24
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub restaurant with separate vegan menu. Dishes offered include items like crispy seitan burger, buffalo wrap, avocado toast, salad, American style pancakes, and vegan popcorn chickn. Dog friendly. Open Mon-Thu 12:00-00:00, Fri 12:00-01:00, Sat 11:00-01:00, Sun 11:00-23:00. Kitchen open until 10pm Mon-Sat, & 8pm Sun.


Venue map for The Birds
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by beckylyk

victisch1

Points +374

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Great pub

Always good vegan options but service can take ages and pudding (apple crumble) was inedible, and microwaved. The young vegans pies had run out so we had the vegan wellington. It was ok but tasted like a load of swede in pastry. Roast veg and trimmings were the best bit.

Pros: Plenty of choice , Fab interior , Friendly staff

Cons: Service is patchy

Advertisement

mcld

Points +860

Vegetarian
06 Sep 2020

Great burgers in a very nice pub garden

A friend recommended this place to us, and it was great. Spacious place, with a relaxed atmosphere both inside and in the outdoor beer garden at the back, and friendly staff. We had two of the burgers, and they were both very good - generous and tasty, really good texture on the burgers themselves.

The menu has 5 burgers (one of them is meaty, shoved at the endπŸ˜‰- and also 5 brunches, with the meaty one shoved at the end - which we think is a great way to organise an omni pub menu!

livjns

Points +113

Vegan
30 Jul 2020

Sunday roast πŸ’–

We went for the Sunday roast and it was so delicious! Would definitely recommend for getting your roast fix. Their normal menu looks great, will be back to try it

backtoback

Points +291

Vegan
29 Apr 2020

Rubbish

Went on a 50 percent off night. Only gf options were fries. Fries were basic, sauces were average and all my mates who had burgers said they were bland.

ChristieGoyette

Points +185

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Would give it 5 stars if I could 😊

Can only give 4 stars because The Birds isn’t fully vegetarian. But the menu is 50% vegan with some delicious options! We visited during Veganuary when vegan food was 50% off Mon-Wed... two burgers and a side of mac and cheese for Β£10 total! All the food was great but especially the MD burger - a fried chicken-style seitan burger topped with mac and cheese. One of the best burgers I’ve had in London! The pub also has a cool atmosphere and a good selection of beers and ciders.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Affordable

CowsLikePuppyDogs

Points +1093

Vegan
22 Nov 2019

Pretty Good!

Would definitely visit here again. We tried the beefless burger, MD burger and cauliflower wings. The cauli wings were epic, definitely order those! Burgers were also quite good. The only gripe I had was the staff didn't know which IPA were vegan and the boards don't list this either. They had an Oatmeal IPA so I took my chance with that.

Pros: Decent food at a reasonable price

Cons: It's not clear which IPA beers on menu are vegan

jordanelliott

Points +231

Vegan
05 Aug 2019

Delicious chickn’ and beer

Such amazing vegan burgers at this place. Cauliflower is also to die for. Not so impressed with the mac and cheese but this place is a gem. Lovely staff and outdoor seating. Pub quizzes and bottomless brunches yayy!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , 50% off food Mon-Wed, Nice staff

Imlh1807

Points +95

Vegetarian
26 Jul 2019

Amazing

The dirty fries and cauliflower chickn! So good

RSSC

Points +113

Vegan
23 Jun 2019

Good vegan junk food. Half price offer when we went too.

Interesting pub with good choice on menu.

VeganMiri

Points +106

Vegan
22 Apr 2019

Great place to work or study, good food

I came here after a recommendation and was not disappointed. Large selection of vegan dishes, great atmosphere and friendly staff. I ordered bottomless drinks - endless refills of coffee or tea from 9 am till 6 pm. Again not disappointed, as the staff comes over every hour to see if I need a refill. For lunch I ordered the chikenish burger and enjoyed it. It was just the right size for me, and filled with flavor. Highly recommend.

Pros: Veriaty of vegan options, bottomless soft drinks,

schmoogie7

Points +58

Vegan
09 Mar 2019

AMAZING, no token vegan meals here

I LOVE this place and can see it going fully vegan soon. The staff are so lovely. I had to ask to meet the chef as I was so impressed with the food, he has a lot of passion for vegan food. He said he didn't want to make some rubbish token meals for vegans, well he certainly hasn't. What a great attitude. It puts lots of vegan places to shame presentation and flavour wise. It's so wonderful to see somewhere smashing stereotypes with awesome tasting food. I commend their passion and having a mostly vegan menu. It's a shame it's been given one bad review and didn't even eat there? Sick of vegans trashing places then complain they have no options locally. It does a real disservice to the cause and eating experience for others. Every single time I've been the food has been supremely delicious. So I just can't fathom it being bad. I'm very fussy and used to review vegan restaurants for a massive vegan group. And I can't get enough of this place. I have taken some non vegan family members to try and they loved it too. Highly recommend it and take your friends, yum. I wish I could award this place 5 stars

Updated from previous review on 2019-03-09

Pros: Extensive menu with wonderful flavours , Great staff , Lovely atmosphere

Cons: Only con would be it isn't fully vegan yet

dammitjerry

Points +132

Vegan
19 Jan 2019

Lovely venue, great food

Vegan options were inspired and tasty, not the average pub fare. Shame that not more of the options were gluten free, but staff were happy to help me find something suitable. Definitely recommend! Interior is also super cool.

KarenWY

Points +72

Vegan
04 Nov 2018

Great vegan-friendly find

Good little vegan menu, with a few burgers and some smaller dishes. I tried the mac n cheese, the cauliflower tempura and the chickenish popcorn. Loved it. Loved the birdsong in the ladies too. Also tried the Β£2.50 homemade Snickers bar between two of us. Sweeeeeeet.

small_trees

Points +402

Vegan
22 Oct 2018

Amazing

This place really goes the extra mile when it comes to vegan 'options'. There's four vegan mains as well as sides and desserts. They also have sweet snacks like vegan snickers and crunchie bars for sale on the bar. Importantly they also have a Sunday lunch with TWO vegan options, AND VEGAN YORKSHIRE PUDDINGS. Really such a great place for vegans. If you go on Sunday ALWAYS get the cauliflower cheese side dish - it's incredible.

madylaw

Points +44

Vegan
08 Sep 2018

Lovely!

Really cute little pub with some good vegan options

Saregreenbean

Points +86

Vegetarian
30 Aug 2018

Brilliant vegan pub/ great beers/ friendly staff/ amazing pub quiz

Yum! Super delicious vegan food! The chicken-ish burger is so so good (if you're a fan of temple of seitan or the mfc at club mexicana you HAVE to try this), super crispy batter and lovely fakon, gherkins etc. Loaded fries come with chilies, onions, fakon and burger sauce, nice big portion enough for 2 or 3 people. The mac and cheese was very tasty, a really deep and rich flavour. I cant eat peanuts but they had big homemade snickers bars that looked brilliant.

We went on a Wednesday and there was a brilliant pub quiz on. Well thought out and really good fun with a super friendly host. Only Β£2 entry as well.

I wanted to rate this 5 stars but Happy Cow will only allow this for fully vegan places (there is a small selection of about 3 meat products)

Pros: Brilliantly tasty food , Brilliantly tasty food , Brilliantly tasty food

beckylyk

Points +102

Vegan
26 Jul 2018

Literally amazing

I used to love this pub because a) amazing beer, and b) best pub quiz I’ve ever been to every Wednesday. And now they have launched an AMAZING vegan menu and I might never leave. The popcorn chicken and the dip (oh, the dip!) is incredible, the mac and cheese with bacon bits is insane and the dirty fries - yum! All the beers are labelled vegan, it’s not overpriced, portions are great and the staff are lovely. They also vegan chocolate which I’ve yet to try and a vegan roast. All in all - LOVE this place.




This page has been viewed 2345 times.