Lacto
Ovo
Organic
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Sells home-grown garlic and garlic-inspired products. Also a restaurant with clearly marked savoury and sweet vegetarian and vegan options. Additional dishes can be made vegan. Has vegan cakes. Note: Hunting is promoted by this establishment. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-17:00.


Venue map for The Garlic Farm
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by Louise_G

ThomasHirst

Points +18

Vegan
22 Aug 2023

Lovely little place

Best vegan meal we had on our short trip to the island. Wonderful setting and staff very considerate, gave us an allergen checklist and said anything could be adjusted to vegan. Would highly recommend.

Pros: Service , Venue, Menu

Cons: Only one fully vegan option

Advertisement

RC1

Points +539

Vegan
22 Jun 2023

Lovely vegan sharing board

We had the vegan sharing board, which consisted of many different garlicky items, including garlic bread, garlic mushrooms, hummus, and roasted garlic. It was overall an enjoyable and satisfying meal.

AlexDilnot-Smith

Points +181

Vegan
29 Oct 2022

Fantastic vegan menu and options!

One of the best meals I had eaten in a long time! Seriously fantastic after a long walk!

Pros: Their garlic bread is amazing!, They had an acoustic guitar playing on the Sunday, Amazing food!

LittleAliceFell

Points +1743

Vegan
03 Sep 2022

Incredible food, but very conflicted.

I had the vegan & GF seasonal veg risotto and the flavours were incredible! Definitely the tastiest meal I ate out whilst on the island, and the coffee was amazing too. That being said, I did feel very conflicted after exploring the farm and discovering they support hunting on their property, raise cows for slaughter and have some very unhappy chickens (not enough shelter/water for the hot weather and tiny enclosure- almost all had started pulling their feathers out in distress). If you are vegan for ethical reasons I would look elsewhere.

Pros: Incredible food, Great with allergens

Cons: Ethical and animal welfare issues

GemmaGreenhalgh

Points +162

Vegan
21 Jul 2022

Nice food but limited choice

I had the garlic bread and garlic stuffed olives as a starter and risotto for main. It was very tasty food but there were very few vegan options. The little cafe has vegan ice cream but I didn't try it as I was too stuffed from lunch!

RobParle

Points +40

Vegan
14 Aug 2020

Lovely setting, nice vegan options

Very pleasant space both indoors and outdoors; small (but nice) kids' play area. Soya and oat milk available for coffee. Had a vegan chocolate cake with a lemon drizzle option coming soon, apparently.

Pros: Plant milk, Vegan cake, Understand what vegan means

Cons: Busy

vegan_nat

Points +58

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Ok for vegan, not for GF too!

There are some vegan options on the menu, however not that great if you’re gluten free too! I asked the waiter to ask the chef what s/he could do for me and just got given an allergy sheet for me to decode the menu myself! I must say that doesn’t really show a lot of flair or inclusivity in my opinion. I ended up with that same old stuff I usually get given - houmous, olives, salad and chips. Whilst the quality of what I had was lovely I wouldn’t rush back.

Pros: Good quality/tasty food, Vegan options if you’re not GF as well , Very garlicky!

Cons: Not much choice for vegan GF, No help/consideration from the chef

TabbF

Points +515

Vegan
16 Feb 2019

Fantastic food!

Was so glad to see this place had vegan options and they did not disappoint - the vegan version of the mezze sharing board was phenomenal and people at other tables were asking what it was so they could order one. The food isn't just naff food full of garlic, it's really really delicious. Getting to try all the preserves and sauces and things was brilliant too, such a lovely cafe with great staff and plenty for herbivores to enjoy

Pros: Mezze is mind-blowingly good and tonnes of food

Louise_G

Points +495

Vegan
26 Aug 2018

Brilliant vegan food , garlic galore

Amazing vegan options, made using produce from the farm ! We had the flatbread and the vegan mezze platter for two , both generous serving sizes. Each dish contained a range of (garlic themed !) elements , such as whole roasted garlic , garlic stuffed olives , roasted tomatoes , smoked garlic hummus, garlic ketchup , sweet potato wedges , garlic buttered mushrooms and vegan garlic bread . It all tasted delicious - even with the obvious prevalence of garlic , it wasn’t overwhelming the other flavours. Hot drinks came with a soya milk option and there was a vegan cake , but it has run out when we went . The shop also sells their garlic produce , much of which is vegan (including vegan fudge !)

Pros: Lovely vegan options , great flavours , Check out the shop also , Friendly staff

Cons: Busy and a bit chaotic at times , Fairly small range of options on the menu




This page has been viewed 3206 times.