• The Greyhound Inn

  • (14)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Beer/Wine
British
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub with beer garden and views. Ask for the separate vegan menu. Open Mon-Sat 12:00-21:00, Sun 12:00-20:00.


Venue map for The Greyhound Inn
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by camnini

SamAvery

Points +44

Vegan
02 Feb 2023

Underwhelming

The food was very expensive for what you get. Shop bought falafels were a bit of a let down. Not sure if the evening menu is different as we went during lunch, but wouldn't go again (maybe just for a drink)

Pros: Great location

Cons: Expensive, Shop bought falafel

Advertisement

Nikitayeo96

Points +30

Vegan
02 Feb 2023

Disappointed

Very few vegan options.. staff did not seem clued up anyway on veggie/vegan differences so didn’t want to risk some of the ‘make vegan’ options. Food was shop bought and underwhelming.
NO dairy alternative milk for coffee! Cows milk only.
A falafel panini was literally £11. For bread and falafel. Madness! Such a shame as it’s a beaut location

Pretty poor/lazy service too.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-02

Pros: Nice location, Beautiful pub

Cons: Over priced , Underwhelming food , Poor service

davesowerbywilliams

Points +1398

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Nice pub, nice staff, very expensive for the amount of food

Nice pub, nice staff, very expensive for the amount of food. The food was tasty, but we ordered a vegan sharing platter which was actually the vegetarian option with things removed and nothing to replace what had been removed. Seeing the meat equivalent being served, which was cheaper arriving to other people with us and how much bigger it was really highlighted that given how much cheaper vegan food is.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-24

Pros: nice surrounding, nice staff

Cons: very expensive, very small portions

matthewblick

Points +737

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Fantastic location

Great view of the castle from the patio! Definitely book as it can get busy! Lovely staff and great vegan food!

Pros: Views of the castle, Good vegan options, Friendly staff

Cons: Can get busy, so remember to book a table

Danfunlove

Points +90

Vegan
23 Jul 2022

Enjoyable

I had I great meal there. Seemed like home hade hummus. With a home made slaw. And falafels with salad and tzatziki dressing. The falafel balls were not authentic ones. It doughy, beetroot coloured.

Pros: They have a couple other vegan options.

HilB

Points +258

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

Confusing!

Such a shame - we knew they didn’t have the full vegan menu (October 2020) but still had good options, popped in Tuesday afternoon to check for a family lunch the following day and were told we couldn’t book outside tables but to come before 3.30 after which they just served pizza. Arrived Wed 1.30, shown outside by a very friendly man we met at the door who I took to be the manager - went to ask for menus and were told they weren’t serving food outside! No tables available inside (prefer outdoor anyway currently), wondered about takeaway sit out? But no. Ended up in the pub opposite with a bowl of chips as only vegan option. Will try again another time as it sounded good. Disappointing though.

jessontour

Points +29

Vegan
09 Aug 2020

Great option for the area

Moving Mountains burgers and options for the kids, great spot near the castle.

nicolathomas

Points +637

Vegan
29 Oct 2019

Good food. Not good service

They didn't have the vegan menu as it was the Sausage and Cider festival. So my options were limited to 1 main and 2 desserts. (Normal Vegan menu looks great though!)

Lentil burger was tasty and portion size was pretty good. Had sweet potato fries and two sauces (a chutney and a sweet BBQ I think)

chocolate brownie with coconut ice cream was good. It was warm and had nuts sprinkled on

The service was friendly, but slow.

Overall food was very delocious

Pros: Good options. About 5 mains and 4 desserts, Very tasty

Cons: Not enough waiters/waitresses, Limited choice during sausage festival

AnnaPorter

Points +118

Vegan
28 Aug 2019

Delicious lunch with a fantastic view

Found this place on Happy Cow app and really glad we stopped in. Had the Veggie salad and lentil burger. Food came out super quick and was delicious. Asked for dressing on the side for the salad and didn’t even need it, was so tasty on hits own. The lentil burger was juicy and delicious with sweet potato chips. Very happy with our food and would recommend it for lunch.

Pros: Vegan menu with many options, Great view

Cons: Staff were a bit hassled as it was busy

kattgrover

Points +236

Vegan
14 Jul 2019

Vegan Sunday Roast!

Just a year ago it was near impossible to find any vegan friendly pubs in the Swanage/Corfe area. Today I visited The Greyhound Inn and had a delicious vegan roast dinner!

The pub staff are great, friendly and always on hand to ensure you have everything you need. I had the vegan Sunday roast and my husband had the vegan burger. We shared the warm chocolate brownie with nuts and coconut ice cream. Everything was great!

The pub garden is great, big with lots of seating options in both the sun or shade. We brought our two dogs with us and there were plenty of other pups dining too.

They usually have a separate and extensive vegan menu though on Sundays this is limited there were still ample options.

Pros: Delicious home style food, Many options , Dog friendly

KimStone

Points +164

Vegan
28 May 2019

A range of vegan options

I had a Padana Pizza which was delicious

Pros: Several vegan options, In the heart of Corfe, Not your run of the mill vegan food

Cons: Pricey, Slow service , Popular location during peak times

VeganAnnaS

Points +2702

Vegan
17 Oct 2018

Nice atmosphere

Visited with a mixed vegan/vegetarian/omni group and everyone was happy with their food. The vegan options were marked on the menu which is helpful.
I enjoyed the vegan burger; tasty and fairly filling. The vegan chocolate brownie was slightly dry but ok when eaten with coconut icecream which it was served with and I like the walnuts in the brownie. Coffee was good.
Warm, bustling atmosphere and service was good.

Pros: Vegan options labelled, Good food

Cons: Not all veg*an, A bit expensive (tourist prices)

Alexsmiles7

Points +40

Vegan
21 Aug 2018

Wonderful food and great service

They had a large vegan menu and a good choice of desserts! The service was amazing!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Vegan starters and desserts

Cons: Busy, Quite expensive

Zitchy

26 Jun 2022

camnini

Points +59

Vegetarian
13 Jul 2018

Surprisingly good vegan options

We were visiting Corfe Castle (also the name of the town), and were famished. We asked the National Trust rep for advice and she suggested the Greyhound. We had the vegan dinner for two, which included breaded tofu, chips, hummus, pita, fried peppers and sweet potato falafel! Really quite good. They have many vegan items on the menu, and apparently a separate menu with only the vegan choices.

Updated from previous review on 2018-07-13

Pros: Tasty vegan food , Good service , Atmospheric pub

Cons: Serves meat




This page has been viewed 2570 times.