• The Fig

  • (14)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe where much of the menu is vegetarian, with marked vegan dishes including hummus wrap and roast veg bruschetta. Has another branch in Hastings. Reported open, Jun 2019. Open Mon-Sun 10:00-17:00.


Venue map for The Fig
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by mvbx

JP,allplants

Points +105

Vegan
16 Apr 2023

Excellent Plant-Based options

Lovely lunchtime spot. We tried all three of their delicious vegan mains, and all were inventive, full of artfully cooked veg, and tasty af.

Big recco!

Advertisement

ClareLouise

Points +315

Vegan
12 Mar 2023

Tasty and fresh!

Rye vegan options are quite tricky to find so this place was a godsend when visiting. Food was full of flavor and really delicious, would have appreciated being able to order a side of bread or chips though as the meal was vegetables and I found I was hungry again not too long after. We also asked for the discretionary service charge to be taken off the bill. For two meals and two soft drinks it came to just over £40, as we were only in the restaurant for 45 minutes we didn’t feel it warranted an added 12% tip.

TracySavage

Points +164

Vegan
04 Jul 2021

Tasty food but small portions Expensive

Our waitress seated us then 2 other couples 10 minutes later, then took their orders first and seemed to forget about us for the next 20 minutes. Not a good start. Food very expensive. Tapas style menu. Very small portion £7.25 for 2 arancini mushroom balls. Tiny Thai salad £6.25. The non vegan options we saw on other tables were much bigger and not a lot different in price. Nice ambience and food quite tasty but we left hungry. Wouldn't visit again I'm afraid.

Pros: A few vegans options. Only 1 vegan dessert option

Cons: Very Expensive for portion size

drlj

Points +610

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

Tasty cafe food

Went here with a non vegan friend. I had a lovely aubergine/zatar pomegranate fish with a side of bread. Great flavours, nicely presented. Nice laid back atmosphere. Dog friendly.

Pros: Reasonably priced , Tasty food

Cons: Serves meat

nigeltart

Points +101

Vegan
17 Aug 2020

Excellent vegan options

Mixed cafe but plenty of vegan options. Imaginative menu; not the usual fodder. Lovely, friendly staff. Top espresso. Worth five stars but this website caps mixed venues at four.

ArianeDpt

Points +23

Vegetarian
27 Jan 2020

Very good

We had the Mexican eggs and the Braised Aubergine and both were very flavourful and filling. Would definitely recommend. Most dishes were £7~10

tyrmar_bear

Points +120

Vegan
02 Jan 2020

Nice coffee good food

A welcome find whilst walking round Rye like the title says nice coffee good food nice place to take a break and chill. Came back for breakfast the next day.

ChrisNorthwich

Points +117

Vegan
19 Sep 2019

Delicious Food

Many vegetarian and vegan options. Creative and healthy food well-cooked and beautifully presented.

saraharstevens

Points +28

Vegan
31 Aug 2019

Great vegan food, shame about the service

Several great vegan options - we tried 3 dishes within our group - and the food was delicious. Unfortunately the whole experience was very much overshadowed by the appalling attitude and behaviour of one of the serving staff, who was very rude to me whilst I was ordering and was seen to pull faces behind my back as I left. She really let the side down.

Pros: Great food, Several good vegan options , Allows dogs

Cons: Rude serving staff

marikaweinhardt

Points +5145

Vegan
29 Dec 2018

Good enough for two days in a row

Long, light room stylishly decorated with midnight blue and white contrast walls, plants, artwork and retro filament light bulbs. Unobtrusive soul playlist. Fresh and colourful vegan options, nicely presented. Great zing in both the sweetcorn salsa accompanying the Mexican beans and the salsa verde on the side of the mushrooms on toast. Creative soups such as super greens or parsnip, pear and leek served with generous granary slabs (no vegan butter alternative offered). Vegan options clearly labelled on menu but ask about cakes - one vegan cake when visited (banana bread). Own coffee roast blend available for purchase.

AnniR

Points +78

Vegan
10 May 2018

Absolutely amazing!

A brilliant place! Finding somewhere with vegan options sometimes is already tough enough, but add ‘dog friendly’ to it and it’s a real struggle. This place is heaven! A good selection of vegan options, great soya latte and delicious cake (that day they had chocolate avocado and banana bread) and you can bring your dog inside. Also, I accidentally ordered the wrong juice which wasn’t vegan and the lovely lady came over to our table to let me know about it and if I’d like to change for another juice ... really thoughtful! Recommended!!!

Pros: Good vegan options , Dog friendly , Vegan cakes!!!! Yummmm!

sarah81

Points +20

Vegan
09 Apr 2018

Lack of cleanliness

The food was okay but very simple (tomatoes on toast). The cutlery was disgusting. I had to go through a few tables to find a clean ish fork. Hygiene is so important when you run a restaurant. I won’t go back.

Qwertz

Points +63

Vegan
09 Jan 2018

Best bet in Rye for vegan breakfast and lunch

When I'm in Rye and up for breakfast or lunch The Fig is my first go-to place: small, nice vibe, good coffee, dog-friendly and always vegan options (I sometimes was too late for vegan cake, though).
At the moment (January 2018) their small menu contains 4 vegan dishes:
- spicy meican beans on toast wth guacamole and mixed leaf.
- Squash, red pepper and spinach dahl with coconut yoghurt and flatbread. (my favourite)
- Falafel wrap with spicy harissa, slaw and rocket.
- Slow roasted tomatoes on toast with marmite, basil oil, pea shoots and toasted seeds.

Pros: fresh, good quality ingredients, home-made, tasty food, dog-friendly

Cons: Vegan cake options sometimes gone too fast ;)

mvbx

Points +15

Vegetarian
14 Dec 2017

Really good food!

Really good selection of vegetarian food that tastes amazing!
The only things I've noticed on the menu that are not vegetarian is eggs Benedict and eggs florentine and the occasional special.
A range of Breakfast/Brunch/Lunch dishes ranging from salad and soup to quiche and bruschetta plus freshly baked cakes that include vegan options.
The spicy beans on toast is my go to, I love it so much I find it hard trying other things on the menu. The staff are also very lovely.

Pros: reasonably priced, good selection , welcoming




This page has been viewed 3987 times.