Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Organic
Buffet
Take-out

Vegetarian restaurant attached to a B&B. All items on the menu are offered as vegan versions. Open Tue-Sat 17:30-22:30. Closes winter months.


Venue map for The Bean Inn
© OpenStreetMap contributors

33 Reviews

First Review by Malarki

JackyDeReviere

Points +2290

Vegan
25 Oct 2023

One of the best in Cornwall

Very tasty vegan menu!
During our trip through Cornwall this was one of the culinary highlights, very tasty dishes with wine from the region.
Highly recommended!

Pros: Very tasty vegan dishes on the menu, Good price/quality ratio, Cosy atmosphere - Friendly staff

Advertisement

StephanieMurphy

Points +13

Vegetarian
05 Oct 2023

Delicious, well presented meals

Went on a recommendation and wasn’t disappointed. The food was very tasty and well presented with a choice of vegetarian and vegan options. The staff were just amazing and I would return in an instant!

Pros: Well cooked, thoughtful meals, Lovely staff, Tasteful, arty restaurant

Rotten_Parsnip

Points +16

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Wholesome food

The food was great! I especially enjoyed the pate. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

The cafe is an excellent option if you're in the area. The only criticism I could have is £8 for all starters and £16 for mains might be slightly too dear.

Pros: Fully vegan/vegetarian menu, Service, Quality

Cons: Dearer than expected

Reefslack

Points +54

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Lovely place and lovely food

Great food, everything can be made vegan and a lovely atmosphere. Will definitely be coming again to try the rest of the menu. The place has a nice atmosphere with lots of cool art, there are holiday apartments above the restaurant so would be a great place to stay if you want to be close to a vegan/ veggie restaurant

Pros: lots of vegan options , reasonably priced , lovely atmosphere and building

GraceSnow

Points +674

Vegetarian
25 Oct 2022

Delicious as always

Last minute decision to visit before they close for the winter and so glad we did! A beautiful meal with immaculate service and stunning surroundings.

Next time we will make sure to book ahead so we can choose from the full menu

PabloSchrödinger

Points +74

Vegan
25 Oct 2022

The food here is incredible

The food here is really tasty, made with locally sourced ingredients and the service is excellent. Not to miss if you're in the area.
You may not get access to the full menu if you don't book the day before, but it's still some of the best vegan foos I've had.

Pros: Great food, Locally sourced, Excellent service

Cons: Limited menu if not pre-booked

FloBold

Points +222

Vegan
26 Aug 2022

Delicious

Food was amazing, so much flavour and good portion sizes too. You have to book in advance, order food the day before and put a deposit down which was a bit of a faff but is so worth it.

ConstanceTowl

Points +325

Vegan
14 Jul 2022

Fresh, vegan/veggie food

We had to book the day before, pay a deposit and then pre order. This was fine for us as it made the visit really straightforward when we got there.
It was great to see a few vegan options for main course and dessert. We had the mushroom bourginon and a spiced cauliflower/potato cake dish. Both were excellent and freshly made.
We had the vegan cheese board and mud pie with vegan ice cream for dessert.
Meals were brought out in a reasonable time and the two young chaps waiting on tables were polite and courteous.
There were a few parking spaces out front which was really helpful.
The only improvement pointers I would like to feedback regarding our visit was to add another cheese to the board (perhaps a blue-type cheese?) As there was a mild cheddar and a mushroom pate to eat, along with grapes, chutney and onions.
Also, it would have been great to have some oat milk to order as I'd have loved a cuppa at the end (soya was available).
Otherwise, we were very happy to find a place to cater for vegans and would definitely recommend.

Pros: Pre ordered so made the visit more straightforward, Fresh dishes , Parking outside

Cons: No oat milk (soya only), Vegan cheese board was small/basic

MattB66

Points +133

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Clean food and great taste

Desperately seeking clean and honest food we discovers The Bean Inn and are highly grateful.

The food is indeed clean and tastes amazing. Two days in a row we had a take-away from The Bean Inn, and both days we were very happy with the portion size, quality and flavours.

The choice is small but everything is freshly made and excellent. We would certainly return if we were in the area again. And 100% recommend this little treasure.

Oh, and the people are very nice and caring too!!

Pros: Clean cooking, Local ingredients where possible, Friendly service

leestone8

Points +436

Vegan
09 Mar 2022

Amazing customer service

Had a really good meal here - the customer service was next level and menu was really good. The food tasted very healthy. Only reason for 4* is the cost was a bit on the expensive side although we did really enjoy our meal.

EarthPilgrim

Points +94

Vegan
01 Jun 2021

A vegan treat

Had lovely vegan meal here of starters mains & pudding. Really tasty food worthy of a holiday night out. Lovely chat with owners who do all the cooking too. Brexit & Covid have made getting staff difficult so owners were front of house too which was a bonus treat for us.

Pros: Quality vegan, Lovely owners , Holiday treat

Brettelli

Points +250

Vegan
02 May 2021

We’ve Bean treated!

We had fantastic vegan fare at this gourmet style takeaway. The mushroom pate starter was divine. Our cook-it-yourself main of stuffed potato cakes, pea curry, dahl and breads was super easy to prepare and absolutely delicious. A ‘must do’ if you’re in the area. Hopefully we’ll be back for more of this awesome food.

Pros: Restaurant quality vegan food, Lovingly packaged & competitively priced , Great customer service

Lozilou

Points +74

Vegan
02 Nov 2020

2020 best takeaway

Safe standards, excellent food, great flavours. Meal kits are amazing and real easy instructions
So reassuring to order from a kitchen that is completely veg vegan

Pros: Great food , Good value , Eco friendly pots and packaging

Bettsy

Points +74

Vegan
01 Feb 2020

Fab!

We went here recently for a 3 course meal and cocktails and it was great! Food was delicious and fresh, lots of different options and flavours. Local vegan beers and wines too. Quirky little restaurant, sea views and friendly staff. Will definitely go again!

JaneLancaster

Points +114

Vegan
24 Sep 2019

Chocolate desert to die for

Nice but a bit stingy on portions. Not very impressed with the Bourguignon. Wish I’d had the mezze. That desert was spectacular though. Lovely place and cozy. They need to vary their menu a bit more but very grateful it was here in not so vegan friendly resort.

Catcrazyclaire

Points +93

Vegan
24 Jun 2019

Delicious food, relaxed setting

Enjoyed a two course meal here on Saturday evening. We hadn't booked but were squeezed in. We both had a very tasty sweet potato cake meal with a dhal, flat bread and lime pickle. For dessert we chose the crumble and the chocolate mud pie. Really enjoyed it and well worth making the trip from St Ives for.

Updated from previous review on 2019-06-24

Pros: Very tasty food, Nice relaxed atmosphere , Friendly service

VoiceOverCow

Points +226

Vegan
21 May 2019

Vegan and vegetarian restaurant

This lovely cosy and inviting restaurant, also operating as a bed and break fine was a great little find in Carbon Bay. The food was seasonal and locally sourced. Everything tasted fresh, and the service was also top-notch. The waitress was sweet and attentive. The deserts wore to die for. So delicious we could have eaten them all again. 😊

Pros: Vegan and veg

Cons: A little pricey

AndiW

Points +29

Vegetarian
07 May 2019

Great food

The Bean Inn is vegan with vegetarian options.
The restaurant is different in all the right ways with a good atmosphere, nice music and a friendly helpful waitress.
The food is really good, lovely flavours combing to make great tastes, resulting in a delicious meal.
We'll worthwhile, we will go again.

Pros: Dedicated vegan/vegetarian restaurant

Cons: Nothing major that I can think of

KylaJack

Points +342

Vegan
30 Mar 2019

Delicious meal

Really delicious meal in a lovely intimate restaurant with art covered walls. Great evening. Best to book

ClaudiaMoruzzi

Points +71

Vegan
26 Jun 2018

Beautiful St Ives

Loved our dinner here. Had the carrot and coconut soup to start and the pesto pea gnocchi for mains. They had some lovely dessert options but I was too full to manage any more.

VeganAnnaS

Points +2702

Vegan
14 Oct 2017

Lovely homely atmosphere

The restaurant is located on the ground floor of the B&B and has a refined yet homely feel. All the dishes are vegan or have a vegan option. We tried the potato cakes with tarka dahl and the vegetable bourguignon – both were tasty and the portion sizes were good. Service was friendly and we had a really relaxed, enjoyable evening.

Pros: All dishes have a vegan option (including the chee, Tasty food, Good service

Cons: Need to book ahead

StaceyHorler

Points +38

Vegan
14 Sep 2017

Best veggie restaurant in Cornwall

We've been going to The Bean Inn for several years now and it never disappoints! Gorgeous homemade food. All options are vegan or can be adapted to be vegan and there are plenty that are gluten-free too. Looking forward to returning next year!

Pros: Almost whole menu that's vegan or can be made vega, Plenty of gluten free options , Amazing service

IanSunderland

Points +23

Vegetarian
18 Aug 2017

FANTASTIC!

Would highly recommend this place! 5 stars. The food was excellent and not overpriced. Amazing customer service from Steph. Nothing was too much trouble. We had veg bourgingnon with herby dumplings which gave your mouth a taste explosion! The side dish of a selection of bread with a balsamic reduction was equally good! We would return instantly if we could! Loved the ethos of the place too as it was set up by a Green Party councillor. She has released a brilliant cook book which you can buy.

Pros: Amazing customer service from Steph, Taste explosion food, Good price

Cons: None

Jessrosel

Points +74

Vegan
07 Aug 2017

great food and relaxing times!

Stayed near The Bean Inn and went for dinner on a saturday evening. Anything on the menu can be made vegan easily and the waitress completely understood about being vegan so we were in safe hands. We had 3 courses, I had a salad to start that they swapped vegan cheese for which was lush, then a veg stew with dumplings and the best bit, a cornish teacake bread and butter pudding with custard, amazing! Very reasonably priced, relaxed atmos and great service, would definitely come again.

Pros: great service, lots of options, great puddings

Cons: no parking at restaurant

SaraBarker

Points +94

Vegan
22 Jul 2017

Great dinner

I had heard of The Bean Inn vegan and vegetarian restaurant, through the Cornwall Vegans Facebook page, so decided to try it out for a birthday celebration. Despite arriving late for our booked table, due to unforeseen circumstances, we received a warm welcome. (Plus a polite reminder via messenger.) The Bean Inn restaurant is based on the ground floor of the Coast B & B, so I imagine it gets busy in peak holiday season. We chose basil and garlic olives and garlic and herb bread to share for starters plus drinks. For our main courses, we chose the Spanish paella and pepperonata, stuffed potato cakes with pea curry and spicy Tarka dahl and a spaghetti with pesto and green vegetables. They arrived within about twenty minutes of ordering and were all equally delicious, beautifully presented and very filling. I particularly enjoyed the mix of different flavours in my meal of stuffed potato cakes, especially the Tarka dahl.
I would thoroughly recommend The Bean Inn for intimate and special occasion dinners as the venue isn't large and booking is essential during weekend summer months.

Pros: Friendly, Delicious food, Small, intimate venue

TheBigBadMouse

Points +175

Vegetarian
05 Oct 2016

Great food

We stayed at the Coast B&B and so we also wanted to eat in the Bean Inn, which serves as their breakfast room in the morning. In the evenings, it looks much more romantic, with different lighting etc., and I think it was totally booked out, so you should book a table in advance, like we did. (and it is always closed on a Monday AND Tuesday, by the way).
The food was not ordinary, I had the pasta with mixed vegetables but was spoilt for choice when I saw the menu. The bread (side order) was very good as well. We did not manage to eat any dessert. The service was friendly.

Pros: Tasty food, friendly staff

Cons: a bit pricey

Vegan cake lover

Points +167

Vegan
27 Jun 2016

Great restaurant - excellent vegan options

Our friends and family paid for our very special 3 course meal at The Bean Inn for our honeymoon. We enjoyed the smoked tofu, the lentil salad, the garlic bread, olives, the vegetable bourguignon, the Morrocan cous-cous, the apple crumble with vegan ice-cream and the veganised Chocoboker Glory. Oh my! everything was fresh and delicious. We were totally stuffed! The waitress was super friendly and helpful. Our table had a sea view, which we had not expected. Utterly lovely - totally recommended. Have the veganised chocoboker Glory - served in a retro ice-cream sundae glass with layers of Mississippi mud, chocolate and vanilla ice-cream and raspberry coulis - yum!

Pros: Everything was veganisable, Great food, good portions, Friendly, helpful staff

Cons: priced for a special occasion




This page has been viewed 10315 times.