Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Take-out
European
Norweigean

Coffee shop and vegetarian cafe serving a variety of vegetarian dishes, vegan soups, coffee, and beverages. Relaxed atmosphere. English spoken by staff. Open Mon-Tue 11:00am-6:00pm, Wed 11:00am-5:00pm, Thu-Sun 11:00am-6:00pm.


Venue map for The Fragrance of the Heart - Fritjof Nansens Plass
© OpenStreetMap contributors

62 Reviews

First Review by kamikazekid

WiinstonSmith

Points +41

Vegan
19 Oct 2023

Nice and cozy

We oredered the soup of the day the avocado toast. Perfect place to warm up in this cold city. Kind personal and good vibes.

Advertisement

toratas

Points +643

Vegan
15 Aug 2023

Beautiful place and staff

Good vibes and vegan cakes to be had here 😋

NatalyaDedyaeva

Points +58

Vegan
10 Aug 2023

Awesome place with healing food and atmosphere

This cafe has it all - good food, welcoming staff and warm atmosphere.
Most food is vegan, allergen ingredients are clearly marked. Do not hesitate to try a bowl or desert, you will not regret!

Pros: Tasty food , well balanced bowls , Staff, Theme of the cafe

BenjiRenji

Points +63

Vegetarian
02 Aug 2023

Great for a lunch

Great lunch selection of bowls ans soups, friendly staff and super desserts.

Will close at the end of August 2023 and they plan to open 2 years later.

madelinegb

Points +403

Vegan
30 Jun 2023

Wholesome Place

Great vibes and home cooked food, very comforting and kind servers. Went twice and both bowls were very good. Home style cooking so not fancy but tasty and hits the spot!

christian94

Points +469

Vegan
21 Jun 2023

Fast healthy soul food

Very central vegetarian bistro. Most options are vegan - just ask, not everything is labeled clearly. Mostly Indian influenced kitchen. Very healthy and tasty!
Good cakes too!

Pros: The staff always has a smile on their faces

Cons: A few too many tourists in the summer

amandelmelk

Points +461

Vegan
13 May 2023

Cute little vegetarian café

This was our first time coming here, and we had a lovely time! We didn’t try any of the savory dishes, but we ordered apple cake and a cookie. The sweets were great!

Unfortunately there weren’t that many sweet vegan options (we didn’t look properly on the food menu). If you’re after a coffee break with some sweets, you’ll find better options somewhere else.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-13

Pros: Nice atmosphere , Outdoor seating , Pet-friendly (even allowed inside!)

Cons: Not many vegan options

mmoynihan6

Points +672

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Good for a quick lunch

Soup was good. Some vegan options. Menu could be clearer on what is vegetarian rather than vegan. Food was good, but there is something lacking in terms of the atmosphere but for a quick lunch it is OK.

Evington

Points +2426

Vegan
16 Apr 2023

Standard lunch options.

This place offers a few bowls, a soup, chickpea curry, avocado/humus based sandwiches and a burger. A few desserts. The menu doesn’t have anything particularly different to the standard vegan lunchtime cafes.

The venue has an independent, original feel. Some outdoor seating too.

RainbowTrainy

Points +1023

Vegan
07 Mar 2023

Lovely place for lunch

Great selection of wraps, soups and such, and a casual vibe. Great place for lunch, either to eat in or to go.

Pros: Extremely friendly staff, Good and varied selection, Affordable

Galini

Points +3145

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Not a good experience, tasty food

When I arrived the cafe was half full. I ordered a bowl (I believe called power or energy bowl, it was tasty) and 2' later a big group of people (part of a guided tour) walked in. They were much more people than there were places in the cafe. They didn't bother, and the stuff didn't seem to mind either. They all stayed inside, occupied ever available seat, mixing with other groups and when there were no more seats available they just stood there. They were literally everywhere in the cafe. I understand that the cafe is happy to have more customers but I couldn't enjoy my lunch with people standing next to me, starring and waiting for me to eat in a hurry so that they can take my place.
Had I seen this chaos before, I wouldn't have eaten there. I don't know if or how often such a thing happens but I wouldn't want to relive it.

happydillard

Points +573

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

Great

The staff were really nice and the food was pretty good. I had a veggie wrap, which was a little basic but still good.

MeganPotts

Points +16

Vegan
28 Nov 2022

A hidden gem!

Staff were so friendly and welcoming! I had a delicious vegetable soup which is just what I needed on a cold November day in Oslo 🥰

Pros: Friendly staff, Lots of vegan meals/deserts, Cute little cafe

luuuuca

Points +315

Vegan
25 Aug 2022

very yummy!

cute little cafe near to the city hall with very yummy food!
i had the power bowl and it was excatly what i needed!
staff is very nice and english spoken:)
i defo recommend!:)

Pros: lots of vegan choices, very yummy food!, nice staff

Mcmould

Points +73

Vegetarian
14 Aug 2022

Lovely snack near Town Hall

The staff member bent over backwards to get me exactly what I needed.

Pros: Plenty of great choices, Great customer service

norwegianvegan

Points +1891

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Nice café

This is a cozy small vegetarian café, and thwir soup of the day is often vegan. It's also really cheap.

nealhauser

Points +30

Vegetarian
15 Jul 2022

Outstanding food

Visited Fragrance of the Heart in July 2022. Food and soups were excellent. Portions just right for a dinner. Wife enjoyed the spinach quiche while I had their soups. Breads excellent; wife love the carrot cake. Service is fast. Great location near the ferries. The close at 6 pm.

Pros: Food is fresh and delicious, not too spicy, Perfect portions, Very nice staff and great location

MaraK

Points +350

Vegan
10 Jul 2022

Nice find

In a city (Oslo) where it seems most waiters don’t know vegan from vegetarian, it was nice to find a vegetarian place where they speak vegank. It’s nothing fancy but has soups and wraps and desserts and it seems like about 2/3 is vegan and the other 1/3, vegetarian. Outdoor seating maybe 20 yards from City Hall with its beautiful-sounding Carillon bells.

Pros: Vegetarian and vegan only

Cons: Expensive like Oslo

Clean&Green

Points +1178

Vegan
24 Jun 2022

Nice wrap

Grabbed an avocado and hummus wrap to take with me on the Fjord sightseeing cruise. It tasted good and I was glad to have something wholesome while people onboard ate their shrimp platters 🤮.

jillhiggins

Points +616

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Absolutely phenomenal

Right next to City Hall in Oslo, this looks like a simple order of the counter cafe. But we were so pleasantly surprised with how amazing the food was. Favorites included the yoga bowl, dhal soup, Curry and Rice bowl, and the mango lassie. All vegan, low oil and delicious!

Pros: So many delicious options, Amazing desserts and coffee

nadine01

Points +651

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Love this place

Cosy cafe with delicious food and friendly staff. 10/10

Vanessa43

Points +2779

Vegan
28 Apr 2022

Nice café, good location

I think the reason why I was here several times im 2018 was the fact that The Fragrance of the Heart was a vegetarian café with a very practical location: next to the town hall, very close to the marina where the local ferries departed and arrived. There weren't that many places with vegan options in Oslo back then, but this was a solid one. Not overwhelming when it came to food, but good.

AddieMel

Points +20

Vegan
08 Mar 2022

Delicious food & coffee and very nice staff.

Super good dhal soup and the vegan pastries were amazing! Also the coffee 🤤

ZoePrincess

Points +26

Vegan
02 Sep 2021

Absolute amazing vegan Café

I loved the experience so much! The food is amazing, healthy and diversely! I enjoyed the atmosphere and the vegan options a lot! The experience was really calming. 10 out of 10 recommendation! They have the best cakes and the best coffee in town! Wether you‘re vegan or not!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly waiters, Calming atmosphere

GretheFB

Points +43

Mostly Veg
29 Jun 2020

Wonderful café with great soup and sweets

I spent a few hours here around lunch. I had a lovely dhal soup and chia berry dessert. Both were very tasty. The service is good and the atmosphere in the cafe is very nice.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Tasty soup, Nice staff and atmosphere

CandyGirl

Points +54

Vegan
02 Mar 2020

An oasis in the middle of town

Very cozy vegetarian café in the heart of Oslo. They have very good vegan options, both hot dishes, and cakes. Very peaceful vibes. It feels like an oasis in the middle of town.

Pros: Vegan cakes, and vegan hot dishes.

KennetSelnesRobertsen

Points +845

Vegan
03 Feb 2020

Cute

Cute little cafė offering vegan and gluten-free options. I had the coconut cream cake and kombucha. Would go back for little coffee dates!

Pros: Vegetarian, Gluten-free available




This page has been viewed 14625 times.