The Garden Cafe and Takeaway

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 30 reviews )

Find

Quaker Tapestry Museum, Kendal, England, LA9 4BH

Vegan cafe serving a variety of dishes such as sandwiches, deli pots, hot meals, salads, pasties, soups, and cakes. At this location since 2019 - previously was a food truck then at Prince Charlies House. Open Wed-Sat 10:30-15:30.

Categories: Vegan, Western, Fast food, Take-out, British

30 Reviews

First Review by JennyEdlington

shroom

Points +33

Mostly Veg
25 Nov 2021

Lovely bright cafe

Called in yesterday for lunch. It is a lovely bright cafe and the staff were very friendly. I had limited choice as I don't eat fake meat or tofu. I had the walnut pate with sourdough which was delicious, followed by a slice of the best carrot cake I have ever had. I will definitely be back!

Pros: Lovely cafe, Friendly staff, Fantastic cakes

Cons: Too much fake meat

RichieRich

Points +38

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

Decent!

I had the special which was fried butter beans on ciabatta which were super tasty and there were shed loads of them!! My companion had the breakfast wrap which also went down pretty well.

Pros: Lots to choose from, Nice venue

Cons: None

Caudy1960

Points +30

Vegan
29 Oct 2021

Kendal adventure

Another days advantage walking, then a nice wet walk into Kendal for some cruelty-free food, a nice place nice food and drink, staffed with great people too

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-29

Pros: Vegan , Wonderful , Mmmm , great music too

Cons: None

nikkibaines

12 Nov 2021

Thank you that's so lovely to hear

Advertisement

AmyFoster

Points +30

Vegan
26 Oct 2021

Beautiful

Everything is just spot on. Loads of options, whatever you fancy!

Staff are welcoming and helpful.

nikkibaines

12 Nov 2021

Thank you 😊

OtisVegan

Points +521

Vegan
22 Oct 2021

Amazing food

A great variety of food on offer, more than the usual vegan fare

Pros: Great food , Good value , Thumbs up from a non vegan father

nikkibaines

12 Nov 2021

Thank you for your kind words we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and a thumbs up from dad 😊

Sara2020

Points +20

Vegan
06 Aug 2021

Excellent vegan cafe in Kendal

I went to this cafe for the first time. The food was delicious. Friendly atmosphere and staff. Highly recommend.

Pros: Delicious vegan food, Friendly staff, Can sit outside

Cons: Small cafe so not many seats but does takeaway, Not close enough to where I live!

nikkibaines

07 Aug 2021

Thank you 😊

honoraryidiot

Points +1713

Vegan
06 Aug 2021

Lovely place, lovely staff, lovely food

Easily one of the nicest, warm and friendly cafés I've ever visited. So happy it's vegan as well.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-06

nikkibaines

07 Aug 2021

Thank you that's lovely to hear 😊

RevLucy

Points +16

Vegetarian
17 Jul 2021

Fabulous

Everything on offer is super super tasty - I am eating my way through the menu! Excellent value, friendly owners, simple & creative decor. Outdoor seating available. A lovely oasis in which to recharge and refuel.

Pros: Fresh, imaginative and tasty food, Varied menu, Hearty portions

nikkibaines

07 Aug 2021

Thank you 😊

karensmith1972

Points +18

Vegetarian
09 Jul 2021

Fabulous food!

Just had the most amazing summer veg soup and unbelievably tasty tofu salad! Both were packed with flavour. Simply divine.
Service was friendly and with a smile. Thank you!!!

Pros: Flavour, Freshness, Friendly

nikkibaines

12 Nov 2021

Thank you that's lovely

Alichandler

Points +42

Vegan
07 Jul 2021

LOVE this place!

I absolutely adore this place. The tastiest salad I’ve ever had and such a lovely, calm place to eat....I only wish I lived nearer 😫

nikkibaines

07 Aug 2021

Thank you so much 😊

hellsrocknroll

Points +75

Vegan
22 Apr 2021

Best in Cumbria

Best food in Cumbria without a shadow of a doubt! Owned by ethical vegans with a passion for food and sustainability, they so absolutely everything possible to make delicious food that's kind to the planet. The lockdown box was such a treat and I'd move mountains for that spicy salad 🤤

InSightInMind

Points +30

Vegan
13 Dec 2020

Best cafe in Kendal

Really good food & really nice owners. Only place I've ever been that is 100% vegan. Very ethical people! I don't eat out a lot, but I should go here more often. Highly recommend 🙂

Pros: 100% Vegan cafe, Amazing food, Nice owners

nikkibaines

12 Nov 2021

Many thanks

SynthVegan

Points +8443

Vegan
31 Oct 2020

The Garden Cafe and Takeaway

What a lovely surprise! I was elated to find this 100% vegan restaurant. The staff were great. Their burgers are really delicious (made with Beyond Meat) and the BLT was top notch. It was a great experience overall.

MikeHeron

Points +16

Vegan
16 Sep 2020

Amazing...

My wife and I came here with our little girl. The food was amazing and the staff were very welcoming. We got there just before 1pm (on a week day) and managed to get the last 2 burgers so I would suggest that you get there early!!!

Pros: Great vegan options, Reasonable prices, Good portion sizes

Cons: Be early or miss out

nikkibaines

18 Sep 2020

Thank you mike that's lovely to hear we're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the cafe.

AmyMcluckie

Points +98

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

Worth the trip to Kendal

Kept seeing this place pop up on a Cumbrian Vegan page and it looked delicious. It did not disappoint at all, had the 'bacon' cheeseburger and it was so yummy. Even got cake to take away which I am looking forward to trying later on 😋

Pros: Decent vegan brands used, Fresh cakes , Good portions

nikkibaines

18 Sep 2020

Thanks Amy so pleased you enjoyed your food.

BiffCalv

Points +30

Vegan
15 Jan 2020

Probably my most favourite vegan place in the world.

A wonderful spot right from the offset. Nikki is an amazing chef and her food is creative and superbly tasty. Her passion shines through. Rory does an awesome job on the cakes too. The sausage casserole and the broccoli and cauliflower curry are life changing x

Pros: Great company, wonderful food, unusual menu , Very reasonable priced and wicked portions

nikkibaines

12 Nov 2021

Thank you

ShanaBiesmans

Points +22

Vegan
18 Nov 2019

From trailer to café

I met the owners through a vegan Facebook page, soon she advertised opening a vegan trailer serving all sorts of amazing food and first got to try it while actually on a break from learning how to drive.. best lunch break ever...always told her she should go bigger and better and here we are !!! First visit was last week and as always the food is still not just fresh but so much flavour! So nice! Driven from Lancaster to Kendal just for my favourite egg sandwich! If you're ever in Kendal and you want your first vegan experience then this is the place to go and if you are vegan well then you must know that this is the place to go.

Pros: Fresh food, Tasty food, Wonderful staff

Kerry-AnnStephenson

Points +22

Vegan
23 Oct 2019

Amazing burger that you never want to end!

Where to begin..this burger is wonderful not only for the eyes but for the belly. Really love the smokey taste and the sunflower crunch that accompanies it. Freshly made, super amazing value and blooming tasty. It's so filling so you don't need any fries with it.
Also had the sausage roll which kicks ass the Gregg's....and the walnut paté. Wow
The chilled laid back vibe is also nice which suits the place and the very friendly staff to a T. I can't not wait to come back again and can't speak highly enough of the place. :D

Pros: Lots of Vegan options, Healthy, Fresh Tasting, ethically sourced, Amazing vibe, Friendly staff

Cons: None!!!!

nikkibaines

23 Oct 2019

Thank you kerry-ann that's lovely to hear :)

Corneelvm

Points +18

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Great menu and 100 % vegan !!

Very tasty options. I like the sandwiches and the burgers and the walnut paté and the soups and the cakes !!
So nice not to have to worry about any animal products on the menu.

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-22

nikkibaines

23 Oct 2019

Thanks so much, it's wonderful to give our customers kind food without worry..

sallyfallows

Points +13

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2019

Half Term Haven

Gorgeous, bright and airy space with hidden art works and tucked away cosy corners. We (non veggie partner and three young girls) visited the cafe for an afternoon half term treat and left singing The Garden’s praise. Battista, Rory, makes a perfect flat white and serves up generously sized cake wedges, perfect for sharing. Delicious cakes, made in house, by Bryan, are as delightful as the warm welcome and community atmosphere.

Pros: Friendly staff, Great for non vegans

Cons: Not open Saturdays - Yet!

nikkibaines

23 Oct 2019

Ahh thank you for such lovely words, we are looking into opening Saturdays in the near future :)

ClaireUnwin

Points +16

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Wow

Lovely (wheelchair accessible) place, amazing food which is reasonably priced & great hosts. What more could you want.

Pros: Wheelchair access

Cons: None

JennyEdlington

Points +42

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

Gorgeous spot for lunch

Little gem of a cafe. Lovely atmosphere for ‘sitting in’ and handy parking for popping in to buy a sandwich to take out. Watch out for the black magic pasties when they’re on the menu. Amazing!

Pros: Fully vegan cafe, Friendly, knowledgable staff, ‘Egg’ mayo sandwiches are divine

nikkibaines

08 Aug 2018

Thank you x

VeganPigsy

Points +16

Vegan
04 Sep 2019

Egg n cress sandwiches to die for!

How amazing to have a completely plant based cafe in little old Kendal! Lots of delicious specials, flakey pastry and egg n cress sandwiches to die for. Reasonable prices for great portions. I took my omni friend in and she didn't even believe the cheese and onion flan was vegan. Everything is so delicious, lots of places have vegan options but they are often a poor offering and haven't been created and cooked by a vegan, unlike here. Make sure you leave room for cake, or take a piece home. Hands down the best chocolate cake ever! Well done Nikki and family, you've created something very special :)

Pros: Vegan kitchen, Good value, Parking

nikkibaines

17 Sep 2019

thank you for your kind words..

jones23emma

Points +131

Vegan
13 Aug 2019

Lovely cafe with great food

Lovely cafe to sit in, nice seating areas, decorated well and lots of space. Yummy food. Good selection of different options, not usual boring stuff, and reasonably priced. Toilets in the Quaker building, parking outside, little tricky to find driving. We had the soup and crepes, coffee and choc cake which was delicious! The sausage roll was amazing, got one to take away. Definitely recommend. Be fab if it had a card machine.

Pros: Amazing sausage rolls and choc cake , Great options that are interesting and yummy , Lovely seating areas, nicely decorated

Cons: No card machine

nikkibaines

17 Sep 2019

Thank you, lovely to meet you all, and happily we can now take card payments x

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

08 Aug 2019

Excellent find

Went here yesterday for the first time, everything was spot on. The food was excellent (cakes were amazing). Cafe was spotless and the owners are really nice. It’s 100% vegan as well so no worries there.
It’s just outside the Quaker Tapestry Museum in Kendal, so just head there and you’ll find it.

Pros: All vegan, Very tasty food , Spotless

Cons: Nothing

canary986

Points +20

Vegan
23 Apr 2019

Fantastic food!

I cannot recommend The Garden Vegan takeaway enough. Every option is delicious and fresh - it really is a vegan gem in Kendal. The black magic pasties are incredible and the Bakewell tart is the best I’ve ever had. I’m lucky enough to be a regular and everything I’ve had has always been top notch.

Pros: Great value, Super lovely staff , Fantastic food

Cons: None

nikkibaines

24 Apr 2019

Thank you x

Billboy125

Points +20

Vegan
23 Apr 2019

Hidden Gem!!

We live in the Isle of Man but any time we are anywhere near Kendal we make a beeline for The Garden Vegan Takeaway. Nikki, the owner, is lovely and is dedicated to providing tasty (guaranteed) vegan food so there is never any worry that you're eating anything non vegan. The Black Magic pasties are legendary and the whole menu is brilliant. Check the Facebook page for daily menu information. Highly recommended...wish she would move to the IOM!!

Pros: Everything......and Nikki!

nikkibaines

24 Apr 2019

Thank you x

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kendal Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Garden Cafe and Takeaway closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4953 times.