• The Curious Kitchen

  • (16)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Higher-end dining in an informal setting. Uses seasonal vegetables and has non-dairy milk. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-16:00, Fri-Sat 19:00-21:00. Kitchen closes 3pm. Reservations required Fri-Sat evenings.


Venue map for The Curious Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by ChristianVegan

RobynMelvin-Freed

Points +140

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Amazing coffee!

Really nice cafe with a great interior and great atmosphere. Loved the coffee- probably on of the best we’ve had while in the UK. Seemed like they had quite a few vegan options which is great and all sounded very interesting. I got the vegan brunch, very tasty- the beans were amazing! So much flavour. Would definitely love to back, but would say it’s on the higher price side.

Advertisement

JadeBradley-Marsh

Points +27

Vegetarian
13 Nov 2022

Excellent food, doggos welcome

Went here with our baby and two dogs (one is giant breed), even though it was very busy, they found us a table and staff were friendly and welcoming. I had the falafel wrap which was really nice, and a good sized portion. Hubby had veggie wrap which he loved. Coffee was great, there were lots of milk alternatives available and a good selection of vegan bakes.

Pros: Good vegan options and milk alternatives , Clearly labelled vegan/ vegetarian , Staff friendly and welcoming to baby & dogs

Cons: Can get busy

andydillon84

Points +107

Vegan
16 Oct 2022

Really good vegan options

Semi regular breakfast destination for us. Vegan brunch is really good and other menu items can be made vegan if requested. Good selection of plant based milks for coffee as well.

Pros: Tasty vegan options, Friendly staff, Vegan treats to take away as well.

Cons: On the expensive side

jill.yersin

Points +41

Vegan
21 Mar 2022

nourish winter bowl

i knew what contents to expect from the menu but was expecting better presentation. the food was layered so you could not see everything at a glance and had to eat a layer before discovering the next item which wasn’t ideal. so ate courgette and aubergine to over over other items. the water melon made the things around it wet. one raspberry as part of the fruit. the food was ok but one eats with your eyes so could be better presented. however couldn’t fault the staff

GraceMillman

Points +26

Vegan
29 Jan 2022

Fab cafe with great vegan options

Such a cool cafe/restaurant in Brixham - really good vegan options for brunch/lunch

BigSixBass

Points +359

Vegan
26 Aug 2020

An oasis!

If you find yourself in Brixham, then this may be the only place to find good vegan options. Recommended (The Curious Kitchen, that is, ...not Brixham..)

Loulou65

Points +16

Vegan
21 Aug 2020

Fab

In a lovely town with limited vegan options, the curious kitchen was a great find. Great coffee and delicious wrap

Bethany45600

Points +69

Vegan
28 Jul 2020

Lunch

Enjoyed the food and had many options.However,it did take a while to come and the cafe was quite small so when busy it is abit crowded.Although,overall I would come again and found it a nice little cafe!

Pros: Many options, Good food

Cons: Waiting a while, Small

Charli-Bash

Points +76

Vegan
23 Jul 2020

Lots of vegan options

Lovely vibes, friendly staff, great choices of vegan and gluten free food.

loopylou

Points +32

Vegetarian
06 Oct 2018

Great food and selection of vegan cakes

We had potato cakes and harissa beans followed by flat whites with oat milk and lemon drizzle cake and chocolate brownie - all vegan and really nice. The restaurant is quite rustic but the toilet and baby change facilities were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely return if we were in the area again.

Pros: Great food, Friendly staff, Clean toilet

Cons: Dog hair on floor was a bit off putting!

TreeWarwick

Points +30

Vegan
07 Apr 2018

so disappointed

I very much hate to give a bad review but I do get frustrated with places that think that by stating vegan on the menu they are actually supplying something decent. If vegan food is just an after thought then I think best leave it off the menu. I went in this time for the vegan freak shake, it was warm, watery and had no flavour. A normal freak shake from them has ice cream, this was some chocolate sauce and almond milk and a small bit of cake for £6. Plenty of supermarkets have vanilla ice cream now, there is no excuse. It’s local, so it’s a shame. Maybe if they widen their vegan menu I may go back.

cazhellbent

Points +30

Vegan
28 Jan 2018

Nice atmosphere and plenty of vegan options

We had vegan freakshakes which were delicious (and included a vegan brownie!). They have oatly and almond milk. The food looked nice and there was good music.

VeganAnnaS

Points +2702

Vegan
04 Jan 2018

Brunch

The daytime menu is brunch style dishes. Vegan options are marked on the menu. The avo on toast was tasty but relatively expensive for the portion size. You can, however, add extras (tomatoes or mushrooms) which would make it more substantial. The banana bread with cashew cream cheese and figs was delicious, not overly sweet and seemed better value.
Coffee was good (from a roaster in Torquay, they have a focus on local ingredients). Oat and almond milk is available for hot drinks at 25p surcharge.
Their second branch ("More") offers salads and pizzas.

Pros: Focus on local ingredients, Friendly service, Delicious banana bread

Cons: Not all veg*an, Surcharge for non-dairy milk

Chaizy

Points +91

Vegan
07 Sep 2017

Tasty vegan lunch

Always visit when i am in Brixham, lovely vegan food, shakes, cakes and more! And they are opening a second premises a few minutes away. Can't wait!

Richard Ross

Points +886

Vegan
19 Aug 2017

Excellent vegan food

All the courses we had were excellent. Service was friendly, efficient and helpful. The restaurant was well able to provide delicious gluten free vegan food. It would be great if it became fully vegan.

Pros: Delicious, imaginative food, Prompt and friendly service, Cosy atmosphere

Cons: Not a vegan restaurant

ChristianVegan

Points +209

Vegan
04 May 2017

A great gourmet feast!

First visit whilst on holiday in Brixham and what a lovely surprise. Six vegan courses in total and a friendly service. Spent hours there eating soda bread and oil, wonderful potato salad with deep fried capers and an asparagus dish. The pudding was brownie and choc shake plus another vegan cake thrown in at the end, with pistachios. At the end I had a green tea which opens out from its original ball shape, very pretty with orange lily in there. There was not a huge choice of vegan food as you had what you were given of set menu and the vegan main did have to be adapted from a vegetarian meal. All the same, a lovely evening and I was very happy.

Pros: Unusual place, Friendly staff, Seasonal vegetables

Cons: Expensive , Could be a bit more vegan aware with more choic




This page has been viewed 2753 times.