Vegan
Western
British

Comic book and games store combined with board game cafe. Serves light vegan food, such as panini, toast, crumpets, wraps, snacks, and cakes from local vegan bakery. Drinks are tea and coffee, juice, shakes, and soft drinks. Collection of hundreds of board games which are playable for a cover fee. Open Mon-Fri 11:00-23:00, Sat 10:00-23:00, Sun 10:00-22:00.


40 Reviews

First Review by LucyHallam

Hazel45

Points +16

Vegan
23 Jan 2024

Cold food and disappointed staff

In the past, the atmosphere was very warm and comfortable, but nowadays of the dice cup. Absolutely disappointed with new staff having no knowledge on what TGC cards you want, food is now cold, disgusting. And their seating minimum.

Pros: Drinks

Cons: Cold food, Staff , Seats

Advertisement

JoolsB

Points +66

Vegan
28 Nov 2023

Fast food +

Great selection of panini's and burgers, we really enjoyed the double panini and a great burger with sticky toffee pudding and a cookie/brownie with ice cream for pud. Very friendly staff and great vibe, love the modern and retro games. No airs or graces, simple stuff in basic surroundings, gaming may be the priority.

Pros: Good variety

Cons: Basic, in a good way

Carolinaghan

Points +231

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Brilliant gaming cafe

The food is really nice and has massively improved over the years. The food is more like wholesome gaming food like burgers, pizza and lasagne etc. Theres also a great collection of sweets, crisps etc. You get really good portions for what you pay for as it’s super cheap. The staff are some of the nicest people in the world. They are always on hand to help with picking out games etc. I can’t recommend The Dice Cup enough.

Libra77

Points +2681

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Great space

The Dice Cup stocks cakes from the wonderful Vegan Cakery. They usually have a good selection available as well as lighter lunch options e.g toasties. The mille feuille is unbelievably delicious! Everything is vegan too. If you like board games you're in for a treat as the range available is impressive. If like me though you're not a board gamer, you can still pop in or take food away. The staff make you feel very welcome and are happy to chat. The dog is really friendly and not at all smelly as suggested by another reviewer!!!

Updated from previous review on 2016-08-28

Pros: Good value, Good selection , Friendly staff and dog :)

Annalisstar

Points +144

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

great place, good selection and fab staff

Had a great time visiting dice cup after overwhelming recommendations on ig and fb for lunch and cuppa place in city centre

Pros: Cake options , Many non dairy milks , Great meeting spot

Kalesoup

Points +54

Vegan
28 Jan 2023

What a find!

Incredible range of board games and much bigger inside than we expected. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable when we had questions. But even if board games aren't your thing, the food was excellent- we had 2 burgers and they were both very tasty but also finished professionally (toasted buns and so on) which was a surprise, especially considering the reasonable price.
Staff were also really on top of allergies and repeated at all stages that they had checked for my allergy which was really welcome and very much appreciated. The food options also seem to have considered possible allergies and its quite varied/customisable.
We are already planning when we can next go back!

Pros: Really delicious, excellently done, all vegan food, So many board games, Reasonable pricing

clefairyt

Points +277

Vegan
19 Nov 2022

Friendly, chilled and welcoming place

We went for the board games as well as the food and had a really chilled time. There's a really good range of board games for all group sizes (we were just 2 of us).

There's plenty of space with no rush or bother and the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable without being overbearing.

There's a good range of food, both snacks and small meals. It's nothing fancy, but it's reasonably priced and fills the belly.

The cakes and drinks are delicious, and there's a great selection too.

The opening hours mean that this is one place that's usually open when most other vegan places in Nottingham are closed.

CharlieJones

Points +124

Vegan
07 Nov 2022

Awesome

I love this place, it feels so cozy and great for a huge pokemon nerd like me 😂 so many board games to choose from and they host regular tournaments for pokemon, yu-gi-oh, etc… on top of that, the food is VERY cheap compared to the other vegan places in notts and they sell a good selection of drinks and snacks, plus the staff are really nice and welcoming. Highly recommend :))

Pros: 100% vegan, Lovely staff, Pokemon!!!!!!

leadolly

Points +331

Vegan
18 Jul 2022

Nice little place

A completely vegan board game café. If you are going for the intention of playing games, the vegan menu is a bonus. Probably wouldn’t visit just for the menu. Wide offering on the menu but food seemed as though it was frozen as opposed to home made. A decent little snack however.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice vibe

Cons: Could be cleaner

Kingy

Points +125

Vegan
27 Feb 2022

Board games and vegan food- how amazing!!

We had a pizza and shepherds pie. Good food, good prices and so nice to have able to have anything off the menu.
We didn’t try them but the cakes look amazing and the milkshakes sound great!

Pros: All food is vegan, Tasty food, Good prices

Cons: None

PaulEnglanddd

Points +30

Vegan
15 Feb 2022

Great vegan spot for gamers

I’ve been to The Dice Cup a few times just to kick back and play some board games with friends. It’s a great spot for veggies and vegans who just want a nice hot drink and snack too, as everything on the menu is vegan.

They have plenty to offer in terms of activities; both stuff you can pick up and play as you wish, and organised themed events. They have a weekly schedule up in store, but make sure to check their Facebook page, too.

The staff are really kind and accommodating, and the atmosphere is nice and chill. Great spot to hang out!

philwky

Points +2827

Vegan
28 Jan 2022

Very Good

Not really a board game fan, but went here with a group of friends. Had a pizza which was good, and a milkshake and a cappuccino that were as good as any I’ve had. Will visit again.

radiocaz

Points +960

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Amazing menu, super place

I am not a big gamer but really wanted to be after spending time at this place! Wish I had one near me, great to try probably every board game available and maybe some that aren’t! Super friendly service. Excellent range of food, drinks and cakes.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-18

Pros: All vegan, Excellent service , Super range of menu items

TobyGosling

Points +22

Vegan
19 Aug 2021

Fantastic Cafe

Love this fantastic cafe, if you love playing board game and eating tasty vegan food then this is the place for you.

Pros: Tasty vegan food, All the board games in the world , Friendly staff

Cons: No Cons

ChrisNottsVegan

Points +55

Vegan
02 Jun 2021

Fantastic food, semi decent environment

Board game cafe with a little cafe.

The food is decent enough and they offer some fantastic cakes with everything being reasonably priced, the staff are always friendly.

The whole vibe feels a bit cheap like the tables were all old throwaways, especially when compared to another board game cafe in Nottimgham, but that one isn't vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2020-07-13

Pros: Friendly Team, Reasonable price food

Cons: Decor looks cheap

GuyJones

Points +221

Vegan
30 May 2021

A delightful find.

To be honest The Dice Cup was our third choice for lunch. Our first was no longer trading (Annoyingly still listed on HC) we were walking towards our second choice when we saw The Dice Cup and though it looked inviting. What a happy, chance encounter. The staff were extremely welcoming. The atmosphere was beautifully relaxed with tables full of board game players and the food was good, honest, unpretentious and filling. My wife had Jambalaya and I had Pizza. Both were washed down by The Dice Cups wonderful Milk Shakes.
There was no rush to get us out once we had finished and we made the most of a rare chance to just sit and take time over our lunch.

Pros: Totally Vegan., Really, truly delightful Staff, Nice atmosphere.

JasmineWomack

Points +1430

Vegan
22 May 2021

Lovely atmosphere

Enjoyed milkshakes and had a nice relaxed drink and game of chess


Updated from previous review on 2021-05-22

MichaelHill

Points +22

Vegan
05 Aug 2020

Lovely friendly staff

Lovely board game cafe. Great staff good coffee and cold drinks

Pros: Lots of vegan options

CharlesHefley

Points +475

Vegan
19 Jul 2020

Fun and friendly!

Nice place to relax with some good food and games.

Pros: Found a great game my kids loved. , Vegan Magnums!, A friendly social place.

MHuang

Points +35

Vegan
17 Feb 2020

Eat&play

Some tasty options on the menu and lots of games.

Pros: food options, games, well priced

MaryCheshire

Points +116

Vegan
26 Nov 2019

Friendly place with great food

Love visiting The Dice Cup to play some board games and enjoy some delicious vegan food. The panini's and milkshakes are amazing!! Very reasonably priced too.

VoniWalker

Points +105

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Fab little place

Really simple vegan food and drink menu but lots of choice and combinations. Paninis, calzone, crumpets, sausage roll, cakes, sweets, ten acre crisps and gorgeous drinks with a choice of milks. Lovely friendly service. My husband had the honeycomb hot chocolate, he was in heaven! Didn't have time to play any games as we were just passing through but we're already planning a trip back so we can do the works. £5 each to play games all day, drop in/out. Amazing!

Pros: Good value tasty food, Quick service, Massive range of games

Cons: Nothing. My idea of heaven!

alunisae

Points +4115

Vegan
07 Aug 2019

great place

great place for a game night (costs £5 for the whole day) and the food is pretty good too - my non-vegan friends didn’t realize it was veg

Ondancetron

Points +20

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Nice place, rubbish food.

This is a very welcoming place, with lovely staff, that I've spent dozens of afternoons in playing games. But don't go here for food.

The cakes are borderline acceptable, with huge amounts of sugar trying to maska complete lack of flavour, and the savoury options are worse. The paninis are ok, but they're only thing I'd recommend as the alternative is some microwaved pasties/wraps which are often borderline stale.

Pros: Great games, Decent drink selection, Welcoming staff

Cons: Poor quality food

ShaunNewman

Points +108

Vegan
30 May 2019

Interesting vegan options and great games

An excellent boardgame cafe with a pure vegan menu that is pretty varied with a lot of interesting options. The vegan Jambalaya burrito was excellent.

Pros: Fully vegan menu

Cons: Little bit of a wait when busy.

Georgina

Points +345

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

I want to live here

Since I love board games and vegan cafes, this made my list for my weekend in Nottingham! It was much bigger than I expected, loads of tables, loads of games (great selection in the shop and also to pay-to-play), and the coffee was delicious. I didn't eat but did shop and chat and would definitely recommend and go back.

Pros: Great coffee, Lovely atmosphere, Spacious and not too busy (though I went Sun am)

VelillaDeOswestry

Points +3375

Vegan
22 Feb 2019

Amazing - very friendly

this is more of a board game cafe and food second so don't expect a classic vegan restaurant experience. we had an amazing time though, the owner was very friendly and spent lots of time with us explaining us games etc. food was alright, some nice vegan sandwiches with mock meats and cheese etc . try the shortbread, very very tasty. highly recommend this place

Pros: very friendly staff, lots of amazing games, shortbread

Cons: nothing




This page has been viewed 16247 times.