• The Beech Cafe

  • (22)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Organic
British
Catering
Fusion

Part of the Sustainability Centre, a 55 acre site which holds courses and events related to sustainable living and renewable energy, as well as offering overnight tipi accommodation and natural burials. Sample menu items such as ploughmans, chickpea and spinach curry, banana-walnut loaf, carrot cake, and flapjacks along with coffee and tea. Open Thu-Sun 10:00-15:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for The Beech Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by gingerlass

Fi777

Points +17

Vegetarian
11 May 2023

Tasty vegan food at great price

All excellent

Advertisement

AndrewVe

Points +59

Vegan
03 Apr 2023

Modest but delicious

The taste is what you'd expect from a 5 star restaurant, but the low key setting, and great value for money makes for a modest experience that we keep coming back for! Everything tastes so fresh - even the simple side salad is unique and tasty.

Only wish they would open a restaurant alongside this cafe! Current location is perfect for walkers, cyclist or light lunch.

Pros: Simple yet delicious , Colourful and tasty , Homemade yet professional

Cons: Short service windows, Cafe interior could be updated

АмирГрин

Points +30

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

Wow, price quality ratio is through the roof!

The taste of food is top class. Definitely coming back when hiking in area

Pros: Vegan options, Prices

Akayashi

Points +34

Vegan
17 Sep 2022

The Sustainability Centre

Absolutely lovely place to visit. It has onsite courses, accommodations, natural burial site and a delightful cafe.

Pros: Lots of Vegan Options, Allergens Labeled Clearly , Friendly Staff

Cons: Hard to get too unless you drive.

debvegan

Points +168

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

Delicious lunch.

I can’t recommend this amazing cafe more highly. The food is delicious and it’s got a lovely atmosphere. Will be back soon! The surroundings are beautiful 🌳🌳

LouiseJayneSimpson

Points +64

Vegan
11 Feb 2022

home-cooked & hearty food

hidden gem, surrounded by beautiful grounds so worth a visit. home-cooked and hearty food made with love. most things are vegan or can be made vegan.

Pros: lots of vegan options or can be made vegan, good value , home cooked

suazzles

Points +52

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Fully vegetarian restaurant! Deserves 5* but the app wont allow

Amazing food, service and drinks! Set in a sustainability centre, was great for a walk around the grounds afterwards

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Dog friendly, Great service

LilacHippy

30 Aug 2022

Hi, I think you wrote your review on the wrong venue. I have corrected this and upgraded your review. :)

TrevorWeeks

Points +582

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

So relaxing

Lovely place in the middle of nowhere. Not the fastest of service but very chilled out and relaxing that we didn't mind. The taste was so good and so wholesome.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-21

Pros: Great Taste, Good price, Very chilled out

Cons: Limited menu, Slow service

AllisonHill

Points +138

Vegan
21 Oct 2020

Excellent food

We have had lunch here a few times. The food is excellent and the specials board changes keeping a good variety. Lots of vegan options, vegan cake and even vegan ice cream.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Vegan cakes , Vegan ice cream

VeganFeet

Points +61

Vegan
22 Aug 2020

Spot on.

The quality of food was outstanding and clearly made with passion! Menu choice was great for vegans, well priced, perfect portion size, and full of flavour. (They could easily charge more!)

Pros: Lots of vegan option , Great quality , Very resonantly priced

Cons: No oat milk for coffee , I wish it was also a restaurant

Centaursaurus

Points +60

Vegan
20 Aug 2020

Great little cafe in the woods!

A veggie cafe that can do any of the menu items as a vegan option! We had the black bean quesadillas and the beetroot burger. Both were excellently presented and delicious. We'll be back!

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: None

Sukiloo

Points +92

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

Lovely place

I just love this place and the food is great but last time we visited there were ladybugs in the eating area. I'm told it's going to be revamped I hope they keep the same menu for the vegan options.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: None

ChristelleRoberts

Points +15

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2019

Little Gem

Gorgeous healthy vegan options 👌🏽

starcide

Points +450

Vegan
30 May 2019

Good spot

This is a nice little cafe at the sustainability centre which is located on the South Downs Way. Would really recommend staying there or stopping off here on a walk.

There isn't the hugest range but there were a good few vegan mains and cakes. Both were very tasty and quite home style which i enjoy. We tried the thai style peanut butter curry(sort of a Massaman) with rice. The rice had some nice touches like added raisins, almonds and coconut which really added to the dish.

Mellybobble

Points +299

Vegan
05 Aug 2018

Hidden gem!

First visit yesterday, nothing glamorous but who cares when the food is this good?! Had the Vegan quesadilla, tortilla chips & salad, and it was so delicious, must have remarked after every mouthful how much I enjoyed it! Great walk afterwards too, such a lovely area to explore. This place needs to be supported!

Pros: All veggie dishes can be made vegan, Vegan icecream & cakes available, Excellent value for money

Cons: Wish we knew about it sooner ;-)

RainbowMama

Points +17

Mostly Veg
28 Nov 2017

Amazing Food!

A vegetarian cafe with vegan options for almost every single meal and gluten free options too.
Absolutely beautiful location with a lovely walk through the woods and a new mud kitchen for the kids!
We've gone nearly every week over the last 10 months and the menu is changed up every week! I've never once been disappointed with my food and the staff are very helpful and willing to adapt the salads/wraps/sandwiches etc for intolerances and allergies. Best part is the cakes are all vegan and AMAZING!

Pros: Nearly all food is vegan/has a vegan option, Reasonably priced, Regularly updated menu

Cons: No recycling bin even though all takeaway cups etc

HilB

Points +258

Vegan
13 Aug 2017

Delicious fresh salad bowl - and great cake!

I was looking for something fresh and vegetarian on the way home from Portsmouth, and Happy Cow lead me to the Beech Cafe, which is open on Sundays til 3pm. (I find Sundays especially hard to find anywhere to eat on the road as so many pubs focus on a Sunday roast.) There were 5 or 6 hot choices including soup, a couple of salads, and sandwiches. I opted for the olive, avocado and pepper salad which was really delicious - a huge bowl full of sundried tomatoes and lots of interesting veg. Home made carrot cake for pud, plus a cup of tea with soya milk made my idea of a perfect Sunday lunch. Part of the Sustainability Centre which looks interesting with courses and projects.

Gupalsmurthpadacal

Points +86

Vegan
07 May 2016

decent little cafe in a beautiful setting

The beech cafe is located near the from on the substainabilty center. They have various vegan options including hot and cold food. they also have a range of vegan cakes and atleast 2 vegan ice cream options these are usually coconut based. Would be nice to see some form of vegan panini on the menus but generally they do a good job.

Pros: fair amount of vegan options and a lovely outdoor

Cons: a sandwich will set you back 4.50 and a wrap or pa

yorkshirevegan

Points +34

Vegan
07 May 2014

Beech cafe review

This is a small but excellent cafe situated between Clanfield and Petersfield, and located on the South Downs Way. They only open for lunches but the choice is good. There are always plenty of vegan options, both light snacks, main meals and cakes. Their food is delicious and they have a great range of cakes and hot and cold drinks.
You can sit in or out depending on the weather, staff are friendly and service is excellent.
They now open 7 days a week.

Pros: Nice food, Beautiful loction, Choice e vegan dishes

Cons: Location is a bit out of the way

ELyzab

Points +85

Vegan
02 Mar 2013

Fabulous find - worth a visit

There are not very many vegan friendly places in the Portsmouth area so I was delighted to find this one posted on Happy Cow.
We found a trnaquil setting and a quiet cafe with a menu of fresh dishes both vegetarian and vegan. I had a mushroom and leek tart (vegan) which came with salad and artisan bread. It was scrumptious - the tart was delicious, the salad marinated to perfection with seeds on the top and the bread lovely.
To follow up I had to have one of the two vegan cakes, plumping for the deliciously moist carrot cake. My non-vegan partner had the vegetarian mocha cake which was just as good apparantly.
There was a little wait for the main course as there was only one girl working whilst we were there, but this was not horrendous and the food more than compensated. Cake and drinks were served immediately.
I recommend The Beech Cafe and I will be back whenever I am in the area. The food was great and the prices very reasonable.
Winter opening hours posted on the door were Monday to Sunday 10 - 3 which is different to what is on this website and the Sustainability Centre website.

Pros: Great food, Vegans catered for, Tranquil

Cons: Little bit of a wait

j8mesh

Points +31

Vegan
14 Apr 2012

Well worth a visit

A little of oasis for a vegetarian. Extremely good value for money. There is always a vegan main meal option, and most of the cakes are vegan!
Updated from previous review on Saturday April 14, 2012

gingerlass

Points +23

Vegetarian
06 May 2011

Amazing Vegan Cake!

This is a hidden gem in the Hampshire country side - well worth a visit if you are in the area - not just for the outstanding and reasonably priced food at the cafe but also for the ground of the Sustainability Centre itself.

I recommend the amazing vegan cakes they have on offer and there are always plenty of them!

Pros: Price, Location, Friendly

Cons: Not open 7 days




This page has been viewed 6428 times.