Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
British
Gluten-free
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant, cafe and rooms. Has vegan dishes marked on the menu such as soup, chickpea curry, Moving Mountains burger. Also labels vegan wines. No vegan cakes. Also has a shop with zero waste and organic food products as well as cleaning products and beauty products. Open Tue-Fri 12:00-14:00, 18:00-20:30. Closed Sat-Mon. Hours may vary month to month, check website for latest hours.


Venue map for The Dunvegan
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Jacky1989

CathyCoriander

Points +106

Vegan
31 Aug 2023

Tasty vegan lunch

Enjoyed our vegan flatbread with falafels, potatoes and salad. Service was excellent.

Advertisement

Lindseyrigg

Points +118

Vegetarian
27 Jun 2023

Dinner at The Dunvegan

The Dunvegan was a really cosy, quirky restaurant with lovely sea views. Some books, games and fairy lights gave it a really homely, relaxed feel. They have quite a small dinner menu which consists of one vegan option for each course. The meals weren't priced individually. Instead you could have 2 courses for £34.95 or three for £43.95. 'Snacks,' consisting of olives, garlic and pickled carrot and aubergine, and bread were included in this price along with sorbet.
My starter was roasted green beans with pea shoots and a lemony dressing. It was simple but tasty. For the main, I had the vegetable grill which consisted of more pickled carrots and aubergine, hummus, flatbread, roasted mushroom, aubergine and courgette and the best falafels I've ever tasted! Their dessert menu didn't have any obvious vegan options but I was full from my other courses so this didn't bother me.

The price felt a little steep for basically just vegetables but I love their ethos of fair pay and sustainability.

They had an extensive drinks menu. I would highly recommend the Cairn O'mohr cider. Even if you don't drink alcohol, their alcohol free option with elderflower was amazing.

One more thing! Their website says to let them know your dietary requirements when booking to make sure they have options for you when you arrive 😊.

Pros: Inventive food options, Very friendly staff

Cons: On the more expensive side , Small dinner menu

vanessavohl

Points +66

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Very delicious dinner!

Three courses of fine food! Definitely a recommendation during a stay on Skye!

Pros: clearly labelled , very delicious

Loveveganfood

Points +36

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Great Vegan Food

Nice to have something different when dining out especially when it’s your birthday. We choose the dun-vegan board and the mushroom tacos, both delicious, dessert was the date and ginger slice/cake which was also delicious. Great place, staff friendly, there was one young waitress that had exceptional customer service skills. Definitely visit again. Thank you to all the staff for the amazing job you all do.

SoCalCal

Points +1022

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Prix fixe dinner is not worth the $$$ if vegan

We came to dinner here and were disappointed at what we got for the set course price. Only two vegan options for the starters and only one vegan main. None of the vegan selections was especially inventive, either. Definitely would not go back and not worth the price of admission.

Cons: Lack of vegan options, Set course menu, Unimaginative vegan dishes

jifrah

Points +191

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Inventive choices.

Lovingly presented vegetables. Check menu on their website for current offerings. Friendly and professional service. Make reservations in advance.

Pros: Beautiful presentation

Cons: No vegan dessert

avocado_jess

Points +2778

Vegan
26 May 2022

Sweet eco shop

Only visited the shop and delighted to see some great vegan food bits, but admittedly not loads. We got some chocolates for the road and admired all the eco-friendly house items (coconut husk sponges 😍) which we are big fans of! We were only passing through mid-morning so didn’t stop for a meal.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-26

NewVeganGirl

Points +48

Vegan
12 May 2022

Great vegan food - why isn’t this place fully vegan?! 😣

Not many vegan options, but the ones they’ve got are REALLY WELL-THOUGHT-OUT and so yummy, for them not being a vegan/veg cafe! Really appreciate the time they took to develop the vegan options. My hubby would have rather had a vegan burger, but their vegan focaccia sandwich with roasted veggies was still amazing, as well as their pumpkin soup, and the “Dun•Vegan Board:” with hummus, roasted veg, mixed baby greens salad & great bread! Also, adorable presentation in a cozy setting! Lovely little eco-friendly camper/Airbnb/traveller food/amenities shop at the cafe, too. Wanted to try the Bog Myrtle Cafe that day, but good thing they were closed, so we could go to the Dunvegan. Funny how things work out. Please patron the vegan options here!

Pros: Clever vegan options, Yummy flavors, Adorable setting & great staff

Cons: Only a few vegan options, Watch the cafe opening hours

SuziSapiets

Points +278

Vegan
25 Aug 2021

Superb vegan food!

Vegan options clearly listed on the menu and in a beautiful place. The food was so flavourful - they clearly had considered what different ingredients to use for their vegan dishes to make them outstanding. The staff were also very friendly and I got to watch birds flying around outside and a cute cat sitting on a fence. Skye is a beautiful island and I really want to go back!

TravellingPlants

Points +48

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Good coffee dry burger

Incredibly dry chickpea burger with no relish / sauce, but lovely staff and coffee with oat milk. Chef provided kitchen-made vegan Mayo which was excellent

Pros: Good coffee

Cons: Poor burger

AnnalisaLT

Points +18

Vegan
11 Jun 2021

A beautiful surprise!

We stopped for a coffee and something sweet. The place is very nice and tidy and the staff is very kind and friendly.
I had an amazing slice of vegan cake,with chocolate, banana, caramel and whipped cream!! I have never had a vegan cake that good as usually are all very sweet, but not this one, it was perfectly balanced.
Also the latte with oat milk was super.
Really recommended!!!!

Laurentide

Points +43

Vegan
06 Jun 2021

They had cake, too!

We had a lovely dinner, vegan items are clearly labelled on the menu and they label vegan wine, too. We thought we'd have to skip dessert but it turned out they had two vegan cakes! All their cakes are homemade (some of them by our waiter's nan) and the one we had was great.
They also have a eco shop which is very nice.

Pros: Cake!, Clearly labelled vegan items, Very friendly staff

Jacky1989

Points +818

Vegan
25 Oct 2020

Lovely place

Nice selection of vegan options. Staff are friendly and food is good. Sadly no vegan cakes at the time of my visit.

Pros: Clearly marked vegan options, Tasty food, Friendly staff




This page has been viewed 2110 times.