• The Good Earth Cafe

  • (11)
    9
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Western
Beer/Wine
Bakery
Pacific Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Established in spring 2011, this cafe features New Zealand Pacific fusion with a contemporary edge, plus locally roasted fair trade coffee. The vegan menu section includes French toast, soup, grilled organic tempeh, and a seitan tofu scramble. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am-4:30pm, Sat-Sun 8:00am-4:30pm.


Venue map for The Good Earth Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by V

KarenHytten

Points +161

Vegan
04 Jun 2022

Amazing Vegan French Toast

This cafe has a lovely atmosphere and a separate vegan menu (make sure you ask for it if you can't find it!). I absolutely loved the vegan French Toast - it's amazing and comes with lots of fruit.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Lovely atmosphere, Quick service

Advertisement

Jtydlaska

Points +582

Vegan
09 Sep 2020

Good coffee and ambiance

Pretty straightforward place. Had a few vegan food items, bit it’s mostly a nice coffee cafe. Good atmosphere and would have enjoyed hanging out for a bit if I had had the time.

Pros: Ambiance , Some vegan food options

octopusgrrl

Points +44

Vegetarian
07 Jan 2020

Disappointing

I've been meaning to try this place for a while so during the Xmas break I decided to check it out. I really just wanted something cheap and quick but the only thing they had in the cabinet was a vegan sanwich for $7.90. The roll was quite dry and crumbly but tasty enough, and the fillings were good, but there wasn't much of it - one ring of black olive, one leaf of sage, one sundried tomato 😢

Pros: tasty sandwich, convenient location, counter food available

Cons: tiny amounts of filling, dry baking

Iaura.oc.rapira

Points +44

Vegan
08 Dec 2019

Average

Could only easily find one vegan option on the menu and it was a seitan scramble. Comes with seitan, tofu, eggplant, mushrooms, cooked tomato and ciabatta. It wasn't really scrambled, was oily and the ciabatta was soggy. Not worth the $15.50 imo.

foodie22

Points +52

Vegan
11 Nov 2019

Vegan scramble

My bf and I came here for our last breakfast on this trip to Dunedin. First time visit to this restaurant. Online it seemed there were many seperate menus Vegan, gf, vegetarian. However when we got there they said the only menu was what was listed on the wall or what was in the cabinet. Maybe the website isn't updated? Anyhow we both wanted the vegan scramble beforehand so that's what we ordered anyway. It had well flavoured seitan in it, eggplant, tofu, mushrooms, potatoes, on toasted ciabatta some greens on top and roasted tomatoes on the side. It was delicious. It wasn't a huge portion but it also was not a small portion by any means as stated in a previous review. We were both full and satisfied and our long blacks were good as well. There were a few vegan options in the cabinet as well. Would definitely come back again.

Pros: Good food, some vegan options, Parking outside

HardcoreDefender

Points +26

Vegan
19 May 2019

Meal size is a joke

After some time of standing in front of the counter one of the staff finally approached. Asked if there is anything else sweet and vegan rather than chocolate fudge and received straight answer: “no”. Ok, Ordered scrambled seitan with tofu, eggplant, veggies and cibata for 15 bucks. received like 5 spoons portion of micro veggies chunks with thumb size cibata (never seen smaller) and no tofu at all. Took me about minute to finish this my “meal” and left. Definitely my last visit.

Pros: good soy flat white

Cons: Expensive, Tiny food for that amount of money, Annoyed staff

CraftyCat

Points +36

Vegan
02 Jan 2019

Vegan menu

Have a separate vegan menu with several great options on it including French toast.

Pros: Vegan menu, Good coffee

Cons: Small servings

Dottordany

Points +73

Vegan
04 Jul 2018

Good Coffee and breakfast

Nice cafe, lovely atmosphere, nice staff.
The coffee was good (I ordered an almond mocha), and the breakfast was also good (I had vegan french toast). Maybe a little bit too expensive, but definitely a nice place to have breakfast.

Pros: location, atmosphere, coffee

Cons: little pricey

PJantbased

Points +104

Vegan
31 May 2017

nice breakfast

Had a lovely rice porridge, however the fruit was very under ripe

Pros: gluten free

SirEatsAlot

Points +123

Vegan
20 Mar 2016

Lovely cafe

I've eaten at this cafe twice now. I normally wouldn't go anywhere with no vegan options on the menu, but both times have been work-related lunches. It is a charming little cafe with lovely staff. The chef has been very good both times at putting something together (which I appreciate!), but I hate having to ask the counter staff and stand there holding up the line while they check! The food is fresh and tasty. I would definitely recommend it for vegetarians (and/or coffee drinkers), and also maybe for vegans that aren't quite so self-conscious!
Updated from previous review on Tuesday June 12, 2012

Note: I've been back multiple times since my original review. I've had multiple instances where I've ordered vegan food (usually soup) and it has come with cheese on it (and/or on the bread rolls). Something to be aware of when ordering! It has put me off going here a bit..

Pros: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent coffee

Cons: Limited awareness of what vegan means, Limited vegan options on menu

V

Points +37

Vegan
14 Jul 2012

Good for latte

Their food is really good, but comes in tiny servings. Also can be difficult to find a vegan option that isn't soup.

Pros: Organic, Nice atmosphere, Good coffee

Cons: portions




This page has been viewed 4632 times.