Lacto
Ovo
American
Bakery

A vegetarian cafe serves coffee drinks (almond milk available) & lots of vegan bakery & salad options, as well as gluten free. Some eggs & cheese, as well as dairy milk, is used. Has a comfortable interior with lots of seating. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am-5:00pm, Sat-Sun 8:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for The Harbinger Cafe & Bakery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by DarleneMoak

gcs

Points +53

Vegan
31 Jan 2024

Great coffee and bakery

Top 5 coffee in Charleston and a mostly vegan bakery. Avocado toast is great too.
Vegan GF goods too.

Pros: Great coffee, Lots of vegan baked goods

Advertisement

TiaStreeterHutchins

Points +2728

Vegan
10 Dec 2023

Great coffee drinks and cafe w/ vegan options

Oat & soy milk for coffee drinks. Chai tea latte w/ oat milk was excellent and the avocado toast vegan options are fantastic. Outdoor dog friendly patio

MichaelTelesky

Points +856

Vegan
02 Apr 2023

Many vegan options

We each ordered a different avocado toast and they were flat out amazing. This is a meal of itself. So many flavors that all worked together.

Pros: Clearly marked vegan options , Creative flavors

Raquel_

Points +440

Vegan
22 Mar 2023

Cute & calm atmosphere

This cute little cafe offers many vegan baked goods and vegetarian or vegan breakfast items. Staff is super friendly and you can tell it’s a spot for the locals of the town. Great place to bring your laptop to get work done or chat up with an old friend. Plenty of seating in the back but fills up quickly!

Pros: Fast service , Cute and calm atmosphere

ColleenJoy

Points +57

Vegetarian
08 Mar 2023

Great food, chill vibe

The salad plate was great. I got some pastries to go.

faskom

Points +136

Vegan
13 Dec 2022

Good and plenty vegan options


All the vegan options they have are delicious and there are plenty especially with baked goods

Cons: Not purely vegan

peachinns

Points +62

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

Amazing Cafe

Amazing food in a cute Cafe. Menu has great variety of vegan options. Everything was quick and delicious.

Pros: lots of vegan options, clearly labeled menu, amazing flavor

Cons: popular so can be tricky to find seating

ChloeCanetti

Points +308

Vegetarian
28 May 2022

Delicious and great atmosphere!

Got an avocado toast thing that was nothing like your regular old avocado toast- it was super fresh, the bread was crunchy, and it was bursting with unique flavors! Loved it!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Super fresh ingredients, Great atmosphere

carinonelove

Points +34

Vegan
02 Mar 2022

Highly Recommend!

I’m very happy I discovered this adorable café! The service was great, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was quaint even with the steady flow of traffic coming in. I had a matcha latté, The Caterpillar avocado toast, and The Short & Sweet pastry. I highly recommend checking this place out the next time you’re in Charleston.

Pros: Great service , Delicious food , Quaint atmosphere

Maddy-VanC

Points +129

Vegan
07 Feb 2022

Cute

Cute place with healthy options and pastries too

Pros: vegan pastries , cute outdoor sitting area, has oat milk

Cons: sometimes the salads are too hardy, not solely vegan , no parking

2vegans2backpacks

Points +110

Vegan
21 Dec 2020

Delicious!

Delicious! Stopped here and got a black coffee, an iced oat latte, the Sriracha Mama and this pecan praline bar thing that I can't seem to find on the menu right now. The latte was INCREDIBLE and the black coffee was fantastic too. The pecan bar thing was also absolutely delicious and the Sriracha Mama was good, just a tad dry. They had so many dessert options to choose from and we were tempted to get them all because they all looked so good and were all vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2020-12-21

Pros: Number of vegan bakery items, Iced oat latte

Alisha35

Points +124

Vegan
07 Jun 2020

So so good!

This may be my favorite place in Charleston. Tons of vegan options, everything is delicious and the atmosphere is adorable.

Pros: Tons of vegan sweets!, Non-dairy coffee drinks, Cute indoor and outdoor seating

lorihs

Points +68

Vegan
23 Dec 2019

Excellent food and ambiance

The food is excellent, the desserts are out of this world and it’s super cute eating area. Only challenge is people longer there for hours while working and it takes up spots for people who want to go there just to eat.

Judy Bug

Points +73

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

Good, but not great.

This hip restaurant is right in the heart of the college area. It was highly recommended, but the food was just ok. I had a plate of three different salads that were ok, but not worth the trouble of finding the place and finding seating. The restaurant is coveted by students studying and working on their computers. If you go early, you can get a premade sandwich, when we arrived there was only one left and we didn't know how long it had been there so I chose a salad and my husband chose pastries. The pastry selections were very good and they were also very tasty.

Pros: Good vegan options., Great vegan pastry items., Fresh coffee.

Cons: Not enough seating., Food overpriced.

hayley.ls

Points +144

Vegan
22 Jun 2018

Super delicious baked goods!

I went out of my way to go here because they have vegan pastries and sweets. I got a blueberry scone with maple halva. It was delicious! But I did get the last one available and it was only 8:30. Things must sell out quick, and I'm not sure that they make more once sold.

Pros: Vegan pastries, A lot of seating, Great atmosphere

Cons: Limited amounts of items available.

arniefr

Points +16

Vegan
19 Apr 2018

Naturally elegant

I go to Harbinger often as the salads are beautiful, tasty and varied. The space has a natural elegance along with a caring staff who remembers who I am and my preferences. Their prices are fair and there’s a no tipping policy. I look forward to returning often and that’s saying something.

Pros: Beautiful salads, Lovely surroundings , Wonderful staff

Cons: None

jhns

Points +41

Vegan
24 Jan 2018

great cakes, cookies and bars

good coffee, awesome pastries and great salads. nice interior.

ReganWalsh

Points +111

Vegan
23 Sep 2017

happy

The owners of this establishment are rude and are not eager to please the customer! Very disappointing!
The owner since this time has gone above and beyond to make things right. So I have since then changed my rating. I’m happy to report by the way.

Pros: food good

Pthom

Points +62

Vegan
06 Aug 2017

Harbinger of things to come

Many gluten free bakery options. Triple chocolate brownie excellent. Nut butter and compote on bread, my selection, not so good, difficult to eat due to melted nut butter on a very tough gluten free bun. Hubby had Harbinger sandwich which I kept eyeing and wished I had ordered. Also strange, no sweetener options for the coffee, white sugar and simple syrup..huh?? Also the Methodical coffee is very acidic and almond milk does't quite do the trick at balancing, basically just disappears in your coffee. They really need to offer a legit soy creamer with more body and natural sweeteners, agave, coconut sugar, etc. Cute atmosphere, good service, but if they're going to appeal to vegans they'll need to work out some of these details.

Pros: southern shabby chic decor, friendly service, unique quality coffee, off beaten path

DarleneMoak

Points +91

Vegan
01 Jul 2017

Vegans will be very happy here!!

The Harbinger is a great new addition to the growing restaurant scene on upper Rutledge & King. Beginning with awesome coffee (almond milk is available) followed by a superb variety of baked goods (many of which are vegan, many are gluten free) as well as grab-and-go salads. I started with an iced latte and the sriracha mama cookie (fantastic!) then took 2 salads with me (tabouli & sweet potato/chickpea - fantastic choices!!). And local sourcing is very important to the Harbinger. I will going back a LOT! Lots of seating, friendly & fast service. Don't miss out on this!!

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-01

Pros: Excellent range of choices!, Many vegan options!, Lots of indoor seating

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 8310 times.