Vegan
American
International
Breakfast

Vegan casual restaurant serving breakfast and lunch. Dishes include jackfruit nachos, sandwiches, baked goods, pasta dishes and more. Reported to have inconsistent opening hours, check ahead. Open Wed-Sat 11:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for The Gentle Giant Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by cromwelliankathy

jmellor

Points +22

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

Delicious food and friendly service

My wife and I first time at Gentle Giant was a very pleasant experience. The food was delicious, the cafe was heartwarmingly decorated, and the staff was friendly and inviting. We had ordered the breakfast Sammie with vegan pork roll, poppin taters, and the black bean burger special. Everything was flavorful and nicely portioned. Lastly, the owner, Dawn, made it a point to introduce herself and follow up with us on our experience. Very nice and personable touch.

Advertisement

cherylfb

Points +16

Vegan
23 Jun 2023

Absolutely the BEST!!!

The best in south Jersey! Have been quite a few times and never disappointed. Everything is delicious and they are so accommodating and friendly. We have had the chickpea salad wrap, the falafel wrap- yummy- and a number of their specials and everything is so good ,fresh, and great portions. Their desserts are to die for so leave room or get something Togo or you will be sorry. We love their mission to help all animals and their efforts and fundraising to that end. Makes eating here all that more special and meaningful.

jellybean

Points +202

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

good food and staff in a pleasant environment

We had the BLT and the pulled jackfruit platter. Both were very good. Got a dessert to go which was also tasty.
Environment was so nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Really enjoyed our lunch!

Pros: good food, pleasant environment, friendly, helpful staff

Cliss0

Points +48

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

Fire

Friendly staff/owners, affordable prices, and great tasty food. Not a big selection and very weird hours but if you can make it, highly recommend

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-26

czedwards77

Points +98

Vegan
03 Feb 2023

Best in the area

The staff is very welcoming and warm very helpful and AMAZING food

SouthPhillyVegan

Points +158

Vegan
22 May 2022

Casual vegan luncheonette

When I learned Gloucester County was getting its first vegan spot, I knew I'd have to check it out the next time I visited family in South Jersey. The owners are very friendly and the menu is great, the first time I was there the burger of the month was an Italian burger and it was delicious, ditto the chocolate cupcakes! The wrap and Thai peanut soup special I had the second time around was equally good. I'll be back for a breakfast sandwich next visit.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-22

ShirleyPrice

Points +24

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Great lunches

Wonderful blt sandwich. Great potatoes and good ranch dressing.

Pros: Warm, friendly owners.

Cons: Not open enough.

bionicdork

Points +17

Vegetarian
09 Apr 2022

You will not be disappointed

We discovered this adorable place about a month ago and pretty much go in every Saturday to eat breakfast there and order dinner to go to enjoy later. Everything we’ve had is delicious. Finally found a spot on vegan pork roll too! Cute art on the walls, gorgeous plants, the friendliest couple runs it - and amazing food on their regular menu and monthly specials to look forward to as well. They run burger specials where a portion of the money goes towards a selected animal charity - so you get to enjoy a great meal and help a rescue/sanctuary - win win! A great vegan restaurant all around!

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-09

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Delicious food

cgloeck

Points +36

Vegan
25 Mar 2022

Amazing!

The March burger special was to die for. And the biscoff cheese cake was phenomenal. Definitely worth a visit.

RachelDonohue

Points +43

Vegetarian
03 Jan 2022

Great business

I've been to the GGC many times now and really appreciate the thought Dawn puts into the menu. There is a core menu and weekly specials. She gets to know the regulars which is a great feeling. I appreciate the blend of "mock" meat items like the V roll and straight up veggie goodness like the Thai peanut soup or bowls with different ingredients. I love that she makes platters for different occasions. She really puts her heart into the restaurant.

Pros: Snacks, To go desserts, Wholesale items like veganaise

tor3alexander

Points +42

Vegan
08 Nov 2020

Lovely

Very happy to have an all vegan place right down the street. The staff is always so sweet. The food is always great. Love their different specials, and baked goods

Pros: All vegan!!

MakeItDairyFree

Points +28

Vegan
02 Mar 2020

Great food, great service

The staff was really great but the food was even better. We tried the jackfruit nachos and got the chorizo chili special with a cowboy cookie for dessert. Great prices and great service.

veggie_htx

Points +2082

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

Vegan gem in Pitman

I'm so happy that downtown Pitman has a vegan restaurant. The owner and staff are very welcoming.

I had their Beyond burger with cheese, served with a pickle spear and chips. 10/10 loved it. I also had the cowboy cookie, which was delicious, but I prefer my cookies really chewy and almost underbaked.

Note that they are closed on Mondays and start to run out of things Sunday, but everything is very fresh. I'd love to see a larger menu selection.

Pros: Friendly , Rotating baked goods

Cons: Closed for dinner

CarolSuboleski

Points +18

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Delicious and nutritious!

The gentle giant café is a real gem. It’s hard to believe the food is all vegan and good for you. I especially liked the chickpea sandwich. Their chocolate chip coconut cookie was to die for!

NellCA

Points +44

Vegan
16 Jul 2019

Laidback 100% Vegan Cafe

It’s nestled in a nice historic town of Pitman, NJ, close to the Broadway 🎭 Theatre. This place is as though time was dialed back a half century with service to keep you in a time capsule based on the impression from the patrons. They’re only open from Wednesday thru Sunday 10 AM - 3 PM. All food served in this place is 100% vegan 🌱 and you can expect certain dishes to be sold out if you’ve arrived to late. Our food was not only heart healthy and delicious, we left this cafe filling satisfied and hopefully with this positive review you can relate.

Pros: Location , Service , Tasty

Cons: Menu Offerings

Foodie777

Points +11

Mostly Veg
28 Jun 2019

Trying to be vegan

I really wanted to try this place. I'm not vegan yet but I'm interested. I've been there 3 times and 2 of those times it was randomly closed even though I was there on a day/time they should have been open. Seems like it's more of a hobby than a business.

The time I was there and it was open the staff was friendly and the food was pretty good but a very, very limited selection.

Pros: Cute place, Nice little town, Friendly staff

Cons: Closes randomly, Very limited menu, Styrafoam, everything was disposable

DawnCreamerLucas

06 Jul 2019

Hi, i am the cafe owner and wanted to comment. Sorry we missed you. We try very hard to let people know when we need to close. Right now it is me and my husband on weekends (he must keep his day job) and i hired someone for weekdays with me. If something comes up or one of us is sick i cannot run the cafe alone. We are working hard to build our menu. And to address the Styrofoam i struggled with this and consulted quite a few people. It was there from previous business and part of what i paid for during purchase. Everyone agreed i should use it til its gone then look to more earth friendly products. Hope you will come see us again this is something i believe in and hoping to build into a caring community.

SecondEventuality

Points +18

Vegan
22 Jun 2019

Delicious!!!

Finally had to chance to pop in here after catching the laurel market nearby - amazing food and warm hospitality, along with a sponsored animal sanctuary for your extra "change" to boot. I had the BLT, which was fantastic and hubby had the BBQ jackfruit w/ potato salad. Both were so yummy! I've tried to do BBQ jackfruit myself through the years and failed and I'm not crazy about the boxed version from Upton's so I kinda gave up on it, but Gentle Giant has made such a delis version of it that I can't wait to go back and try a whole plate for myself! My 5 year old loved it, too! Will be back, especially to support a local, plant-based cafe! Thanks for opening it!

Pros: delicious, entirely plant-based

rpb

Points +44

Vegan
21 Jun 2019

Vegan in Pitman, NJ

Hopefully the opening of this cafe will encourage others to do the same. There definitely is an interest in all things vegan in the area.

Pros: The only all vegan eatery in Gloucester County , Reasonable prices, Decent food

Cons: Limited options, No fresh desserts , Bottled water for purchase

nat813

Points +52

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Amazing vegan cafe in South Jersey!

Love this place! The food is delicious and Dawn and Aaron are great.

Pros: Food is delicious!, Staff is great!, 100% vegan cafe in South Jersey

cmaws

Points +16

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

Great food & great prices

Entirely vegan menu with great breakfast options and good prices! It's not signed very well, you do have to look for the street level sign.

Pros: All vegan, Good value, Kind staff

Cons: Short hours, Hard to find

MaureenKoplow

Points +70

Vegan
13 May 2019

First Vegan Restaurant in Gloucester County, NJ

The first all vegan restaurant in Gloucester County just opened. Owner/Chef Dawn Lucas has dreamed about this for years, and finally had the opportunity and location to make her dream come true. The cafe offers breakfast and lunch, Wednesday thru Sunday, from 9 am to 3 pm. The room is small and cozy, and the food is all plant-based. I've had the tempeh BLT, lox-less bagel with vegan cream cheese, BBQ Jack fruit platter, chickpea salad platter, apple tart and Vinkie (vegan Twinkie). Everything is delicious! There are beautiful paintings on the wall of some of the animals NOT being served as meals, including cows, pigs and chicks. Dawn and her husband Aaron are super friendly and eager to answer any questions for people who are not familiar with some of the ingredients, or reasons to eat this way. They will choose and donate to an animal protection group or sanctuary every month. Good food, good karma, and a welcome addition to the area!

Pros: Delicious food, Animal Advocates

MaureenKoplow

25 Nov 2019

Since my first review, the hours have changed. Now open Wednesday thru Sunday, 10am to 3pm. I've tried just about everything on the menu and it's all wonderful. Homemade soups, desserts, tofu scramble, grain bowls, all delicious! Sorry I can only give 5 stars - they deserve 10! Kudos to Dawn, Aaron and Christine (the lovely lady who does waitress duty during the week). In addition to the food, I've enjoyed meeting so many wonderful patrons of the cafe and having delightful conversations with friendly people.

skyecoo

Points +273

Vegan
28 Apr 2019

So delicious and friendly!!!!!

Gentle Giant is currently doing its soft openings (I’m writing this on April 28, 2019), so the menu and hours are limited. Luckily I got there this morning and tried both the lox-less bagel and the breakfast Sammie. DELICIOUS. I’m so happy that Gloucester County has an all vegan cafe that is not only serving delicious food but doing wonderful outreach for the vegan lifestyle and for donating to local vegan farm sanctuaries. The ONLY constructive criticism I could give is to have some kind of breakfast side (which they might have on the full menu once it is available, I don’t know) and to use reusable plates/cups for sit-in customers. Other than that, I can NOT complain. The owners are also very nice and welcoming, and you can really tell that they care. THANK YOU Gentle Giant Cafe!

Pros: reasonably priced VEGAN food, delicious food , Welcoming

Cons: No breakfast sides (yet), disposable plates and cups

cromwelliankathy

Points +160

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

Delicious food!

This is a cute cafe in a small town. I tried the chickpea wrap with a side of potato salad and the jackfruit nachos. Both were really good! The owner was there and she is very sweet. The service was good and friendly. The prices were good. I definitely recommend this place. Can’t wait to go back and try other options. It’s all vegan!

Pros: All vegan, Eat healthy or satisfy your junk food cravings, Try the jackfruit nachos




This page has been viewed 7776 times.