Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has separate vegan menu with choices for all 3 courses. Open Mon-Sat 11:00-23:00, Sun 11:00-22:30.


Venue map for The Castle
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by MadameDuPom

AmandaLeeds

Points +15

Mostly Veg
28 Aug 2023

Amazing vegan food choices

So happy to find a pub that has a full vegan menu! Everything was very fresh, with good portions, and the apple crumble was divine. My partner would have liked the vegan burger to have come with chips, but that's the only issue with the menu. Yes it seemed a little expensive, but not when you factor in the high quality of the food.

Pros: Freshly prepared food with quality ingredients, Good range of vegan desserts

Cons: Slow service, No side option of chips with vegan burger

Advertisement

rebjxx

Points +608

Vegan
25 Sep 2022

Vegan options, very expensive

I love that this place offers a seperate vegan menu. The food is usually pretty good & the service standard. I would say that I'd prefer if they took some time to offer vegan chips. It's my biggest gripe when going somewhere that doesn't offer any form of potatoes as a side! Its also quite expensive.

Fattyted

Points +3251

Vegan
20 Feb 2022

Great vegan options

Nice place with several vegan options. Very tasty food and speedy service.

Pros: Several vegan options , Nice atmosphere , Friendly staff

HenryLunn

Points +577

Vegetarian
01 Aug 2021

Really good food and nice pub

Food was really lovely, has a seperate vegan menu with about 5 mains on which was nice. Starters and deserts also, all fresh cooked. No complaints at all

Pros: Lots of vegan stuff, nice staff

AgathaKnits

Points +16

Vegan
20 Aug 2020

Adequate food in nice setting

I came here after hearing rave reviews about the vegan menu. In reality there are two choices (so one star for each choice) a salad or a burger. I ordered the ‘Nourish Bowl’ which the menu promised was lentils, quinoa, chickpeas, avocado, cauliflower, carrot, mooli and watercress. In reality I was served cauliflower, carrot, mooli and watercress. Had to ask the waitress where the rest was, who did eventually come back with a handful of lentils. Pretty disappointing to get half a meal (and no avocado!) Generous portion of boiled cauliflower.

Pros: Lovely venue, Polite staff

Cons: Few options, Poor service

dianaw

Points +500

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

Great menu

Went here after seeing good reviews and just travelling back from nostell priory to Huddersfield highly recommend

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Dedicated menu, Nice interior and secure car park

Cons: Not that close to my home

dianaw

01 May 2022

Revisited this pub and very disappointed only one vegan option available slow service and expensive

JoanneTaylor

Points +20

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

Dinner & Drinks

What a great place, there is a separate vegan menu and at reasonable prices. There is a beer garden and the interior was nice, cosy and friendly. The staff were fantastic too. Definitely recommend.

RagandBoneBird

Points +258

Vegan
21 Jul 2019

Very comfortable

I arranged to meet my friend in Wakefield and went straight to the happy cow app to find somewhere new with good vegan options.

The castle came up straight away and is not that far from the city.

The decor is very much ‘bistro pub’ and was lovely, very comfortable. They have tables inside and out. We sat inside.

When the waitress brought our menus I asked for the vegan one which she then brought. The options were plentiful and all sounded really good. The only frustrating thing was they off ‘two courses for £12:50’ with certain options to pick from, none of these were the vegan options. Saying that the prices were still very reasonable but it would if being nice to have a couple included.

I chose the ‘spiced coconut curry’ for main and had the ‘pecan and treacle tart with custard’ for dessert. Both meals were really tasty and great to look at. The curry came with lots of sauce and fresh broccoli while to tart had a jug full of custard and the tart itself was very moreish.

The service was fantastic and all the staff very friendly.

We moved into the bar area after our meal and had cups of tea sat in big comfy chairs.

I will definitely be returning to try the rest of the vegan options they offer and would recommend others to do the same.

Pros: Separate vegan menu , Choices of starters, mains, desserts and sides, Warm dessert option

Cons: Vegan options were not part of the meal offer

KathleenVVash

Points +28

Vegan
01 Jul 2019

Impressed

Staff were knowledgeable about vegan options, lovely atmosphere and food was very flavourful. Coming back after my graduation! Would have rated 5 stars but doesn't have the option as it is not a fully vegan place.

Pros: Vegan menu, relaxed atmosphere

Cons: Nothing

Elliebecomesthedream

Points +184

Vegan
03 Jun 2018

Extensive vegan menu

This place has several vegan options for starter, main, sides and dessert. The staff were knowledgeable on what was vegan and even offered to make vegan roasties and gravy to go with the vegetable tart as it was Sunday lunch time.

The dessert was absolutely delicious, I had chocolate tart and it was the best I've ever eaten!

Pros: extensive vegan menu, great staff, reasonable pric

MadameDuPom

Points +56

Vegan
26 Jan 2018

Best Meal for a Long Time!

Came here for an anniversary dinner. First of all, the ambience and atmosphere is fantastic! So cosy and welcoming.

Their vegan menu has plenty of choice! I had the wholefood salad to start (best salad ever!), spinach burger for main, and chocolate tart for dessert. All were absolutely delicious! The food is fresh and great quality, and the waiters know the vegan options. Highly recommend!

Pros: Great vegan food, Warm and welcoming atmosphere , Good value for the quality

Cons: None!




This page has been viewed 1738 times.