Vegan
Organic
Western
Take-out
Gluten-free
Breakfast

Vegan cafe serving breakfast, lunch, and desserts with a wide selection of organic coffee, tea, and herbal drinks. Breakfast items include bagels, tofu scramble, and oats. Lunch includes sandwiches and dinner plates made with jackfruit, tofu, and mock meats. Gluten free options, locally sourced and organic. Buy herbs, teas, and spices in bulk. Take out only during pandemic. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-2:00pm. Closed Sat-Sun.


Venue map for The Cardinal Herbs Teas and Spices
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by EvaKoenig

Jivaka

Points +38

Vegan
20 Feb 2024

Great food and vibe

Stopped for lunch and tea. Wonderful tofu scramble and side salad with mixed greens, beets, papaya and Mac nut cheese. A must stop if on the Hamakua coast.

Pros: Tofu scramble, Historic building, Gracious hostesses

Advertisement

StaceyLWood

Points +68

Vegan
19 Feb 2024

Lovely

Owner is just lovely, comfy place with beautiful view to enjoy fresh health delicious food. She's so knowledgeable about the herbs and health benefits. The coffee is excellent and the papaya boat is just to good to share.

Yo5h

Points +271

Vegetarian
11 Jan 2024

Wonderful lunch stop

Cute tea house with a huge selection of teas and a sizable lunch menu. Wished I wasn't meeting my family and could have just hung out with a book sipping tea.

I got the jackfruit plate with the gluten free bread. Bread comes on the side in s basket and the plate has some salad, avocado, main dish and a side (hummus or guacamole, I forget if there were other choices). There's a bonus lovely view of the sea from the outdoor tables. Only two parking spots tho so I parked on the side of the road in front of the dentist and walked the Kula ways down the hill.

Pros: All vegan, Tasty and beautifully presented, Gluten free options!, Sea view and very nice proprietor

cwarrick1

Points +1489

Vegan
09 Nov 2023

Amazing lunch

What everyone else has said, don’t be in a hurry. This is a one woman show and well worth the wait. We shared the scrambled tofu sandwich on sourdough. Great! Awesome!! And we also shared the chik’n mushroom sandwich on sourdough (I think I ordered whole wheat, but whatever). Again knocked it out of the park. Small, but mighty!!

Pros: Ambience, Menu

Cons: Remote, but worth it!!

brandeexv

Points +383

Vegan
31 May 2023

So cute

This place is adorable, the menu has a good variety. Really good breakfast sandwich!

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
28 Dec 2022

Incredible Cute Cafe

This has become my favorite spot to stop at when we’re on the Big Island. Very cozy and run by lovely people. My favorites are the tofu scramble sandwich along with the toasty with Pesto and Cheese. I’d also highly recommend ordering a Hot Cacao! Prices are all very reasonable, food is filling, and the tea selection is superb.

ShiraS

Points +28

Vegan
10 Sep 2022

Found by chance: Loved it!

The food was fresh and delicious.

Pros: Fresh, Made to order, Delicious

kissinkittens

Points +24

Vegan
26 Feb 2022

Delicious!

We ordered a couple of sandwiches and two drinks! The Tofu Scramble Sandwich and the Chikn' baby porto sandwiches were amazing and I loved my Cold Coconut Lemonade.

Pros: Awesome vegan options , Great quality ingredients , Friendly owners

jaredl

Points +18

Vegan
24 Jul 2021

Organic Cafe, Relaxing Vibes, Great View

I went with a group of five (three vegan, two omnivore) - everyone enjoyed the experience. We each had a couple of the coffee/tea drinks, multiple breakfast items, and two of the bagel sandwiches. It was all excellent quality. Favorites were the papaya boat and tofu scramble bagel. Great coffee. Friendly owners. There was a relaxed pace, so don’t come in a hurry. But, while you wait, it’s fun to look at the art, herbs, spices, and teas offered. Fun games to play and a beautiful view of the ocean. Our favorite restaurant during an 8 day trip to the area

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-24


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-24


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-24

Pros: All vegan, Variety of drinks and eats, Organic, great taste

RainaMahealaniDale

Points +132

Vegan
04 Jun 2021

Spices, Sandwiches & Sweets

The Cardinal is a great place for tasty sandwiches and mouth-watering desserts. They also have an extensive selection of bulk herbs, spices and teas. Bob & Yvonne (co-owners) are lovely sweet people and always make me feel welcomed and loved.

Pros: Comfortable outdoor seating , View of the ocean

Melaz

Points +241

Vegan
10 Mar 2021

Yummy and satisfying

A sweet and welcoming cafe. I tried the porta sandwich, the shrimp sandwich and a cannoli

Pros: Affordable, Tasty, Variety

SouthernmostVegan

Points +1554

Vegan
05 Feb 2021

Oh. My. God.

I can't believe how amazing their food is and how nice they were. We showed up at 1pm, not realizing they close at 1pm, and they were happy to serve us. We had a hot Dandelion "coffee" which is a tea but tastes like weak coffee, and I mean that in the best way. It was delicious.

We also ordered 2 plates and a dessert: the Jack Tuna Plate, the Root Shrimp Plate, and the Orange Macadamia Slice. Everything was tasty. The Jack Tuna was lemony and yummy. The shrimp kinda freaked me out because the consistency was very shrimp-like (which I haven't eaten in nearly 30 years). Even the side salads were good! Can't wait to go back!

LauraMarkham(fruitsn

Points +46

Vegan
31 Jan 2020

You must visit!!!

This vegan cafe, herb, tea, and spice store offers the most delicious freshly brewed teas by the owner who is an herbalist and had so much knowledge to share. They offer amazing herbs and spices in bulk, so bring your jars! Their food menu is amazing, offering local options such as vegan Macadamia nut cheese and so many sugar free, vegan, and gluten free desserts. Thank you so much!!

EvaKoenig

Points +152

Vegan
22 Nov 2019

Vegan cafe with bulk teas and herbs, gifts, cute atmosphere and good prices.

Nice place to stop for a small lunch, coffee, tea, sweets, good vibes. If Emilie’s desserts are available don’t leave without one!

Pros: 100%vegan, A lot of local, organic products , Cheap especially for specialty coffee/tea




This page has been viewed 2117 times.