Vegan
Pizza
Take-out
British
Fusion
Breakfast

A social enterprise of St. Margaret's House. The cafe's menu became all-vegan in 2017, offering breakfast plates, coffee and juices, burgers, sandwiches, pancakes, and pizza. Hosts a range of programs and live events. Confirmed fully vegan March 2022. Open Mon-Sun 08:30-18:00. Last orders 4pm.


Venue map for The Gallery Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

125 Reviews

First Review by Jemima

ShannonStones

Points +525

Vegan
20 Feb 2024

Vegan café with cakes and salad bar

A short walk from Yotel Shoreditch. Seems like a hot spot for students & remote workers as there were a lot of laptops. Lots of pastries and cakes on offer and a salad bar, some breakfast options too but we didn’t try those. I had a lovely, big pan au raisin which was well priced at £3.10. The salad bar was a bit underwhelming though, maybe some pasta needed!

Advertisement

SanneJX

Points +18

Vegan
28 Jan 2024

Nice!

Came here for lunch, came back for breakfast the two days after. Nice atmosphere, nice coffee, nice food.

Michellepaire

Points +398

Vegan
16 Dec 2023

English vegan breakfast

Nice to try a traditional English breakfast, but vegan! We loved the food and the coffee.

LdnKay

Points +75

Vegan
14 Nov 2023

A wonderful oasis with good vibes

Very welcoming and tasty food. Also hosts events

Pros: the vibe

DaniTwickenham

Points +149

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Yum!

I had the B1 brunch today. Beautifully displayed and really nice in taste. This cafe is a real find!

Ri&Ro

Points +663

Vegan
18 Oct 2023

Nice vibe

So nice to be able to have a flat white without having to pay extra for the m*lk 😊 Nice generous piece of cake, salad take away still to have later on. Lots of seating and no pressure I could do my reports on laptop while consuming....

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-18

Pros: Friendly, Fully vegan, Generous space

redshift

Points +496

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Much improved!

Last time I visited the burger quality had gone downhill. Coffee is okay. Chips are great.

Not visited since they went fully vegan. Will be back to resample the food!

Update: visited recently and the quality has gone up again! Hope they manage to maintain the high standards.

Updated from previous review on 2020-01-21

Pros: Vegan now!

Cons: Cheap crappy frozen burger style burger patty

JenniferRichards

06 Feb 2020

Hi there, thank you for your feedback, we'll pass it on to our chefs. But we do have a range of items on the menu, including three daily changing specials, so we're sure you'll find something to your taste! We hope you enjoy your next visit, and please do speak to our staff if you have any questions over your food.

del_monte

Points +246

Vegan
24 Sep 2023

Could do better

I really wanted to like this cafe, it’s a lovely space and promising potential, but it was just missing something. I just missed the breakfast and so went for the hot sauce seitan thing with black rice. There was seriously too much TANG in that dish, even though the other flavours were okay. Couldn’t finish it. Coffee pretty bad too. Saying that, I’ll keep an open mind, return again one day and hopefully give more stars!

Pros: Nice space , Garden

Cons: Apathy

rosebuda

Points +843

Vegan
17 Sep 2023

Great coffee an ambience, good price

Had the flat white for 3 pounds. Good taste, nice environment. They also support cool projects

LindseyElizabeth

Points +641

Vegan
11 Sep 2023

Absolutely delicious Bolognese

The staff are friendly, the cafe cozy, and the spaghetti bolognese was out of this world. Note that lunch and main dishes are only sold until 4pm while the cafe remains open until 6 - I didn’t realize this but was lucky to get there shortly before 4.

felsenbirne

Points +44

Vegan
18 Aug 2023

Cozy breakfast place

We had the Full English Breakfast and sat down in the garden. It was really tasty and the cafe and garden are super cozy. We also had some sandwich for takeaway which was also great.

Pros: Cozy garden, Super friendly staff

OliverJähnke

Points +580

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Beautiful garden, nice food

The food was great and the place was so so beautiful and they had a garden in the back! I had an open sandwich and iced chai and it was delicious!
For gender neutral bathrooms!

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-08

AlexAvocado

Points +537

Vegan
26 Jun 2023

Food was good but nothing special

We came to The Gallery Cafe for breakfast. I ordered a decaf cappuccino and the fruit salad. The cappuccino was okay, the foam was a bit too airy, I have had better coffees in london for sure. The fruit salad came with a lot of different fruits like raspberry, apple, pear, pineapple, plum. The fruit was topped with coconut yoghurt and granola. It was tasty but the portion was too small for breakfast. The dish costs $7,30, in my opinion too expensive considering the size of the portion. On the counter I saw vegan croissants and other pastries, they looked good, but I did not try.

The garden is lovely, and on a sunny day you can have a nice seat here. It was okay, but I would not go back.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-26

Pros: Nice garden, Tasty food

Cons: Expensive , Small portion

Vegansjeng

Points +406

Vegan
26 Jun 2023

Not my favorite but it's alright

Came in for breakfast hoping to get myself a nice bowl of oats as I saw they had this on the menu. Sadly the menu had slightly changed and the oats were replaced by a fruit salad. I went with the fruit salad which was £7,50. Although it had a decent amount of fruit and different kinds, I still think it should be a little cheaper. I left feeling hungry because there wasn't a whole lot of granola and yoghurt on it either. It was really really fresh and tasty however, so I can't really fault the taste and quality of it. The coffee was one of the worst I had in London so far, which surprised me since it is a big part of what they do. It's not that the coffee itself did not taste good, but it just was not up there in terms of how creamy it was. Too many bubbles in the milk.

Overall it is definitely a cute place to visit and have some breakfast, lunch or a pastry (they all looked really good I just don't like to eat pastries for breakfast so sadly I haven't tried any of them). Maybe I just went for the wrong dish.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-26

Pros: Very good looking pastries , Nice indoor and outdoor seating areas , All plantbased cafe

Cons: I felt the fruit salad was overpriced , Not really barista quality coffees

verenadakota

Points +188

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

Great breakfast

They had English breakfast but also a variety of small pastries and sandwiches for breakfast. The staff was super nice even tho it was really really busy on a Saturday morning!

Kat4Paramed

Points +660

Vegan
17 May 2023

Great place, doing great things

Ran into this establishment by accident and I'm very glad that I did. They have an extensive vegan menu, as they are 100% vegan, and even offer gluten-free options. They have brunch items, a variety of salads you can choose from, and a nice amount of desserts.

Really lovely setting to enjoy your brunch by yourself or with some friends.

penguinlogic

Points +90

Vegan
11 May 2023

Pretty good brunch

Was a decent full English breakky style brunch

_cosie_

Points +29

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Cosy breakfast place

This is the perfect place for good breakfast while reading a book. I highly recommend the almond croissant.

Pros: All vegan, Amazing almond croissant, Fairly priced

Maakun

Points +1070

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Awesome!

This nice café really feels very welcoming. It's not just full of hipsters but lots of locals from different backgrounds.
The food is all home made, we had the full English breakfast and even the beans were home made (and amazing!). Not everything was equally good, the scrambled tofy was a tumeric bomb, but most things we tried including the cakes were very nice. Stayed here for more than two hours we felt so much at home.

Pros: Great atmosphere

49Hudson

Points +122

Vegan
25 Feb 2023

Lovely vegan breakfast spot

Wonderful little tucked away cafe. Cozy and inviting, and just good vibes. Had the full English and it was delicious. Great coffee and pastries. Highly recommended.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Friendly staff , Cozy, inviting

Cons: None

Egrez

Points +111

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Amazing + wholesome

Went here for breakfast and it was absolutely delicious, lovely staff and great atmosphere!

Eisiam

Points +135

Vegetarian
10 Dec 2022

Lovely setting, good breakfast

A nice full English and delicious coffee

MariannBB

Points +3071

Vegan
09 Dec 2022

Lovely vegan café

It's a cozy, fully vegan café that serves pastry, cakes, sandwiches, English breakfast and several types of hot meals as well.

I went for a latte and pastry combo for 5 GBP (served on weekdays) and both were delicious. I tried my friend's pancake as well, and that was very tasty too.

The toilets are not gendered.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-09

Pros: Fully vegan café, Cozy atmosphere, Environment-conscious

Cons: Out of the centre

MariaD

Points +2402

Vegan
23 Nov 2022

Nice cafe

The cafe is bustling at lunch time and is a nice place to work from. The staff is friendly and the food options are good. However, I think hygiene and cleanliness could be better. For instance, I saw flies around the baked goods on the counter and because it gets busy at lunch time, tables aren't cleared and cleaned promptly.

Pros: Good vegan options at decent prices

AitraVetrungei

Points +280

Vegan
20 Nov 2022

Lovely Café

I ordered an open sandwich for the day. It didn't look particularly nice but overall was tasty.

The prices are ££ I'd say.

They also had vegan croissants 🥐 that I haven't tried but has intrigued by it.

If I would be there again would like to try something else they have.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-20

Pros: Friendly staff & nice community, Vegan CROISSANTS, Have sitting inside & outside

Cons: Food is OK

janerosa

Points +356

Vegan
02 Nov 2022

Lovely brunch

Great brunch options. Pancakes are gorgeous and turmeric latte was delicious. A really positive and friendly atmosphere in the cafe.

SaraNorlin

Points +2869

Vegan
02 Nov 2022

Absolutely lovely

The pancakes were fantastic! Generally good looking menu and tempting bakery case with plenty of seating inside and out




This page has been viewed 23424 times.