The Green Bean

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 10 reviews )

Find

740 Purchase St (at Union St), New Bedford, Massachusetts, USA, 02740

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe in the heart of the downtown historic district with a few vegan dishes, including an in-house-made burger, hummus wrap, tofu scramble wrap for breakfast and vegan pastries. Other items can be made vegan upon request. Offers soy milk for drinks, smoothies, local coffee and lattes. Free Wi-Fi. Bring your reusable mug or mason jar for drinks, but if you forget they use Greenware. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am-4:00pm, Sat 8:00am-4:00pm, Sun 9:00am-2:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, American, Take-out, Breakfast, Non-veg

10 Reviews

First Review by Veganpmr

MagisterBrown

Points +23

Vegan
28 May 2021

My favorite place in the area

You can order the "veganized breakfast burrito" off the secret menu - take the breakfast burrito and sub out eggs and sour cream for curry tofu and hummus. If you have the cash, the veggie bacon goes nicely. Vegan donuts are also a delicious treat!

Mr.Cheeze

Points +10

Non Veg
17 Dec 2019

Decent healthy option downtown

Nice little option in center of New Bedford. I usually get the spinach salad, but last visit they were quite stingy with the spinach.

Pros: Salads, coffee and smoothies

Cons: Terribly stingy with the spinach in the spinach, salad.

ColoradoCow

Points +115

Vegan
29 Jul 2019

Awesome options

Lots of vegan options and donuts. Housemade veggie burger not mimic plant meat! Smoothies and more. I'm excited that I found this place on Happy Cow. Totally awesome...

Pros: Staff, clean, bright and roomy, Price

Advertisement

Danidarling06

Points +217

Vegan
10 Jul 2019

Great vegan options

Not fully vegan but many vegan options for breakfast and lunch. And vegan donuts!! Different vegan baked goods to choose from.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

natalia11691

Points +266

Vegan
29 May 2019

cool place

cool little place, i didn’t love their veggie burger but their coffee is really good!

kelmug

Points +111

Vegetarian
13 Mar 2019

Quick and easy

I live super close and pop in here when i want a good coffee and a snack. Sometimes their baked vegan goods are already sold out come early afternoon but no biggie. Not a bad place but nothing to go crazy over either.

ollie33

Points +386

Vegan
03 Aug 2018

Great find

Stuck waiting for the ferry, hungry, expectations low. Here they have homemade hummus, tofu bacon and veggie burgers, and tofu scramble. What more could you want? The bagel with hummus, tomato spinach hit the spot. Hot sauce.... Good iced tea... Perfect.

Pros: close to ferry, tasty homemade vegan options

Griffinwolf2008

Points +20

Vegan
22 Jan 2017

love

This is my favorite place to eat! It's one of the few places where I allot of options as a vegan. Food is yummy, staff is awesome and I love the atmosphere.

DangerDiabolik

Points +39

Vegan
26 Apr 2015

open airy dining with great veggie options

Had their homemade vegan veggie burger with mixed greens, tomato, onion, sprouts and vegan mayo on toasted wheat. (See pic) Fresh and warm with nice trip-color tortilla chips. Great coffee. All in an open and bright dining area with big windows to watch the world go by downtown. Excellent!

Veganpmr

Points +22

Vegan
24 Sep 2014

small gem

Great vegan snack options . They have tofu wraps as well as some excellent banana bread. Not bad for a small blue collar town ! A must visit

Pros: nice part of the city, relaxed atmosphere, best banana bread in town

Cons: not open very late

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to New Bedford Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Green Bean closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4944 times.