The Cosy Club

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 11 reviews )

Find

College Chambers, 49 New St, Salisbury, England, SP1 2PH

Serves meat, vegan options available. UK restaurant chain with 1930s inspired interior. Offers a variety of foods from British classics and burgers to tapas and sandwiches. Separate vegan menu, upon request, offers choices like vegan breakfast, falafel sandwich, aubergine tagine, super food bowl, chocolate and orange torte. Kitchen stops 1 hour before closing. Note that the interior is furnished heavily in leather. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-22:00.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Mediterranean, Beer/Wine, British, Fusion, Non-veg

11 Reviews

First Review by HungryBiker

DaisyBee

Points +127

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

Amazing dedicated vegan menu and beautiful place

Haven't really got a bad thing to say about the cosy club. Yes it is a chain, but it's a really good one. They have a dedicated vegan menu with so many delicious options. Every time I've been I've eaten something different and every time it's been amazing. I also love the aesthetic of the place. Really nice furniture (although the artwork is a little hunty), nice lighting and lots of space. The hidden courtyard area is lovely in the summer and the staff have always been really nice too.

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Good prices, Lovely staff and venue

Cons: Hunting artwork

Professor

Points +249

Vegan
25 Nov 2019

Separate full vegan menu

There is a full vegan menu available with all types of options from tofu curry to beyond burger.
Staff are very considerate about allergies too.
The place is lovely but there are animal's heads on the walls, the guy said he thought they were real, which we found pretty horrible and disappointing.

Cons: Animal heads on the walls

celtic17

Points +20

Vegetarian
27 Dec 2018

Lovely meal.

visited between Christmas and new year. atmosphere was lovely.
good range of vegan and veggie items on the menu.
even the wine menu is marked.
plant based milk available, and a large vegan menu for food.
only down side in my eyes is the taxidermy on the walls, but after speaking to a bar tender found out they are all taken from old buildings as are the paintings, and would likely be in the bin by now if not on the wall. (in my eyes this is worse!)

Updated from previous review on 2018-12-27

Pros: friendly knowledgeable bar tenders, 100% vegan cocktail menu, tasty vegan curry

Cons: taxidermy as above., only one vegan dessert. (but it was Amazing)

Advertisement

NadeAngelGibson

Points +24

Vegan
25 Oct 2018

A let down

We used happy cow to find somewhere vegan friendly to eat. Staff at the Cosy Club weren’t welcoming or hospitable and after waiting 20 minutes without even being offered a drink we realised we wouldn’t have time to eat. Very poor service

Cons: Poor service, Hunting paraphernalia on walls

MarjoleinVM

Points +20

Vegan
10 Apr 2018

lots of options

We were a mixed company (3 omnis, 1 vegetarian, 1 vegan) looking for a last minute dinner because the restaurant at our hotel was full for the evening. We picked this place because it has everything a normal menu would have to please the omnis (fish&chips etc.) as well as having quite some vegan options. Great prices too. I had the "Thai veggie" (spicy quinoa burger) which was amazing.

Pros: quite some vegan options, not expensive, great food, friendly staff

Cons: leather couches, deer heads on the walls

Sabine11

Points +18

Mostly Veg
11 Jan 2018

great vegan breakfast

Vegan breakfast served till 5 pm, very tasty big mushroom and red pepper, decaf Clipper tea with soya milk, very nice and filling.

Pros: comfy seats, I think mostly imitation leather, ple, close to cathedral and shops , separate vegan menu

Cons: the dead stag’s head on the wall and hunting theme

RedAmaranth

Points +124

Vegan
25 Oct 2017

Chain restaurant with a seperate vegan menu

We came here for Saturday brunch and I was pleasantly surprised to see a long and interesting vegan menu (available on request).
The food itself was definitely of the bought-in and reheated variety though.

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Central location , Lovely staff

Cons: Decked out like a hunting lodge , Food is not of a very high standard

Sarah28

Points +26

Vegan
16 Sep 2017

Great food. Separate vegan menu!!

Over 12 vegan options (including breakfast and sandwiches). Would highly recommend. They do have animals heads on the wall tho 🙁

DylanJB

Points +91

Vegan
15 Sep 2017

Lives up to its name

I had the breakfast less the egg. It was a decent portion and tastes good. We found a cosy table at The Cosy Club and I was also impressed with the service quality from our waitron.

For fellow vegans: you'll find a few other vegan-friendly options here as well. They also offer soy milk.

Pros: Friendly service, Nice atmosphere , Good music

Cons: Dead animal heads on some of the walls

ConstanceEyre

Points +35

Vegan
15 Jul 2015

Good vegan choices - shame about the animal heads

The Cozy Club in Salisbury is in a beautiful old building. It is spacious and has a bar, restaurant and outdoor courtyard with view of the cathedral. There are several vegan options, I have tried the vegan breakfast, mushrooms on toast and the burger and enjoyed them all. There is some fascinating art on the walls and care has obviously been taken to make it a visually attractive and interesting place. However, I find all of the stuffed animal heads really offensive and have to chose my seat so I don't have to look at them.

Pros: Good choices, Off busy street, Lovely cocktails!

Cons: Stuffed animal heads on every wall

DylanJB

15 Sep 2017

Thanks for the heads-up about the mounted animal heads. It helps to be prepared for that.

HungryBiker

Points +141

Vegan
26 Oct 2014

GREAT ALL DAY VEGAN BREAKFAST

The building isn't on the usual tourist trail, to and from the cathedral and the gift shops so is seldom as full as it deserves to be
The food is excellent and was freshly prepared for me and what a feast arrived, as well as the usual mushrooms/tomatoes/fried potatoes and beans there came a generous helping of hummus, so big I thought it was scrambled egg, this was perfect spread on the generous slice of toast
A simple yet thoughtful variation on baked beans was to serve them in a small bowl, thus avoiding the soggy toast effect
The service was perfect, attentive without being a pain
They offer a vegan menu and will adapt any dish to your choice, gluten free is also an option
I'm now making this my regular stop in Salisbury, I've tried the others and this is the best

Pros: Dog free restaurant, they're welcome in the separa, Choice of food , Ample seating

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Salisbury Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Cosy Club closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3306 times.