Vegan-friendly
Ovo
American
International
Organic
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Fusion
Canadian

Modern vegetarian food restaurant with art display on walls, operating since the mid-2000s. Non smoking. Food is prepared from local and organic ingredients. Varied menu with a fusion of cuisines from curry and peanut satay to veggie sushi and tempeh shawarma. Majority of dishes can be made vegan. Limited sip n' snack happy hour menu 3-5pm Mon, Wed and Thur. Open Mon-Thu 11:30am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-10:00pm, Sun 11:30am-9:00pm. Closed Tue.


96 Reviews

First Review by juliotnunes

stefannibrasil

Points +16

Vegan
25 Nov 2023

Tasty sushi, amazing dessert

The food is on the pricey side but worth it. It tastes great. A few dishes are vegetarian only but most are vegan. Try the ube cheesecake, it’s delicious! Oh, and the shimeji tempura as well.

Pros: Mushroom bacon nigiri, Shimeji tempura , Ube cheesecake

Advertisement

realihaveadilemma

Points +466

Vegan
04 Nov 2023

Very Vegan Adaptable Menu

They were out of all their rice when we went, almost everything can be made vegan though. Got the brussel sprouts which are good but I wouldn't order it as an "meal" again, it's definitely more of a shared kind of plate. They were very nice though and would go back for something else.

Norm.D.

Points +339

Vegan
07 Oct 2023

Can’t wait to come back

Three of us came here for brunch recently; it was the first time for all and we left full and very happy. It was pretty quiet that day so the service was quick and unpretentious and the food was so good. We had the vegan egg benedict, the vegan pad thai, an amazing bowl (sorry, I forget the name) and vegan sushi. I had read mixed reviews about this place but I can’t say anything bad at all about our experience at The Coup. Will absolutely come back here next time we’re in Calgary.

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere , Tons of vegan options

jchongster

Points +636

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Wanted to like it but…

I came here at the recommendation of a former Calgarian. I really wanted to like it, but it ended up not being my favorite. While service was friendly enough, they were quite short-staffed = slow/disorganized. (The table next to me had to wait 30-min because the kitchen ran out of sushi rice.) Vegan items are not marked, and I only later found out some of the sushi had breading that was not vegan. The sushi itself was loosely assembled and fell apart readily. Maybe it was just an off night !

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-02

KimberlyWiebe

Points +571

Vegan
10 Jul 2023

Have been going here since it opened.

Since the original owners left it has been hit & miss here for food, taste & quality.
My long time favourite has been ruined.
All the good items are gone, food was horrible, service slow. Asked for hollandaise in the side, after 45 minute wait food came smothered in hollandaise.
The amazing quality of food, drinks and service is long gone. Will never go back.

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-07

Cons: Drag brunch -super loud not advertised on website, Slow poor service , Horrible quality food and menu

piglet_enthusiast

Points +386

Vegan
10 Jul 2023

Nice brunch option

Nice spot for brunch! I would recommend the brussel sprouts.

Cons: No soy milk offered for bevvies, A bit expensive

Forabetterworld

Points +11

Mostly Veg
26 May 2023

Pad Thai delight

I had the pad thai with tempeh, it was delicious, spiced to perfection, lots of veggies and textures, and the portion was perfect for dinner.

Pros: Flavour , Portion , Ambiance

Sealy9000

Points +54

Vegan
02 May 2023

New owners!

The last time I was at The Coup was in October 2022. It was surprisingly different and although it was good it just wasn’t what I was expecting based on past experiences, Today we popped by and had perfect meals. Vegan Comfort Food was what we wanted and what we got! Pad Thai was moderately spicy, wholesome and not too saucy or sweet. The Oyster (?) mushrooms really made the dish. Pineapple Fried Rice was also not overdone with salt or sugar, with generous cashews and lots of great veggies. It was a solid, satisfying meal that was healthy and tasty! The service was really friendly and warm too. A great experience.

NayeliAbrego

Points +1938

Vegan
14 Dec 2022

A must try

Disclaimer: I haven't been since 2017

I loved The Coup. On the pricey side, but it was a lovely brunch or night-out spot. The food was delicious and high quality, and I remember the Carrot Chai Cake was a real highlight. The overall experience and service were excellent.

Pros: Delicious, Great service, Many options

hetalshah24

Points +564

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

Cool place to grab some fusion vegetarian and vegan food

The location is perfect, ambience is fun and staff is really warm and attentive. Had the bun-me with soup. Definitely nothing that i've had before. It was very flavorful and spicy. Would definately go back to try more stuff.

Pros: Great location and ambience, Helpful staff, Different food

Cons: A little pricey

AelaHerbert

Points +63

Vegan
17 Feb 2022

Food has gotten worse since 2017

Although the service is always amazing, without a doubt the waiting staff is wonderful! I’ve found that the quality and standard of their food has gone down over the last four/five years. This also comes through in their menu, even though from what I can tell there hasn’t been a drastic change to the menu but the minor differences they did make don’t add anything new or exciting to look forward to when dining at The Coup. If you’re looking for a meal on the healthier side in a decent enviournment than The Coup is a good bet for you but if you’re looking for somthing exciting with bold, new, and original flavours I’d look somewhere else if I were you.

Pros: Staff are typically amazing , Decor/enviournment is welcoming

Cons: Same old food you’d expect, Can be a little pricey

XenaWarriorPrincess

Points +1760

Vegan
25 Dec 2021

Delicious

I got the chickpea kale Caesar salad for delivery. Not the most delicious Caesar salad I've had but it was decent. The presentation was beautiful and the portion size was huge and very filling. The treehouse sandwich is TO DIE FOR.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-24

AAnnette

Points +45

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

A Calgary classic!

Delicious meals that keep us coming back time and time again! Generous servings, great service, relatively affordable. Good vibe makes this a natural place to go out with our friends. Most dishes are vegan or can be easily made vegan so there are options for everyone!

Pros: Vegan donuts! , Good vibe , Great location

Cons: Could change up the menu

AaronStreeton

Points +778

Vegan
29 Mar 2021

Used to be great

We have gone to the Coup for years and it was one of our favourite places. Last time we went they changed their menu to cater to the trendy vegans. The food is losing some of the quality that made it great

Pros: Great cocktails, They care about the environment

Cons: Becoming too trendy

Jadeclarke

Points +77

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2021

TOO MANY INGREDIENTS

Honestly I have zero clue why this place is popular. It’s so bad. Why are there 175 ingredients in every dish? Look through those pictures and tell me you can find one with less than 10 ingredients in it lol. Everything I’ve ever tried from here, I always leave thinking, I could have made that a lot better. Menu too overwhelming. Who are the chefs?!

ThePrairieVegan

Points +359

Vegan
16 Sep 2020

Fun vegan food with some sophistication.

The Coup was probably my first truly plant based dining experience and I will love it forever for proving that vegan foodies could dine out. Great inventive cocktails, diverse and tasty menu. Great staff. The charcuterie board, and the dragon bowl are both must tries.

Pros: Lots of variety , Tasty cocktails , Great for a date

mandypanties

Points +18

Vegan
14 Mar 2020

Not the same

This has been my favourite restaurant in calgary for years, but it isn’t the same as it used to be. Some of my favourites (and I’m sure others favourites) are off the menu. Sweet potato fries gone, upstream burger gone, buck burger gone, there are multiple others that I can’t remember the names of. I get restaurants have to change their menu, and maybe I am the only one that ate these menu items, but maybe not. Anyways, there are still some great menu items and they’re pretty good about make substitutions to get you what you want (they made me an upstream burger). The staff has always been really good there.

fullerj17

Points +20

Vegan
10 Feb 2020

Changed over time

Nice atmosphere and people - but overtime the meals (in particular, the noodles and bowls) have decreased in size dramatically. I ate a $20 “meal” and I’m still hungry. Sadly, the portions and quality of the food has decreased over time - especially when you pay so much, you just expect more.

Pros: Drinks, Environment

Cons: Expensive, Small portions

ShannyVandy

Points +20

Vegan
17 Oct 2019

Lovely and Unique

Lovely restaurant with cozy ambience. Thoroughly enjoyed the menu - so interesting and dynamic! Hard to choose what to order with so many unique fabulous options.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Nothing I could identify.

purdiea

Points +53

Vegan
31 Aug 2019

Good food but long wait

Go early on a weekend as the place fills up and tables don't clear quickly. Otherwise good food, almost all vegan. Up charged for vegan feta substitute which had I realized I likely would have just skipped since I didn't taste the feta in my wrap anyway.

AngelaTack

Points +300

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

Super tasty

Great place, everything can be made vegan and it’s super tasty!

Pros: Everything can be made vegan, Unique cocktail list, Tasty

Cons: Almond feta is more expensive than dairy

Shawna88

Points +31

Vegan
30 Jul 2019

Glad I went

I was in Calgary for the day and thought I'd try out The Coup. It was great! I had the Satay Bowl, but there were many more things I would have liked to try.

Pros: Very attentive service, Lots of options

veganrivets

Points +125

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

A must for any trip to Calgary

Great brunch, huge beverage selection, nice ambience and good service. At a recent visit they were out of two of the best vegan brunch options.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly service

Cons: Can be crowded

Kiera

Points +22

Vegan
04 Jul 2019

Awful.

The restaurant's itself was very cute and nicely decorated. The staff was very nice and attentive... at first. Once we had our food we did not see our server. My meal (grilled eggplant dish) was not what I expected at all and was soggy, cold, slimy, and flavorless. The other people I was with both said their fritatas were bland. The server never came to check on us so I sat with my food in front of me while everyone else ate and they came around after all other meals were done for few minutes. If I could leave 1 star I would.

Pros: Some vegan options.

Cons: Bad service and bland food

FreyaT

Points +459

Vegan
28 Jun 2019

Good food but struggling to keep up

Some quite interesting options and beautiful presentation, our wait staff was great but unfortunately the kitchen seemed to be struggling with the workload - we waited half an hour for the starter and then a full hour after that for the mains. Main dishes were not as interesting as the starters either. Finished on a high note though - the desserts were decadent (& generous so save room!)

Pros: Friendly & helpful waitress team

Cons: Long wait for food

ChristinaKurylo

Points +44

Vegan
19 Jun 2019

Food was delicious and it had a great atmosphere.

I dropped in when visiting yyc and it definitely surpassed my expectations, it was busy and had a large menu with so many vegan options- everything we ordered was a home run!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great Atmosphere , Delicious food!

Cons: A bit Expensive

Vegan_hiker

Points +419

Vegan
26 May 2019

Ok Brunch

Good flavours, but didn’t live up to the hype for me.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Good sauces , ACV shots (the best!)

Cons: Hard inedible croissant , Slow kitchen , Expensive




This page has been viewed 24740 times.