Vegan
Organic
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Caribbean
European
Gluten-free
Breakfast

A deli with a tropical twist. Has a large range of vegan hot dishes plus vegan cakes, pastries and breads. Reported to be fully vegan April 2022. Open Mon-Fri 09:00-17:00, Sat 10:00-18:00, Sun 10:00-17:00.


Venue map for The Guava Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by VictoriaSEL

EmilNolan

Points +694

Vegan
09 Oct 2023

Vibrant tropical spot

The people in the Guava kitchen is what makes this restaurant, such friendly service they have so much passion for their food which tastes amazing

Advertisement

Klarajj

Points +2098

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

Incredible

Food was fantastic- loved the savoury waffles. Juices super fresh. Lovely atmosphere. Staff are friendly and welcoming. 100% would recommend!! Fair prices too for very creative dishes.

Pros: Creative dishes, Lots of choice , Friendly

weblucas

Points +294

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Amazing food

Great food, just a bit too slow to serve when busy.

Smiffy999

Points +44

Vegan
10 Mar 2023

Had hoped for more!

Nice, clean and welcoming. Dishes sounded nice and we liked the verity of choice.
Of the three meals ordered, only one was without complaint:
Coconut & Chickpea Curry dish was cold. Sent it back and it was reheated in the microwave. Not robust in its taste;
The Roti dish wasn’t flavourful and a bit messy to eat;
The lasagne dish was lovely, but a bit on the small side (glad I ordered chips on the side).

More of a snack/light lunch place.
Didn’t mind waiting for our food to be cooked, but as there wasn’t many customers, the wait was surprising.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lasagne dish was lovely , Good choice of juices and teas

Cons: One dish was cold, Potions were on the small side, Bit of a wait for food (place wasn’t busy)

VRebecca

Points +1395

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Came here hungover and the food almost made me cry

The menu is amazing and makes it hard to choose, the employees are absolutely lovely and the big breakfast was just beyond tasty and flavorful!! Big recommendation!

SuperFunkyMonkey

Points +310

Vegan
03 Jun 2022

Lovely vegan food with a Carribbean twist

Lovely cafe, great too see a vegan cafe that focuses on something else than sandwiches or burgers. Delicious voxtail stew, I definitely recommend it. Other food and coffe was good too, my 5 years old loved cassava chips.
Most people seemed to be there for cake, I only tried brownies and these were fantastic, not too sweet, moist and with raspberry cream on top.

The lasy we spoke to who seemed to be running the place was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Pros: Tasty food (Voxtail stew!), Friendly, Healthy and homemade

Cons: Not near my house :)

Tanuki_London

Points +32

Vegan
25 Feb 2022

Lovely vegan Caribbean with takeaway option

Ordered takeaway from here and was really impressed. Wasn’t sure to make of the the plantain lasagna when I saw it on the menu but it was really delicious, as was the macaroni cheese and the spicy coconut curry

vegansheep

Points +1970

Vegan
31 Jan 2022

Great cake!

We had the sweet potato salad and the coconut curry. Both portions were small, but I didn’t mind too much as I was hoping to have cake. The curry was ok but too spicy for me. I had carrot cake for pudding which was delicious and I would return just for the cake!

The other thing which would be a big improvement in my view is serving the breakfast menu all day, or at least till 1 or 2pm. I’d have loved to have pancakes or acai bowl for lunch.

Pros: Lovely decor and friendly service, All vegan , Great cake!

Cons: Bit expensive, Breakfast menu only 8-10am

SuperFunkyMonkey

03 Jun 2022

They serve breakfast all day so maybe took your comment on board :)

vegansheep

28 Jun 2022

Ah great! I’ll have to go back and try it :)

AliceGrahame

Points +162

Vegan
04 Dec 2021

Now fully vegan

Updating as owner confirmed that cafe is fully vegan not lacto-vegetarian.
They have vegan croissants! Just popped in for coffee so can’t review the food, but saw some amazing cakes and hot dishes. A great asset to the area.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-04

Pros: Fully vegan cafe , Friendly atmosphere , Amazing proper vegan croissants

VeganDamian

Points +490

Vegan
26 Oct 2021

Lovely cafe

Friendly staff, and the food I’ve had was very tasty.

Pros: Lots of options, Vegan roast available

Cons: Can be a bit slow if busy

byzantine

Points +109

Vegan
28 Aug 2020

A bit disappointing

I really wanted to love this place and when I first saw the menu I was super excited. However, when we went to order and pay at the til (there wasn’t table service), I got charged more than expected; when I queried this she said it was service charge. My friends who paid before me we also charged this - what kind of place add service charge without telling its customers and when they aren’t even giving table service? I’m pretty sure it not legal to charge table service without making customers aware and it’s meant to be optional.

Anyway, that left a bad taste in my mouth but I hoped the food was good. Curry was okay but was a bit cold as it was lukewarmish. My sorrel juice was meant to have lime and pimento in it but tasted of sweet cinnamon - sure it was store bought but cost £5 a glass. Overall not the best experience.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Tasty menu , Nice atmosphere

Cons: Expensive , Food a bit hit or miss , Imposed service charge

plantbasedfran

Points +264

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Lovely place, lovely food

I found this café as I was walking on the street and it looked very cosy, so I gave it a try.
They have plenty of vegan options and do some egg/halloumi things. Loads of plantain, which was nicely fried.
The avocado mash was perfect. I don't like it when they're too lemony but this felt flavoursome and fresh. Generous toppings as well.
They do all-day breakfast, which should be mandatory everywhere.
The service was excellent, very friendly and very attentive.
The prices are very competitive, which is a nice change for a vegan/vegetarian place.
I will come back!

Pros: Tasty food, Affordable prices

VictoriaSEL

Points +16

Vegan
28 Nov 2019

Delicious food

Loved our vegan lunch - small menu but well worth eating here. (And they’re dog friendly.)




This page has been viewed 4745 times.