Lacto
Ovo
Western
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Asian
European
Honey
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hotel, restaurant and bar. Offers a lot vegetarian dishes, some of which are also are vegan. All Asian foods like curry, fried rice and fried noodles can be made vegan with tofu. Located at the beach. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-12:00am.


Venue map for The Big Easy
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by JadeBrice

OliviaAnstey

Points +84

Vegan
04 Oct 2023

Not very flavoursome

A few vegan options which are of good price on the island but not very tasty.
Curry was very watered down with little flavour.

Advertisement

BenBaumtomate

Points +459

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

Very limited options

Update 10.06.23: they have a new chef and also changed the menu. there are almost no more vegan options, vegetarian and vegan dishes are no longer labeled on the menu.

---

Nice atmosphere. Unfortunately, actually few vegan options. Very good point: the staff understand well about veganism. They point out that the fries are made in the same fryer with the meat, and they inform about it. I showed them several pictures from HappyCow reviews, the Buddha Bowl for example is not vegan because of the mayonnaise. Nothing is vegan by standard and there are only 2-3 options which can be veganized. Although the staff is very very friendly and knowledgeable about vegan, I don't understand the listing at HappyCow, the ordering options are extremely limited at the moment. Anyway, it's inexpensive and a great spott for backpackers,...

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-15

Pros: staff understand about veganism , good atmosphere, very friendly staff, inexpensive

Cons: Very limited vegan options

WrenLangford

Points +84

Vegan
19 May 2023

Beach bar

Some vegan option- but not labelled clearly. Food tasted good, but arrived suspiciously quick!

TomElmer

Points +42

Vegetarian
21 Apr 2023

Beach bar and restaurant

A few vegan options - food came out suspiciously quickly.

Pros: Western and local dishes

Cons: A bit too western

claraponcee

Points +22

Vegan
02 Feb 2023

Nice vegan options

Budha bowl, vegan burger and breakfast easily convert to vegan.

CamilaSilvaL

Points +5810

Vegan
31 Oct 2022

Nothing is vegan by default!

I tried the Buddha bowl and the red Thai curry. The Buddha bowl is amazing, but you have to ask for it to be vegan, don’t trust the online menu. The red thai curry is REALLY spicy so beware of that, still delicious tho. The burger (without burger sauce) is super yummy. Unhelpful kitchen staff (and kinda rude).

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-29

mat_r28

Points +1686

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Good food but awkward staff

None of the food is vegan so you have to ask for special requirements, the buddha bowl needs to be without the dressing, curry with no cream, just coconut milk etc. the food is very tasty and the portions are good, but the staff can be a bit difficult.

Lenii_Hu

Points +393

Vegan
28 Oct 2022

Good vegan options

Hostel with plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. I had the curry and it was a big portion and really delicious.

Pros: Big portion , Good prices, Plenty of options

RunEatWorld

Points +2898

Vegan
31 Jul 2022

Good location on the beach

Many veg options but make sure you specify vegan, as many items have dairy or eggs. Food was good, happy hour was great, music at night.

Footprints.of.zoe

Points +222

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2022

Lots of veggie options!

The Big Easy hostel at Koh Rong Samloem is open. Spent the past 4 days here and ate all my meals here because of the great vegetarian options and most can be made vegan! It’s a very English menu with some Asian and Cambodian options too!

Vegan meals I tried:
Fruit Bowl
Smoothie Bowl
Buddha Bowl (this was 100% my fav meal!!!!)
Fried Veg Noodles with tofu

Veggo meals I tried:
Vegetarian Big Breakfast (came with vegetarian sausages, baked beans, toast, mushrooms, roast tomato and eggs - can make vegan without eggs)
Veggie Burger with Chips (can make vegan without the burger sauce)
Chips and Dips (BBQ sauce, sriracha mayo, honey mustard - can make vegan )
Macaroni & cheese (this was amazing)
Cauliflower bites (can make vegan without the dip)
Smashed Avocado on toast with eggs and tomatoes (wouldn’t recommend this one, avo was disappointing as it was a dark green mixture)

The food was really good here and averaged $3-$4 a meal, with larger meals being up to $6.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-30

Pros: Lots of vegetarian & vegan options, Good food!!! , Reasonably priced

Cons: Music was a bit loud and crap to be honest lol

MarthaAlexander

Points +108

Vegan
10 Mar 2020

Great

The location is perfect, right on the beach with the sea meters away. We had a lovely Australian guy serve us. We both had the vegan chilli which was very tasy

Pros: Good food , Great location, Lovely service

Cons: Not many vegan options

JadeBrice

Points +703

Vegan
05 Mar 2020

Few vegan options

There’s mostly Asian dishes that can be made vegan with coconut milk tofu and veg.

When I was clarifying about the menu the young woman that served me gritted her teeth and said “ I’ve already told you” disgusting customer service.

Pros: Vegan options , Beach view

Cons: Rude staff




This page has been viewed 1851 times.