Vegan
Western
Fast food
Take-out
British

Vegan cafe serving a variety of dishes such as sandwiches, deli pots, hot meals, salads, pasties, soups, and cakes. At this location since 2019 - previously was a food truck then at Prince Charlies House. Open Wed-Sat 10:00-15:30. Closed Sun-Tue.


Venue map for The Garden Cafe and Takeaway
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

56 Reviews

First Review by JennyEdlington

JoolsB

Points +34

Vegan
28 Nov 2023

Hidden gem

Not easy to find, in the courtyard of the Tapestry Museum but well worth it. Excellent coffee, we had soup, burger and BLT as well as a delicious chocolate cake. Top notch.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-28

Pros: Very relaxed

nikkibaines

28 Nov 2023

So glad you enjoyed your visit to us ๐Ÿ˜Š

Advertisement

Ants

Points +46

Vegan
18 Oct 2023

Vegan

Very friendly staff good atmosphere The no egg sandwiches are best Iโ€™ve tried anywhere

Pros: Food, Staff, Atmosphere

nikkibaines

19 Oct 2023

catandcupcake

Points +3611

Vegan
17 Oct 2023

Highly recommend

The couple running the place are lovely. Big menu with lots of choice and really reasonable prices. We had the banana pancakes (ยฃ6.50) and the tofu scramble (ยฃ8) and both were really tasty. Hot chocolate (ยฃ3.50) was nice too. The cakes on display looked nice and the slices were huge. Definitely recommend a visit!

nikkibaines

19 Oct 2023

ErwinKiki

Points +1112

Vegan
07 Oct 2023

Lovely small tea room/cafe ๐Ÿ’œ

Lovely place with very tasty food! The BLT was amazing ๐Ÿค˜๐Ÿป๐Ÿฅฐ

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-07

Pros: Small and cosey, Lots of choices

nikkibaines

19 Oct 2023

N0meatz

Points +152

Vegan
25 Sep 2023

Amazing breakfast and chai!

Pancakes and the scrambled tofu were excellent. So tasty and really lovely little location. Perfect chai lattes too. Definitely will be returning when weโ€™re back that way again. Highly recommend

Pros: Delicious food, Good price , Drinks

nikkibaines

19 Oct 2023

Adef

Points +36

Vegan
21 Sep 2023

Great place to eat

Great 100% vegan menu, and the BLT, burger and fries we had were lovely.

We'll definitely come back next time we're in Kendal.

Pros: Tasty food, Good value

nikkibaines

19 Oct 2023

Gaz360

Points +31

Vegan
09 Sep 2023

Large portions!

Nice location and large portions, friendly staff.

Pros: Large portions , Friendly staff , Not expensive

Cons: Board was hard to read.. could make it a bit clear

nikkibaines

09 Sep 2023

Edlay

Points +106

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Just amazing!

Visited this lovely cafe this morning for some breakfast, we had the banana pancakes and the tofu on toast which were both amazing! Scrambled tofu is one of the best I've had! 5* and well worth the visit! If I ever go back to Kendal I will be back here ๐Ÿ˜Š

Pros: Food

nikkibaines

07 Sep 2023

Thank you for such kind words, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us โ˜บ๏ธ

Hypnicol

Points +28

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Absolutely fantastic cafe

I luckily came across this fantastic cafรฉ whilst spending a few hours in Kendal.
The menu was absolutely brilliant.
I had the BLT which was really really good and my kids had a portion of fries and a portion of salt and pepper chips. The Salt-N-Pepa chips were the best we have ever had, and that includes loads we have tried from various Chinese takeaways. The coffee was really really nice and I also had a slice of lemon cake which was massive but so good I managed to finish it. As well as the food and drink being amazing, the staff were also as nice as you could ever wish for.
Overall, this place was absolutely fantastic, and Kendal is very lucky to have this amazing cafรฉ

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-19

Pros: 100% vegan, Amazing staff, Dog friendly

nikkibaines

19 Aug 2023

Ahh that's amazing thank you so much! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit ๐Ÿ˜Š

thegons

Points +200

Vegan
08 Jun 2023

Good variety of options and tasty food.

Really lovely little cafe in a courtyard along with the Quaker Tapestry Museum (also worth a visit). They focus on breakfast and lunch items, and everything is vegan! I find that vegan places often put a little more thought into the variety of options, so it was nice to see something's that were a bit different. I ended up going with the BLT made with This Isn't Bacon, and my husband had the pancakes, which were so fluffy. Both items were so tasty and the service friendly. It's a little small, but thankfully it wasn't busy when we went, so we were able to find seating quickly.

Pros: Friendly service, great options, and delicious!

loulou123

Points +88

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Absolutely amazing smoked salmon!!!!

This was a delightful place, we want to come back again as soon as we are on holiday again near the lakes. It was a to die for vegan goats cheese and smoked salmon salad, burger and coffee great too!!!

Pros: Best vegan salmon ever, Gorgeous salad , Lovingly prepared food

nikkibaines

09 Apr 2023

Ahh that's lovely to hear, we look forward to seeing you both again โ˜บ๏ธ

BrianDunajskiMeiklej

Points +30

Vegan
17 Mar 2023

Vegan cafe

Very tasty food and friendly service

nikkibaines

23 Mar 2023

Tinkadventures

Points +21

Vegetarian
08 Feb 2023

Lovely calm space and amazing food

I stumbled on the cafe by chance and what a gem. The food is amazing - 100% vegan.
I had a vegan pastrami and Gouda sandwich and fries and it was amazing. The staff were lovely and very happy for my dog to join me in the cafe, always a treat as I often struggle to find places to eat with him with me.
Iโ€™d definitely come here again.

Pros: 100% vegan, Good portion size, Dog friendly

nikkibaines

24 Feb 2023

thecurlyvegan

Points +1181

Vegan
27 Jan 2023

Lovely little cafe

Lovely little dog friendly cafe in Kendal. Lots of choice, tasty coffee & dog friendly. The ciabatta the BLT came in was delish ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿผ

Pros: Dog friendly , Fully vegan, Friendly staff

nikkibaines

24 Feb 2023

aquickpeep

Points +20

Vegan
25 Nov 2022

No.1 visit for vegans

Absolutely love this place. A regular jaunt for when we visit Kendal. Sandwiches, hot food, and always great specials on. Had the Thai curry last time we were here, and it was top-knotch. Prices are always reasonable and the ambiance is great. Highly recommended!!

Pros: Great vegan food, Reasonably priced, Nice interior/ambiance

nikkibaines

24 Feb 2023

SkittenSmuggler

Points +91

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

Incredible food

So so good and the decor was adorable. Staff were really friendly too๐Ÿ˜„

nikkibaines

03 Oct 2022

Aww that's lovely to hear thank you ๐Ÿฅฐ

Rachel68

Points +176

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Great little cafe

A really lovely gem in Kendal. Clean and calm and lovely friendly staff. Food was yummy too. Took cake away as it looked so yummy but was full already....it was fabulous!

Pros: All vegan, So much choice, Beautiful surroundings

Cons: Can't think of any

nikkibaines

24 Sep 2022

Thank you so much that's lovely to hear ๐Ÿ˜Š

laura2529

Points +159

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Amazing!

Loved this place, was slightly disappointed that they didnโ€™t have the mac cheese, but the walnut pate I had instead and everything that went with it was delicious. Would definitely recommend. Hoping to return.

nikkibaines

02 Jul 2022

So glad you enjoyed your visit, and my apologies for us not having any Mac & Cheese on this weekend as we had a large wedding party to cater for so fell time short on having time to make any, it will be back on from next week, thank you for your lovely review โ˜บ๏ธ

JillCannonJones

Points +122

Vegan
18 Jun 2022

Good food with a relaxing vibe

This cafe felt relaxing as soon as we walked in. The mac and cheese with all the toppings was lovely and the coffee cake even better. Perfect comfort food.

nikkibaines

18 Jun 2022

Thank you Jill that's lovely to hear ๐Ÿ˜Š

livingtheveggielife

Points +1530

Vegan
05 May 2022

Totally vegan cafe

A lovely cosy 100% plant based cafe that has an really great menu and cheap in my opinion. I had the deli sandwich and bf had the beyond meat burger which was really tasty. Both really good and fresh - will definitely be back for cake.

Pros: 100% vegan, Good prices, Nice interior & staff

nikkibaines

09 May 2022

RabbitLorna

Points +45

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

Lovely food & friendly staff

Really nice food and cakes and lovely friendly staff. Great choice of food, and will definitely be back next time in the area!

Pros: Huge cake slices, Good value for money, Decent sized meals

nikkibaines

02 May 2022

dvb124

Points +191

Vegan
03 Apr 2022

Nice.

Really tasty options from the blackboard menu. I had walnut pate with salad which was really good. Just right for lunch. Smart inside too after recent refurbishments.

John.ellis vegan

Points +195

Vegan
24 Mar 2022

Impressed First Visit

Recently refurbished and looks fresh and spotless. Good menu with delicious food and lovely friendly staff. Donโ€™t live local but will return when possible.

Pros: Delicious food , Friendly staff, Good value

nikkibaines

24 May 2022

AnnieEdmondson

Points +22

Vegan
12 Mar 2022

Amazing

Wow, what an amazing lunch! Staff are so friendly and kind. Menu that caters for all dietary requirements and staff very happy to accommodate all needs. Delicious, fresh and tasty food. Canโ€™t wait to come again! Pictures say it all.

Pros: Food, Service , Menu

Cons: None, None , None

DawnGibson

Points +152

Vegan
26 Jan 2022

My favourite place!

Absolutely love this little gem in Kendal. Always a friendly welcome, professional service and AMAZING food. I can't get enough of the walnut pate and cakes ๐Ÿ˜‹, but everything here is beautifully prepared and presented. A fabulous place to meet friends and hang out. Huge thanks to Nikki and Bryan for this wonderful oasis.

Pros: As a vegan, I can eat anything here!, Huge portions of amazing food, Friendly staff and chilled out ambience

nikkibaines

26 Jan 2022

Thank you Dawn that's lovely to hear ๐Ÿ˜Š

Kerry-AnnStephenson

Points +98

Vegan
26 Jan 2022

Home from home cafe with plenty of blooming good grub!

A.MAY.ZING!!! I absolutely can't recommend this place enough. I can't live without my weekly fix.

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-23

Pros: Fantastic hidden little Vegan cafe ๐Ÿ’š, Super fresh tasty full of flavour foodies, Very friendly and bubbly atmosphere

Cons: I wish it was open E.V.E.R.Y. D.A.Y!!!!!

nikkibaines

23 Oct 2019

Thank you kerry-ann that's lovely to hear :)

Corneelvm

Points +60

Vegan
26 Jan 2022

Great menu and 100 % vegan !!

Very tasty options. I like the sandwiches and the burgers and the walnut patรฉ and the soups and the cakes !!
So nice not to have to worry about any animal products on the menu.

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-22

Pros: Vegan, Tasty, Food

Cons: I cant go often enough

nikkibaines

23 Oct 2019

Thanks so much, it's wonderful to give our customers kind food without worry..




This page has been viewed 10163 times.