Lacto
Ovo
International
Organic
Western
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Breakfast
Malaysian

Restaurant which switched to fully vegetarian in 2021. Offers a range of healthier dishes, with soups, salads, pasta, and curry. There is also a daily specials board with the day's quiche, salad, and cake. The atmosphere changes through the day, with a casual feel through the breakfast and lunch hours then turning to chilled bali-esque sunset tunes setting the tone for cocktails and beers on the terrace before nightfall and soft uplighting makes dinner a more intimate affair. Open Mon 12:00pm-4:00pm, 4:00pm-9:30pm, Wed-Sun 12:00pm-4:00pm, 4:00pm-9:30pm. Kitchen closes 4-6pm.


Venue map for The Fat Frog
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by Greensmear

lisavogt

Points +23

Vegetarian
29 Dec 2023

Very good

There were lots of tasty options and accommodation to food for kids. They were very friendly and it was a beautiful place.

Advertisement

BernhardWodl

Points +115

Vegan
27 Nov 2023

Great place - delicious food

Great choice of planted based dishes, wonderful view and cozy place to spend the evening

Pros: Vegan dishes, Friendly staff, Great dinner

jedafin

Points +160

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Yummy

Yummy food, good service. Great dining experience, you really pay for the pleasantries of the space.

AnkkuIngeborg

Points +111

Vegan
25 Apr 2023

Very vegan friendly

The place is very vegan friendly but I don’t think it’s fully vegetarian as the description claims?

But lovely set up and lovely food and one of the few (if not the only one around the area?) places that had several vegan dessert options to choose from!!! And they were delicious!

(And there was a cute restaurant dog hanging around!)

Would higly recommend ☺️

Pros: Many vegan options + dessert!, Set-up, Service

Cons: Can’t think of any

Vegan_in_KL

Points +1279

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Vegan dishes/ vegan options available aren’t outlined on menu

A beautiful place to go for dinner. The views are stunning. They also have their own little garden where they grow their herbs and vegetables.
The food that we had was really tasty. From the main menu, you need to ask the serving staff what is/ can be adapted to be vegan which is quite annoying (and there’s a simple solution). Vegan desserts are clearly highlighted though!

We went for vegan pasta and vegan risotto, both dishes came with a small pot of grated vegan cheese, which I thought was a nice touch!

Pros: Beautiful setting, Tasty vegan food, Vegan desserts

Cons: Vegan dishes are not listed on the main menu

Painted.Twine

Points +112

Vegetarian
13 Jul 2022

Romantic Dining spot

We really enjoyed dining at this vegetarian restaurant inside the Golf course. There's 2 cute doggies & 1 elusive kitty.
Food is on the pricer end, limited choice of vegetarian food that don't contain alliums. Food quality is really good.

Pros: Vegan options available, Peaceful ambience

Cons: Pricey

JazzCalura

Points +160

Vegan
25 Sep 2020

Limited vegan options

The ambience was great since it's situated inside the golf club. Greens everywhere. They grow some of the herbs and veggies so that makes it organic and natural.

I ordered TFF Organic Spinach Salad and they served it with feta cheese. When they found out I'm vegan, they offered to make a new one. Nice gesture from the owner!

I like the idea of using used vodka bottles as glasses for their smoothies and drinks :)

P.S. They used basil spinach on their TFF salad, which is new to me. It felt like I'm eating a leaf of a hedge. So be sure to check out before ordering.

Their operating hours have been changed to 12PM to 4PM, 6PM-10PM daily and closed on Mondays.

Pros: Fantastic ambience

Cons: Limited vegan options, A bit pricey

LilacHippy

29 Sep 2020

Thanks for the info, I have updated the opening hours. Sending in an update is usually the best way. :)

saimahhassan

Points +24

Vegan
25 Dec 2019

Lovely family meal

The fat frog served us delicious food with options for our family of omnis, vegans & veggies. The staff were friendly and the owner even came over to make some recommendations of where else to visit on the area. Will definitely return if we come back to Langkawi - highly recommend!!

Pros: Caters for all , Beautiful setting , Fans

Cons: A little pricey (but worth it), Friendly staff & dog , Didn’t have any vegan desserts😒

Greensmear

Points +166

Vegan
28 Jan 2018

Won't be back

Expensive, small portions, not mainly vegetarian like they state, and also, heavy on the vegetarian in the sense that all their vegetarian food has cream, egg, cheese, or something else.

If you're vegetarian and want to pay more for a meal, because it's a slightly nicer setting, then this would be a good place.

If you're vegan, I would just say avoid it.

Pros: fluffy dog

Cons: everything else




This page has been viewed 3938 times.