautiful curry

Lots of plant based options

Curries nice and spicy with flavour.

Pros: Good options on menu, Comfortable

VeganLuce

Points +74

Vegan
04 Nov 2019

Delicious vegan options

We had a delicious meal here yesterday. Plenty of vegan dishes and very helpful staff. Recommend booking at the weekend as itโ€™s very popular.

deadpledge

Points +10652

Vegan
02 Nov 2019

Dhanyabad

Quite possibly one of the best takeaway meals I have ever eaten. The freshness of ingredient and the depth of flavour of both the mushroom tarkari and bhanta tarkari was delicious. The vegetable momos were outstanding too. Staff were very friendly and you get 10% discount off if you order online. I would definitely return again.

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly staff, Takeaway discount

Cons: Serves meat

TaraMurray

Points +271

Vegan
10 Apr 2019

5 stars!

This restaurant deserves 5 stars, for the food but also for the service.
We ordered the momo plate to share (insane!!) and then chana masala and the traditional Nepalese vegan meal with rice. It really was delicious!
The owner was really friendly and we got chatting late after we had finished our food. He didnโ€™t even know he was on Happy Cow so I showed him!
Just go here

Pros: Lots of vegan options (clearly marked), Friendly service

Obliqueoranges

Points +30

Vegan
02 Sep 2018

Late night food

Good food friendly service

LinnDaugherty

Points +618

Vegan
21 Jul 2018

Freaking DELICIOUS

I had the Chana masala in the restaurant for one dinner, and the aloo tama bodi delivered for another dinner. You canโ€™t go wrong! But I think I might like the aloo tama bodi just slightly more?! I donโ€™t know - theyโ€™re big delicious! Best Indian food Iโ€™ve had anywhere!

ollie33

Points +652

Vegan
06 Sep 2017

quiet, comfortable, delicious

This is a quiet comfortable place with a friendly, helpful staff that walked me thru the somewhat limited but delicious vegan options. Aloo Tama Bodi is unlike anything I've had before - a Nepalese traditional dish of black-eyed peas, potatoes but with bamboo, a unique flavor. The vegan options can be ordered as "sides" and 2 plus rice and a starter were more than enough. The starter I had was Baara, a tasty chickpea pancake with a peanut dipping sauce. Good beer selection. Fair prices. Short walk from city center and right around the corner from the Hilton Grosvenor.

Pros: delicious unique traditional Nepalese food in a co

Cons: Not that many vegan options (but what they offer i

WendyMenzies

Points +21

Vegetarian
25 Jun 2017

Great Nepalese food

The side vegetable dishes are labelled vegan and you can have them as a main dish. I went for three side dishes and they all had different interesting flavours. Very pleased. There's also some main dishes clearly marked vegan.

Pros: Different and interesting flavours

Cons: Tasty and healthy food

nicofisher

Points +55

Vegetarian
07 Jun 2017

Great change to normal Indian fod

This is a very friendly and welcoming place. The service was great and genuine. The menu clearly highlighted vegan options and had some different selection of Indian food. The veggie Momo was lovely. I go to Edinburgh once a month and wish I'd known about this place before. Certainly worth a try.

Pros: Clearly labelled vegan/vegetarian, Lovely service and you felt wanted, Delicious food

Cons: Not enough vegan




This page has been viewed 2863 times.