Ovo
Organic
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Brazilian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Brazilian food, smoothies, natural juice. Previously named A Mesa Cafe. Open Mon-Fri 09:00-18:00, Sat 10:00-16:00.


Venue map for The Food for Real
© OpenStreetMap contributors

25 Reviews

First Review by theMonicaGomes

AaronGoldman

Points +26

Vegan
10 May 2023

All around winner

I had risotto and the vegetable soup.
Really great.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, All gluten free, Great service

Advertisement

chchchlea

Points +778

Vegan
14 Mar 2023

Deserves 5/5

Incredibly flavourful food for a small price! Restaurant is in a residential area but well worth the trip. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Best surprise: americano for 85 cents!!!

Pros: Homemade quality food, Family atmosphere

JulietteCourgette

Points +278

Vegan
14 Mar 2023

Great lunch in quiet area

We were looking for a vegan lunch spot after visiting the LX Factory and we ended up here. Great little place in a very quiet area (in case all the buzz of the center of Lisbon is too much). Great vegan options and cheap for what you get. Would definitely recommend!

Pros: Diverse vegan options, Fresh juice, Inside and outside seating area.

Briggy

Points +353

Vegan
29 Jun 2022

Good start of the day

Staff was very friendly. We both had the vegan cheese toast which consisted of toast with a cashew cream-like spread and cherry tomatoes. Tasty and filling. Energy smoothie was very nice as well. Everything is gluten free.

Pros: Tasty food, Nice staff, Food was tasty

Cons: Not fully vegan, Parking nearby can be difficult

RaquelBunny

Points +78

Mostly Veg
22 Dec 2021

The best tapiocas! Delicious food

I love the wholesome menu and the variety. Everyone can come here because they have vegan, vegetarian and non vegetarian options! Gluten free options too.

Pros: Anyone can come here: vegan and non vegan, Wholesome food, Creative dishes

davidpatton

Points +435

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

This restaurant is an absolute gem!

The food is fresh, tasty and creative, and there are plenty of great vegan options. The staff are friendly, it's good value for money, and the portion sizes will not leave you still hungry! I will definitely return.

Pros: Food made with love, Unique experience, Cute little restaurant

Cons: Nothing!

Sultandc

Points +86

Vegan
17 Nov 2021

Great little place

Cosy gluten-free restaurant with an outdoor terrace. Several vegan items on the menu. Plate of the day is a great option: Soup, entrée and tea as pictured. The Brazilian dessert was delicious. Will definitely go back

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-17

Peter_DK

Points +71

Mostly Veg
15 Jul 2021

Great place

Great food with many vegan options. Rather small and only open from noon to 3pm. But please make sure to drop by, if you are in the vicinity. Very friendly staff.

Pros: Great tasty food, Cheap, Cozy

CatMendes

Points +65

Vegan
19 May 2021

Love this place and the staff

Everyday they have a vegan dish of the day. Tried the vegan brunch and it's very good. Many vegan options. They sell granola (sweet and savory), vegan butter, vegan bread, etc. The staff is amazing.

Cons: Small place, gets full easily.

JTedMo

Points +34

Vegan
02 Jun 2020

The Real food

Very good food!! Staff also very nice. I'll be back!!

janbanan

Points +62

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Tasty and well made food

Tasty and well made food. Also cheap. Only one guy working when we came but still good friendly service.

DanRussell

Points +163

Vegan
18 Feb 2020

Great little place!

The majority of the menu is vegan, with much of it gluten free too. The daily special is always vegan, and very well priced at €6.80 (Feb '20). Its only small, 14 seats, but worth the visit!

kevinkurek

Points +43

Vegetarian
21 Nov 2019

5-stars for this outstanding good vegan food

Today we had lunch here and it was fantastic! The food was outstanding good and everyone was really nice. It's a small restaurant and the food is made with love. We'll definitely come back!

Pros: Really tasty food, Fair prices, Friendly service

madameclafoutis

Points +16

Vegan
24 Aug 2019

very tasty and very friendly

very tasty and very friendly

Pros: very tasty and very friendly

Becka_w

Points +347

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Cute little lunch spot

Nice spot for lunch- friendly staff and tasty food, very cheap too!

Pros: Vegan options, Cheap, Outside seating

Wolke

Points +231

Vegan
25 May 2019

5 stars for sure :)

We had a delicious breakfast/ brunch, such a great place! We had the vegan brunch and the "Mexican Way"
Everything tasted delicious and fresh, great prices, good portion size, nice staff, ... all perfect! Would definitely go again

LaraWallenvino

Points +50

Vegan
31 Mar 2019

Sweet little brunch und lunch place!

We had a huge brunch there on a Saturday. The food was amazing and a lot for the price and you can always get a glutenfree option. You should bring some time though as many things are made freshly. The owners are also super friendly people and the prices are really low.

Pros: Glutenfree options, Huge brunch on Saturday, Quite cheap

Cons: Take your time here , Vegan milk costs extra for coffee

PetiteKyra

Points +92

Vegan
13 Mar 2019

Thoroughly recommend! Kann ich nur weiterempfehlen!

Großartiges essen! Hier ist für Jeden was dabei, inklusive Veganer und Leute die sich glutenfrei ernähren. Wir kommen definitiv wieder um den veganen Brunch am Samstag zu genießen! Die beiden Besitzer sind sehr sehr nett, bemüht und zuvorkommend. Ich kann es nur weiterempfehlen!

Crazy good food! There's something for everyone - including vegans and people who eat a gluten-free diet. We will be back for the vegan brunch on Saturdays! The owners are very nice, sweet and make an effort to make you feel at home. I can only recommend going here and can't wait to be back myself!

Updated from previous review on 2019-03-13

Pros: Delicious, Good prices, Fresh

Cons: Outside of the centre

rega

Points +93

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

Delicious and healthy

Great place with delicious food that will make you full and satisfied that you made something good for your body😄 Staff is very friendly and helpful

nixbugs

Points +15

Vegetarian
24 Jan 2018

Super. Cinco estrelas

Absolutamente cinco estrelas

CindySlowvan

Points +13

Vegetarian
23 Sep 2017

Délicieux et différent

Un petit café à l'écart de la foule touristique. Principalement végétarien et vegan. Les brunch sont à tomber !
Les plats proposés sont vraiment différents des cafés/snacks végétarien. (Influences brésiliennes). À tester avant de visiter la LX Factory et le Village Underground !

Pros: originalité des plats proposés, terrasses , cuisine maison

EvaCosta

Points +22

Vegan
09 Jul 2017

Nice surprise!

I saw it was around and I thought I would have one or two vegan options, but as soon as I asked, they presented me with an awesome vegan brunch. So much and such wonderful food. Became a fan!

Pros: Complete and delicious vegan options

Athenavk

Points +81

Vegan
08 Jul 2017

Delicious, adorable and very friendly

We found A Mesa Cafe during a long walk and absolutely fell in love with it! The owners were adorable, the food made with love and care, and a nice seat outside was perfect to enjoy our meal. I wish I could give them 5 stars, they definitely deserve it! We got the vegan brunch, all made fresh, which included a tapioca crepe, home made bread (gf) and soy yogurt. Would definitely go back if I get the chance, and invite you to try it out, you won't regret it:)

Pros: delicious, original, friendly staff/owners

theMonicaGomes

Points +215

Vegan
13 Jun 2017

I'll be back many times.

Alcantara needed a place like that. Really nice food and people. Strongly recommend their vegan tapiocas

Teresi

Points +18

Vegan
11 Apr 2017

:-)

Cute Café !

For vegans: a delicious kind of wrap with guacamole or humus (called "tapioka", 3,50€) vegan salad with Tofu (~5€) and a vegan brunch (12€)!
Next time we have to try the banana bread !!!!!




This page has been viewed 4630 times.