• The Judge's Bench Pub

  • (13)
    12
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Neighborhood pub where vegan dishes include a pretzel stick with spicy Bavarian beer mustard, vegetable potstickers served with Asian dipping sauce, meatless chick’n breaded with choice of vegan buffalo or BBQ sauce, gardein Burger, and a breaded chick'n wrap. Other dishes are veganisable. Variety of craft beer, wine, and drinks. Live music twice a week. Monday has meatless specials and Wednesday is veggie burger night. Open Mon-Fri 4:00pm-2:00am, Sat 2:00pm-2:00am, Sun 1:00pm-2:00am. Open Mon-Sun until 2am.


Venue map for The Judge's Bench Pub
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by EEJ

austinturbs

Points +24

Vegetarian
03 Dec 2023

Used to have many vegan options

Now just an overpriced, okay, Beyond Burger

Advertisement

Mike_H

Points +16

Vegan
21 Jan 2023

No longer a good choice for vegans

The Judge's Bench used to have a lot of bar food options for vegans and vegetarians. They changed their menu in January 2022 and now have basically no vegan/vegetarian options. There is a vegan 'Beyond' burger but it is overpriced and not very good. Still have a great beer and whiskey selection though if that is your thing.

RNVeg

Points +188

Vegetarian
03 Dec 2022

So not worth it

As far as food goes this place should be avoided. They have a vegan burger on the menu (with optional vegan cheese) and it was seriously underwhelming. I was in OEC for some Christmas shopping and I decided to stop in. The only thing preventing me from giving it one star is that the food was edible and I can see how the place would be a good hang out. For life sustaining sustenance it’s fine but that’s about it.

Pros: You won’t die of starvation 🫤

Cons: Only one real option, Bland, Awful parking, don’t go just for this place

StarvingVegan

Points +263

Vegan
15 May 2022

No longer have any vegan options

They used to have a menu with all the great options listed in these reviews. Now they just have a an veggie burger. The bartender didn’t even know that they used to have these options.

Laurenveronica7

Points +1225

Vegan
27 May 2019

Great old bones with some tasty foods

This little hideaway in Old Elicot City is a real treasure. So many beer options it’s crazy and they have great vegan choices on the menu. I love the potstickers and drummies. The chik’n wrap is also refreshing. It’s dark and I love it. Would be cool to see outdoor seating one dAy, but I know space is limited there. I was told the owner of new vegan restaurant in Baltimore, L’eau de Vie, worked here for some time hence all the vegan options, that they’ve kept! Score.

Pros: Vegan food choices are amazing , So many beers , Never feels over crowded

Cons: No outdoor seating

770veg

Points +3319

Vegan
10 May 2018

great brews

Have only had beers here but they have all been great with an immense vegan friendly variety, good prices, and good service.

bramblinman

Points +84

Vegan
04 Oct 2017

great vegan bar food

Have been going here for years. Huge beer selection with a number of Gardein-based food offerings including the garden beef less burger and crispy tenders. Is usually crowded with a mix of hipster-types and local regulars. Service can be slow at busy times since all food is ordered at the bar.

mike1366

Points +1200

Vegan
01 Oct 2017

Fun casual pub

Great local pub with a nice craft beer and whisky selection. One update to previous reviews: They no longer have the hazelnut crusted Field Roast sandwich, which was amazing. It looks like the menu may change frequently, but there were several vegan items in October 2017: vegan "jammies" (chicken fingers) with BBQ/buffalo sauce, a Gardein veggie burger, vegan chicken wrap sandwich, and a couple others. The vegan items are very clearly marked on the menu.

Pros: Beer and whisky selection, Vegan pub fare, Friendly staff

Cons: No more hazelnut crusted Field Roast sandwich

TomPetruzziello

Points +43

Vegan
17 Sep 2017

unexpected choices if friends are looking for pub food/ beer

Cool local place has vegan apps, vegan burger wraps you have to order food at bar, no servers, but everyone raved about food , vegan and non

ohemgee

Points +810

Vegan
27 Aug 2014

Nice

This place is great, they have some delicious vegan bar food. Spicy black bean burrito, tofu sandwich and beyond meat sandwich. Make sure to catch their live music acts, so much fun!
There is also a second floor with a large TV and couches, you can definitely have a party or birthday celebration!

08/27 - they have recently added the Gardein burger to their menu with several toppings to choose from. Very delicious! They have "burger" nights, so this is a nice option to have.

Updated from previous review on Tuesday April 23, 2013

Pros: Vegan options, live music

Cons: food may be dry during late hrs

NIBsmf

Points +910

Vegan
22 Dec 2011

Good vegan options

Food: 8. As mentioned in earlier reviews, there are a handful of good vegan options. I really like the dijon tofu sandwich!

Prices: 8. Decently priced.

Atmosphere: 8. Saturday nights can get really crowded, and sometimes the live music is too loud for my likings, but otherwise it is a very charming place with a lot of history. And for geeks like me, the legends about it being haunted add to the fun!

Staff: 8. Pretty friendly and pretty efficient.

Pros: Good vegan options, Charming atmosphere, Decent prices

Cons: Could be even more vegan options

SidheRa

Points +85

Vegan
14 Aug 2011

Surprisingly Vegan Friendly!

My partner and I were visiting his sister, and she recommended her favorite bar for dinner. We were initially hesitant - we'd been there a few years before with no luck, but as she told us, the owner's daughter is vegan, and after some prodding, he's begun to offer vegan options.

I had the burrito, and my partner had the beer brat. The brat was nothing special - just a Tofurky brat with some toppings, but it was tasty nevertheless. The burrito was pretty spicy, but DELICIOUS. It was too spicy for him, but I really enjoyed it. Along with a great selection of beers (easily checkable on Barnivore), we were very satisfied with our meal.

We will definitely go here again when we visit his sister.

Pros: friendly staff, good value, tasty food

Cons: noisy

EEJ

Points +24

Vegan
Owner
03 Aug 2010

Vegan additions make this vegan drink more

The Judge's Bench Pub is known for having a wide variety of craft beers - it is a beer aficinoado's dream bar. As someone who enjoys drinking a few strong beers (7 - 9% alcohol content is not atypical of some of the Bench's selections), it's important to also be able to eat while I'm drinking. The Judge's Bench has always had a few vegetarian items - like fries and salads - but not a whole lot of "stick to your ribs" dishes. In the past year or so they have added a number of specifically VEGAN items making it really easy for me to stay for another beer! I've tried the following dishes at the Judge's Bench: bean and rice burrito, lentil burger, spaghetti and marinara with vegan croquettes, hummus appetizer, veggie pizza ordered without cheese (unfortunately they haven't started using vegan cheese). I've also tried some specials that have usually only lasted a few weeks: vegan "crab" cakes and vegan sausage and mushroom quiche. It's good bar food that really hits the spot when you're having a few beers at happy hour!

If you stay through Happy Hour until 9, then you can hear live music any night. They even have an open mic night on Tuesdays. If you're not into live music, the second floor has foosball, a jukebox, HD TV, and lounge chairs - it's like hanging out in someone's living room.

Pros: Vegan bar food, Great beer selection, Relaxed atmosphere

EEJ

22 Feb 2013

Hi,

Thanks for asking. As it turns out, the Spaghetti dish (which is technically a special) had just run out when you were there. I think they have it back now... And the Tofurkey Beer Brat is just being added to the menu. I guess as a vegan who eats a lot of french fries b/c she goes to non-veg-friendly restaurants with friends, I consider 3 - 5 VEGAN items a lot! Sorry if my review misled you.

As for the vegan lentil burger, I like it! It is homemade and so it's pretty delicate - it's not a pre-fab veggie burger from the frozen food section, which is what I typically get at restaurants. I think it might not be chewy enough for some people (it isn't made with soy or seitan or anything), but I really like that it's just lentils, onions, and some other organic ingredients. If you go back and try it some time, let me know what you think!




This page has been viewed 5278 times.