Vegan
Bakery

100% plant based sweet shop and cafe, featuring a rotating variety of cupcakes, cake slices, cookies, brownies, and more. Includes a full savoury food menu of burgers, sandwiches, soup, salad, and signature dish Buffalo Chickn Mac & Cheese. Full brunch on Saturday. Also offers online ordering, bridal services, delivery, private classes and events. Open Wed-Thu 8:30am-4:00pm, Fri 8:30am-6:30pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for The Happy Bakery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by MeganMichelle

handhoarder

Points +58

Vegan
13 Jan 2024

sweet + savory

Cozy atmosphere for dining in and great quality for take away. Their updated brownie recipe is my current favorite go-to for something sweet and I appreciate the weekly specials for a quick meal. I’ve ordered multiple custom cakes over the years as well, and have taken advantage of their holiday meal boxes for Thanksgiving—always a fan and Charlie always leaves me wanting more

Pros: Only fully vegan spot in O’ Fallon, Friendly staff, Lots to choose from

Cons: Sometimes disappointed with quantity for the price

Advertisement

KateShaw

Points +763

Vegan
28 Sep 2023

Sweet & savory

Lovely building with lots of seating; delicious and beautiful sweet treats, and the savory eats were also tasty.

Pros: All vegan

AmandaLeeOT

Points +65

Vegan
19 Apr 2023

Exclusively Vegan

I had the sietan burger and fries which were fantastic. Also got baked goods to take home to the family.

Pros: Lots of options, Delicious baked goods, Small locally owned business

RosenReed

Points +42

Vegan
01 Dec 2022

Super home run!

Everything we are was delicious! Plant based and woman owned. Homemade weekly soup / salad, this week was carrot. Sweet and spicey, so tasty. Melted mushroom burger was yummy and filling. Followed with hot apple cider. The falafel pita was so super fantastic. The cupcakes are gorgeous. We came hungry so I got no before pictures. Will be back for Saturday brunch. The cupcakes are so beautiful. 😋

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-01

Pros: Vegan, Small business homemade, Sweet little bakery atmosphere

BrianaSheldon

Points +16

Vegan
25 Aug 2021

Best vegan spot east of the Mississippi

This tiny place has plenty of vegan goodies to offer. Though they're mostly known for their sweets, my husband and I went there for lunch. We each got a burger and split a brownie for desert. We walked away wholly satisfied with what we ordered. Definitely check out this cute little cafe.

Pros: 100% plant-based, Decent prices

RobynDarnell

Points +11

Mostly Veg
24 Aug 2021

Delicious!

Love all of their food and baked goods. Staff is friendly and helpful.

bekah.odonnell

Points +55

Vegan
24 Oct 2020

Best Local Vegan!

I love this place! Right down the street from my house in Ofallon, IL! The owner and staff are so nice, and the food is amazing, especially the sweets! I don’t normally have a sweet tooth, but I do for The Happy Bakery!

Pros: All vegan, Meals and sweets, Saturday brunch

Tigra220

Points +10447

Vegan
30 Mar 2019

Amazing Desserts

I’ll admit, even as a self-proclaimed foodie, I sometimes get stuck in the mode of not venturing outside of certain favorites. When it comes to vegan desserts in STL, I stuck with one place, for the most part. As my job often does, it had me in unfamiliar territory, which to my surprise, housed this amazing vegan bakery.

It’s a cute little house on the corner, so it was easy to find. I loved all of the welcoming signs; they always put me at ease. Inside was just as cute. There’s seating on one side and the bakery case and kitchen on the other.

I wasn’t expecting this little, unknown-to-me bakery to have so many options, but there was quite a bit from which to choose. I grabbed a variety after the nice young lady advised me of the buy 5 get one free deal.

BUTTERSCOTCH cupcake:
OMG This may be my new favorite thing! Whomever created this vegan version, excelled! Sweet, rich, buttery, butterscotch atop a light and fluffy cupcake. I need to know if they come in full cake sizes. Divine!!

LEMON cupcake:
I was not expecting this to make it to the top of the list. The mixture of the air-light cupcake and whatever heavenly magic went into the icing made this an instant favorite. Excellent!

VANILLA CONFETTI
ORANGE DREAMSICLE
Both of the aforementioned cupcakes were yummy. The Orange Dreamsicle tastes like summer, and the Vanilla Confetti is birthday ready. Yum!

The Double Fudge was good. It was just like a chocolate cupcake with chocolate icing. I didn’t taste that rich, thick fudge that I’m used to with fudge cupcakes. But again, it was good.

I tried some cookie sandwiches and the caramel cookie with caramel icing in the middle was my favorite. Scrumptious!

Lastly, the cupcake parfaits. I got a double fudge and a snickerdoodle. Both were good.

I am so happy to find more amazing vegan desserts in the STL area (it’s just a short drive from STL, and it’s so worth it!).

I hope to make it over again soon to get more desserts and to try their Saturday brunch.

Pros: All vegan!

Cons: Expensive

Missymdrew

Points +51

Vegan
28 Oct 2018

Best Saturday Brunch in the area!!

Went to Saturday Brunch today with family. Wow it was so enjoyable to eat and support local while not having to worry about being able to actually eat. Everything was vegan as always but GFree was clearly marked and well designed. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we walked away satisfied and feeling good.

Pros: All vegan options, Gluten free available

tiffr660

Points +41

Vegan
09 Sep 2018

ALL THINGS 100% VEGAN!!

This is the first 100% Vegan establishment I know of in the Metro East area. It's such a relief to feel "normal" and order whatever I want off of the menu! I haven't tried their brunch/lunch specials and will provide an update when I do.

Pros: 100% Vegan, No need to investigate ingredients, Super tasty!, Friendly staff

Cons: Interior can sometimes feel cramped , You have to pay attention to business hours, A little pricy, but worth it!

CatyGinBrown

Points +46

Vegan
03 Sep 2018

Completely vegan Midwest bakery

Totally vegan bakery with a huge variety of delicious treats, conveniently located! She offers weekly lunch and brunch. I’m ‘Happy’ to see you listed here💜

MeganMichelle

Points +93

Vegan
02 Sep 2018

Yum!

I had a cupcake and a doughnut here and both were delicious. I was visiting from out of town and it was nice to find a place with all vegan options :)

Pros: Everything is vegan, Very cutely decorated

Cons: They hours seemed a little inconvenient




This page has been viewed 2682 times.