• The Head of Steam

  • (13)
    18
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Western
Fast food
Beer/Wine
British
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Bar-restaurants with vegan dishes marked on the menu including a vegan club sandwich, vegan schwarma, garlic bread, vegan burgers, tacos, gyros, and various sides. Open Mon-Thu 12:00-23:00, Fri-Sat 12:00-00:00, Sun 12:00-18:00.


Venue map for The Head of Steam
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by jowad

frugilegus

Points +66

Vegan
10 Feb 2024

Good burgers & options

Vegan Burger that doesn't pretend to be meat!
Came back and had the vegan"lamb" gyro
Also good beer selection.
Recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-11

Advertisement

Alice_13

Points +265

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

So many vegan options!

Pub that has a lot of vegan options! Had a burger and a side salad. Food arrived quickly and was good but not outstanding. Would come again though since they offer so many different options!
Plays rock music which was nice😄

Pros: A lot of vegan options, Solid pub food, Good music

elzbeter

Points +94

Vegan
23 Feb 2023

Great place with lots of vegan options!

Lovely pub with many good vegan options, the staff was super lovely too! Some things I remeber from the menu were lots of different burger options, 4 different vegan pizzas, many vegan sides and lots of choice of vegan gyros which is what we ordered and it definitely didn’t disappoint! They also had really tasty vegan sauces, bbq and mayo

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-23

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Quick service, Friendly staff

DanielleBenson

Points +387

Vegan
01 Oct 2022

Nice pub in centre!

Lovely pub that does a lot of vegan options! Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. And love the pub quiz they do every Monday!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice atmosphere

JeromeJJerome

Points +125

Vegan
21 Jul 2022

Lots of options

Lots of options on the menu all clearly marked. Very quick and friendly service. The waiter went and got vegan mayo without being asked. All other condiments were clearly labelled.

Pros: lots of options, quick service

konlish

Points +5094

Vegan
29 Jan 2022

Great Food!

I had the smoke mountain while my friends had the Brunels moving mountain, Leaves on the line and Chik'n Swarma. We all enjoyed the food over Veganuary 241 special. #Veganuary

Pros: Lots vegan options, Tasty food

Cons: Serves meat and dairy

Vegan-Vagabond

Points +58

Vegan
24 Oct 2021

Pretty impressive bar in the heart of Cardiff

Walked past and thought I'd randomly give the place a go, I was impressed with the range of vegan beers and that they where very clearly marked. Friendly staff with a great atmosphere. I figured I try the sunday roast. Though i wasn't particularly hungry at the time I was curious. That was a mistake I was expecting the usual high price with small portions that you often get in city centre venues! As it turned out the portions where generious enough that I had difficulty finishing. And the taste was spot on. The only thing that could be improved if i search for things to nit pick over was that the veg could of done with having a bit more of a bite to it. (Ie. A little to soft for my taste) though it seems to be at the normal preference.so i can't really complain and the roasts could of been slightly crisper.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-24

Pros: Great range of vegan beers clearly marked., Vegan Chicken Sunday roast.

Cons: A bit on the expensive side

RhiannonMay

Points +513

Vegan
02 Oct 2021

Delicious and lots of options

I had the vegan chick’n and doner kebab with chips and it was delicious. Loads of options including pizza, burgers and kebabs with some great sides and a couple of desserts. Really satisfied my kebab needs!!

Pros: Lots of options, Great kebabs

darcytrezise

Points +111

Vegan
09 Nov 2019

Great options

Loads of vegan options to choose from! Really delicious burger and loaded nachos!

HayleyBruce

Points +28

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Lots of vegan options

There must be about 6 different vegan burgers, plus vegan pizzas and tons of sides as well (the green been fries are incredible). The burgers are nice, though not the best I've ever had. However definitely worth getting as still nicer than you might get in a lot of places and creative with flavours to go with them. Plus lots of nice drinks, ciders etc that are vegan friendly too and a nice atmosphere.

Pros: Lots of options for vegans, Vegan alcohol available, Good value for money

Pixie21

Points +135

Vegan
28 Jun 2019

Brilliant vegan menu

This pub has a massive vegan menu (around half the menu is vegan/veggie). Food is really good and at a reasonable price.

Pros: Lots of delicious vegan options , Great atmosphere, Lovely pub

Cons: Drinks are a little on the pricey side for Cardiff

J.P.

Points +512

Vegan
09 Jun 2019

Vurger Delights!

Led here by my favourite app! The Watt The Duck B12 vurger put me in a Vegaliscious place immediately. 18 Vegan options on the menu...so good! Thank You

jowad

Points +20

Vegan
10 Apr 2019

Impressive turn around

Brand new menu brings a welcome change with tons of new v/vg options! Staff are helpful, enthusiastic and best of all knowledgable about the vegan food and beers that they have!

Vegan cheese, jackfruit, mock duck, hot dogs, 3 different burger patties, the list goes on!

Its rad to see big changes in places like this, especially when they do it so well, so well done HoS!




This page has been viewed 2639 times.