• The Burger Stand

  • (7)
    2
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has a vegetarian section on menu, but it's reported that the kitchen uses the same cutlery, cookware, and grill as the meat stuff. Ask and specify. Relocated from 1601 SW Lane St. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-9:00pm, Sun 11:00am-7:00pm.


Venue map for The Burger Stand
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by cwarrick1

lordofthestrings86

Points +588

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Burger Stand Fan

My favorite restaurant in Topeka! Three different vegan burgers, black bean, falafel, and Impossible. All them are great as well as the Cajun or sweet potato fries. Have been coming here for years, service is always quite good.
Be sure to check their Facebook or website for seasonal menu items. There is usually at least one or two that are vegan or vegan option and they’re always good.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-12

Pros: House made sauces, Variety of burgers & fries, Great beer selection

Cons: Vegan hamburger bun is $2 extra, Fried breadings contain dairy

Advertisement

VeganBae

Points +15

Vegetarian
19 May 2019

Burgers options

The Burgers are wonderful and i was very shocked when i ate the impossible Burger. I'm planning on trying the Black bean. I will update soon.

Pros: Very nice. You can request vegan.

Cons: Some buns are vegan but some of not

peachyvegan

Points +429

Vegan
02 Aug 2018

Limited But Good

Had low expectations after reading reviews but was pleasantly surprised. They had three “can be made vegan” burger options including the Impossible Burger. This location doesn’t have vegan buns, you need to ask for the gluten free bun (which is a little dry but serves it’s purpose).

lizeriz

Points +31

Vegan
29 Jun 2017

Good black bean patty and fries, but no buns

Used to go here a lot for the black bean patty, Topeka-wise there's not a lot of options for a vegan burger. Unfortunately, the buns are not vegan except for the gluten-free buns (that is a $2 charge!!), but they fall apart and do not taste good. I always add avocado to the burger, goes well with black beans and the salsa. Might try a burger salad next time. I do enjoy their cocoa ketchup and cajun fries.

Pros: Black Bean burger is decent, Cajun fries, cocoa ketchup and pickle spears! , Fun atmosphere with ping pong tables

Cons: Charge extra for gluten-free bun that falls apart, Not enough variety

KellyMcG

Points +32

Vegan
26 Feb 2017

Disappointing--Lawrence location is much more vegan-friendly

Tried to go here since the Lawrence Burger Stand is so vegan-friendly. Found that they don't have the same vegan veggie burger options as in Lawrence, and they also don't have vegan buns. They didn't appear to have anything that was truly vegan-friendly.

Pros: None--wound up not eating anything here

Cons: No vegan options, Different menu from Lawrence location

jbkm

Points +84

Vegan
02 Nov 2015

dissapointing

Mainly disappointing because it could be so much better. The veggie patties are interesting, but too crumbly. The burgers fall apart pretty badly. There isn't anything creamy to put on your burger thats vegan apart from avocado, which they sometimes charge extra for and sometimes don't. The buns aren't vegan, except for the gluten free bun, which is pretty gross, also very crumbly, and also costs extra (and has frequently been served to me cold). If the place wasn't so pricey, I would still go, but as it stands I'll only go with others who are already going and then only order the cajun fries (which are pretty good) and a beer. The burgers just aren't worth the price when made vegan, which is really a shame, because it would take so little to make them both vegan and tasty.

Pros: multiple types of veggie burgers, cajun fries, nice atmosphere, service, and beers

Cons: no decent vegan bun, vegan options are few and pricey, crumbly burgers

cwarrick1

Points +1489

Vegan
08 Mar 2014

Topeka treasure

Really nice vegan options. You will have to ask to have no sauce or cheese. Make sure you check out the sauces to the left of the grill.

Pros: great bar, pickled cauliflower

Cons: no true vegan menu




This page has been viewed 3287 times.