Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Fast food
Beer/Wine
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a special menu offering vegan fish & chips (seaweed wrapped beer battered tofu), tacos, soup, chickpea & sweetcorn burger, Buddha bowl and mixed bean and mushroom sausage & mash. Gluten free beer available. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-21:00.


Venue map for The Barley Mow
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by LoraLondon

rawdewage

Points +42

Vegan
29 Feb 2024

Reservations strongly suggested.

Obviously, menu changes often.
As of 29 FEB 2024, the vegan options available are Chickpea flatbread with beetroot and mint, plain Caesar salad, skin on chips, grilled garlic sourdough, plant based burger and a leek, fennel and courgette pie with mash.
Very busy, book a table in advance. I arrived at 16:45 and every available table was already reserved and you cannot eat at the bar.
Only rated 3 stars because this is my second visit and I was still unable to eat here!

Advertisement

jolaco

Points +22

Vegan
12 Nov 2023

Really good Vegan Roast

Really tasty vegan roast with butternut squash and lentil loaf. No yorkshires sadly but still very tasty and unique for a roast!! They also do a vegan caesar salad, burger, and leek pie.

Pros: Good roast

Cons: No vegan ales, No yorkshire

Vegan_travelers

Points +18

Vegan
14 Mar 2023

Vegan pub meal

Was looking everywhere for an authentic British pub meal with vegan options. This place was exactly that. The pub is cosy and welcoming. Two vegan pies with mash and gravy. Check the service days, not all nights have food. Even for a pint, id recommend this place.

Pros: Old fashioned pub, Two great options, Friendly

manbo

Points +516

Vegan
15 Mar 2020

Great British Vegan Fare

Sausage and Mash was excellent. I am not a shroom fan, and still loved it. Mash and gravy was tasty, I nearly licked the plate☺️. Omni wife enjoyed her steak.

Pros: Hearty vegan options , Great drink selection

Cons: Tad expensive

Sierra7

Points +252

Vegan
22 Feb 2020

Tofish & chips ❤️

I am still dreaming of the tofish & chips here and would give 5 stars if I could. Gorgeous batter on the tofu, which had a layer of seaweed on top to give it a “fishy” taste. The chips were homemade and really tasty as were the mushy peas & tartar sauce. If I had a small suggestion it would be to marinate the tofu in something as when eating a piece with no batter it was a bit bland but this did not detract from the dish for me at all. It was absolutely delicious. I’m looking forward to going back to try some of the other things on the menu (but tbh I’ll probably go for the tofish again!). Very convenient for the Tate Britain.

Pros: A decent amount of vegan items, Nice pub , Friendly service

MireiaSanz

Points +217

Vegan
14 Feb 2020

Lovely

We loved the place and the food. I had the vegan sausage & mash, loved tasting a typical british dish (but vegan). 5/5

Pros: Several vegan options.

Tim_Jones

Points +52

Vegan
13 Nov 2019

Great vegan options with dedicated section on menu

This would be a 5-star review but that’s not allowed as isn’t a purely veggie/vegan place. Lovely sausage & mash and chickpea burger. Perfect setting for hot pub grub on a chilly day sightseeing.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Dedicated vegan section on menu, incl. dessert, Delicious mashed potato and gravy with onions

Cons: Side veg/salad would’ve made it even better

SusanSmith

Points +396

Vegan
29 Oct 2019

Tofish and chips

We basically came here for the tofish and chips and weren’t disappointed. Yummy! Fun atmosphere and fun people.

Phersephoneia

Points +28

Vegan
05 Oct 2019

Traditional British done vegan!

Went to The Barley Mow with my non-veg parents so they could have fish and chips and I could have veganized bangers & mash. My sausages were delicious and didn’t make me suspicious they were meat, the potatoes were as good as any mashed potatoes, and the gravy was tasty. It was much more food than I thought it would be and was quite satisfying.

It was very loud, but it’s a pub, so that’s to be expected! Atmosphere was nice, and the staff was really accommodating in finding us a table. The dessert and soup of the day are always vegan!

Pros: Vegan section of menu

SamantaContín

Points +51

Vegetarian
06 Sep 2019

Pub inglés con #meatlessmonday

Es un típico bar inglés pero con un completo menú vegano! Todos los platos deliciosos y los lunes 20

Pros: Amazing vegan food, a lot of options and cheap!

RotemShahar

Points +191

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Great vegan experience!

Their Tofish and Chips is fantastic! Fun sort of atmosphere, lovely people. We had a great time.

iflys5

Points +100

Vegan
17 Jul 2019

Great tofish & chips

Nice, traditional English pub to eat with family and friends who aren’t vegan. I went here our first night in London and the whole family had fish and chips, I had the tofu fish and chips, which has nori in the beer batter. The vegan tartar sauce was the real star, but the tofish was surprisingly good.

The warm chocolate brownie with vegan ice cream is totally worth saving room for.

smashyface

Points +98

Vegan
29 May 2019

Great Range of Vegan Options!

This traditional pub has a strong range of vegan options from traditional pub food like vegan Tofish and chips or bangers and mash to a Buddha Bowl, as well as their dessert brownie. Fish and chips was the full deal: tofu fish, chips, mushy peas, vegan tartar sauce and was delicious

Pros: Delicious food, Good for groups and omnis, relaxed environment

NeeruRavi

Points +202

Vegan
21 Feb 2019

Nice effort, poor execution

I really appreciate that pubs like this are trying to cater for vegans! Sadly the food was very bland and tasteless and it was very disappointing. I have the Buddha bowl and the soup, and both were a let down.

mbksr

Points +22

Vegan
14 Feb 2019

Friendly staff and good vegan options!

Was well welcomed when entering by cheerful staff. Cozy traditional pub place with great vegan options (own part of the menu) with both traditional British pub food and stuff like Buddha bowl.

RowenaRowenaBeyonce

Points +423

Vegan
09 Jan 2019

Vegan pub food!

Loved this place! A traditional British pub with vegan options! We had the bangers and mash and the fish and chips - delicious!

envythenight

Points +65

Vegan
01 Oct 2018

Many vegan options to choose from

This restaurant does something I really respect, as I’ve often wondered why places don’t do it, and that is that there are no “vegetarian” options; all the non meat options are vegan. I had the tofish and chips which was lovely — I’m a little picky when it comes to tofu, but they scored a win in my book by using something like silken tofu (no spongy consistency!). Another thing I respect is that the only dessert is vegan (because omnis can eat vegan desserts)! It’s a brownie with caramel sauce and I thought it was delicious (my dad thought it was a bit cake-like but I disagreed and my mum really enjoyed it too). Lovely and I would want to go back if it were more local and a little cheaper — though I think the tofish was better value than anything my omni parents got

Pros: Many vegan options, Tasty, Vegan dessert

Cons: A little price (though it is London), Only one dessert (though vegan)

LoraLondon

Points +187

Vegan
23 Sep 2018

Good pub grub

They offer a varied vegan menu (which is discounted on Monday lunchtimes). I had the tofish and chips which comes with a vegan tartare sauce and it was delicious. Will definitely be going back to try the other vegan options.




This page has been viewed 3051 times.