Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
International
Italian
Organic
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has a separate vegan menu which includes the Beyond burger, veggie burger, burrito, quesadillas, nachos, Italian bean ball sub, pizza and more. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for The Beached Bikini
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by AlainaDeRosa

chatreuse

Points +2240

Vegan
08 Jan 2024

Beautiful location

We were staying in the serviced apartment next door to this place and was pleasantly shocked to find a whole vegan page on the menu.
I got the pesto power which was incredibly oily due to the cheese. There was a light smear of pesto, which I couldn't taste. Also, came on black bread, which I did not like.
The wedges it came with were delicious.
I should have got the spaghetti bolognaise instead.

We grabbed a table when one became free, only for the waiter to chide us and say we need to wait for them to seat us (there's no sign saying this, they are busy doing 10 things at once, our food was already being handed to us, whereas other people who had sat down hadn't even got their food yet).
The service was SLOW, even trying to pay, the guy would be serving other people in the middle of tallying up our bill.
There's an automatic 10%/15% tip which is galling considering it's cash only and which explains the service.

It's in a beautiful beach location with great snorkelling, and is convenient as there's hardly anything else vegan around.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-08

Pros: Beautiful beach location

Cons: Cash only, Pesto sandwich oily and bland, SLOW service

Advertisement

MarinaGears

Points +123

Vegan
06 Sep 2023

Gorgeous location with tasty homemade burger

Staff are delightful. Location is stunning. Many vegan options including a homemade lentil burger that was delicious. The staff also volunteer with helping the local turtles.

Pros: Vegan menu , Homemade lentil burger , Lovely staff and location

Cons: Serves meat and fish

ConnorS

Points +20

Vegan
04 Aug 2023

Great vegan food

Visited whilst staying in Bahia Principe .. it’s a long walk along the beach but worth it ! The vegan menu was a welcome change from hotel food and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The barman from Spain made us a great vegan milkshake !

Pros: Great food , Cheap, Beautiful location

amanculich

Points +34

Vegan
31 Mar 2023

Adorable Spot, Vegan menu

The best little spot on the beach, great views and good vibes. The vegan menu was a really nice surprise for such a hidden spot, with decent options. We went twice, first time got the “fun guy” and the tacos, both were good but salty.
I gave three stars bc while the people working are excellent with great attitudes, there is not enough of them so BE PATIENT bc it took forever both times. Also knocked off the star for the owner being not the greatest person.

Pros: Best location, Good food, Great vibes

Cons: Takes so long

SaltyScubaChick

Points +72

Vegan
26 Jan 2023

Lovely little spot on the beach.

They have lots of vegan options which is definitely not the norm in Akumal. The new menu has a bunch of new sandwiches and they are totally delish! The owner is vegan and also has a turtle rescue program you can volunteer with called S.A.V.E Akumal! Gorgeous beach and snorkeling for after lunch! #Veganuary

Pros: Omni menu with a full page of vegan food. , The house veggie beet burger is delicious. , They have a new menu!

ialarmedalien

Points +32

Vegan
15 Dec 2022

Great beach-side dinner

Reasonable selection of dishes and friendly wait staff

Pros: Plenty of options for vegans, Italian bean ball sub tasted great the next day, Mango daiquiri is gorgeous!

Cons: Didn't have the apple crumble listed online, Veggie burger was rather bland

BeachedBikiniBar

Points +16

Vegan
Owner
20 Jul 2022

Lovely vegan and vegetarian food choices including burgers to salads

Not only is the food delicious but also the home-made kombucha was perfect

Pros: Lots of options, Good prices, Beautiful beach setting

veganchickwhotravels

Points +348

Vegan
09 Apr 2022

Great vegan menu

We discovered by chance as it wasn’t our original plan. Finding good vegan food in Mexico is almost impossible. This place is great. We went for a late lunch and both had the veggie burger. Very good made with beets and other veggies. With vegan cheese and not that fake disgusting Kind. The owner is vegan so makes sure the vegan options are healthy. We will go back. It was raining so we sat on the swings at the bar and chatted with locals and visitors. Great experience.

Pros: Lots of options and good food, On the beach , Reasonable prices

SaltyScubaChick

26 Jan 2023

Have you been to Tulum? Vegan food here is abundant.

klstuart

Points +1312

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Because they have vegan menu!

Giving this four stars mainly because they have an actual vegan menu. I had the vegan tacos al pastor, a pre-vegan favorite of mine. These were excellent, and I would order again. The rest of the experience.. meh. It’s a bar on the beach basically. Loud patrons, smoke blowing over our table from smokers at the bar, loud music. The staff consisted of a bartender and one guy. They handled it all, but things were a little slow as a result. Also, the menu section with vegan drinks and desserts was not available. I will likely go back, because of the vegan food, just probably for lunch not dinner, and not with the older members of the family :-)

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Inexpensive, Probably great view during daytime

Cons: Smoking allowed , Too dark to see food at all at night, Noisy bar atmosphere

juliettebrb

Points +609

Vegan
01 Jul 2021

Delicious, hard access

The food was delicious
Variety of vegan options

But the restaurant was pretty hard to find.
It is on the beach side but you get there through the road on the back and the sign is not very visible.
People around didn't know were the place was, so we gave up and tried the next day.
The place were google maps takes you is the right one. You get there through the back.

CocinarparaLiberar

Points +99

Vegan
10 Aug 2020

A beach club with vegan options

Guys you need to visit this beach club is the best!! They have a lot of options like nachos (the cheese is really awesome), guacamole, 2 kind of hamburger, tacos, pizzas and more.

They have a fun and lovely staff, you can enjoy a cool day with an amazing view and delicious vegan food.

Pros: cheap, cool view

AlainaDeRosa

Points +27

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

Tasty Vegan Options!

Love this place! Great food. Yummy drinks. Right on the beach so prepare for sandy feet. The view is fantastic and the swing bar is super fun.

Pros: They have their own Vegan Menu , They fund a Sea Turtle Project with their profits




This page has been viewed 2297 times.