CLOSED: Gap House - Thai Vegetarian Buffet

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 22 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

3 Rachadamnoen Rd Soi 4, Chiang Mai, Thailand, 50200

Offers a buffet at night time only. Menu doesn't change and there are no salads or soup, just 3 to 4 curries and rice. Most dishes are not spicy to medium spicy. Located a 5-minute walk from Tha Phae Gate. Confirmed closed October 2017.

Categories: Vegan, Thai, Buffet

22 Reviews

First Review by msvegan

Mike Munsie

Points +3300

Vegan
29 Aug 2017

closed until October 2017

Gap House can be a bit hard to find if you are driving down Rachadamnoen Road ... currently there is a 2 metre tin fence on the corner of Soi 4 ... the restaurant is behind a row of trees and is upstairs when you enter the grounds ... the all-you-can-eat buffet is great value and the quality of the food is good ... while I don't go to Gap House every night I am in Chiang Mai I make sure I at least go there once each visit ... 29/08/17 update - Gaps House restaurant closed until October 2017

Pros: nice food, friendly staff and very nice building

Cons: upstairs so may be a mobility problem

Durianrider

Points +372

Vegan
15 Jul 2017

great thai food

So cheap! Would cost me $60 to eat like this in Australian vegan cafe!

iriiiss

Points +156

Vegan
13 Dec 2016

Not so delicious

I'm not even sure why we tried this restaurant two times because the food wasn't that good already in the first visit. Buffet includes rice, 4-5 different curries and fresh fruits for dessert. It's good if you're really hungry or just need to carb up (with rice) but to be honest the curries don't taste so fresh and are too oily. The place is peaceful and nice. Starts at 7pm which is too late I think and the food is not worth the 120bt.

Pros: All you can eat, Peaceful place

Cons: Not tasty, Too oily

Advertisement

CraigStewartAnderson

Points +74

Vegan
12 Aug 2016

Solid Eatery

This place is great if you like to feast. I ate here on four occasions. Each time I ate to capacity. Typically there are 4 curries available with sides of steamed veggies, monkey bananas and pineapple. The curries are mild (Suitable for Westerners) so if you're like me and enjoy eating fire, you'd better bring some chilli flakes along.

Pros: All you can eat, Good vibes

Cons: Food is a little salty, Curries are quite heavy on the tofu

Daniel_OurEarthAndUs

Points +99

Vegan
28 Jul 2016

If you like a whole lot of average, come here.

Quantity over quality is how I would describe the meal at Gaps. It's a buffet service that costs 120baht for unlimited food.
They had 4 different curries on offer when we were there, but sadly none of the Curries were incredible that we wanted a second serving.
They had these awesome fried spring roll things that were delicious, and we went to town on them. Also, all you can eat bananas is pretty good. I may have stored two in my pants for the walk home. Can't go wrong with fruit.

Look, if you are starving and could eat a mountain, come here. All you can eat food for 120 baht is pretty good. But if you want a good meal, there are better options nearby, like Bohdi or Taste like Heaven.

Pros: [censored] ton of food. Just keep eating, fatties! , Bananas and pineapple included in buffet., Cool atmosphere.

Cons: Food is not superb. 5/10 taste. , Curries are too watery.

amerp

Points +149

Vegan
19 Jun 2016

yummy food

Yummy food, flavorful enough without being over spicy, great for American and western tastebuds. They food is served buffet style, get there early so you can eat as soon as they remove the covers or else bugs can fly into the curry dishes. The atmosphere is dark so you can't really see the details of your food. Bring bug repellant for mosquitoes and you will have a wonderful meal.

vegantravellermimi

Points +131

Vegan
12 May 2016

Great value

All you can eat 3-4 types of curries, deep fried amazingly delicious spring rolls, rice, and some fruits.
great value for money!

Zambezikid

Points +402

Vegan
13 Nov 2015

Poor choices

Went there for dinner one day. Just 5 types of curry with some white rice, rice crackers and pineapple slices.

Well I suppose 2 of the curries were quite nice but it was a very meagre spread of options - just a set dinner from clay pots.

Pros: Central

Cons: Poor choices

YozzyOti

Points +93

Vegan
18 Sep 2015

Nice presentation

I had a vegetarian buffer for dinner. I liked how they put food into the big clay pot, but I wasnt really satisfied with their food. not that tasty to me.

The restaurant was open space, so I was a bit worried about mosquitos. It was my first time to visit in Chiang mai (september), so not really sure how badly mosquitos are active though. Aren't local people afraid of mosquitos??
Overall the place is lovely and I would love to try to stay for couple of nights to experience real Gap's house

Pros: nice atomosphere, clay pot looked good

IndianVegan

Points +88

Vegan
16 Apr 2015

I got satisfaction.

5 curries - 1 looked like mock-meats-galore so didn't touch it but the other 4 were very tasty. Snacks were tasty too. Ended the meal with very sweet pineapple (didn't touch the banana.)

Had to use only one flat plate so gravy from all the curries were mixed up. On next visit will eat a little rice with only one curry, next serving will eat some more rice with another curry and so on thus avoiding the issue of curry mix-up.

All had enough veggies with some tofu mostly in fried soft tofu form. I picked mostly veggies with a little tofu. I thought it was a very good value for 120B.

Nice setting too.

Pros: Tasty dishes, Location, Good value

Cons: Read same menu everyday , Some raw salad will be nice, Some tea will be be nice too

Baked Potato

Points +39

Vegan
01 Apr 2015

Awesome eating, highly recommended !

Great buffet for a great price. Food was delicious and always consistent in flavour.

Pros: Delicious food, Fair price, Friendly staff

Cons: Slow to top up food, Too quiet, Few mosquito's

misstracee

Points +165

Vegan
18 Feb 2015

down a dark soi.

the gap house buffet was delicious. we were very pleased with the flavor. i find the comments about it being expensive a bit odd as it is a buffet. 120 baht is still very reasonable for a limitless amount of food. they had yellow, red and green curries. also mussaman curry and a stir fry veggie mix when we were there.

while it is just off a busy road, the soi is quite dark and has an abandoned feel to it.

Pros: vegan and delicious. , free wi-fi if you need it. , inexpensive buffet.

Cons: down a dark soi., so many other tourists.

Cboyer13

Points +108

Vegan
09 Jan 2015

great food, though pricey

Great dinner buffet - usually has 3-4 vegan curries and rice. You can go up as many times as you want. PRICE WAS RAISED JAN 1 to 120B per person. Thats pretty pricey though I guess you can get your moneys worth if you get a lot.

gerhardparr

Points +48

Vegan
08 Sep 2014

Great Thai Buffet

Very tasty buffet with 4 or 5 different Thai curries plus rice and fruit. All you can eat for only 100 bhat (including water). Very nice place to sit, also there are mosquitos. I've been there many times and always eat too much.

Pros: Tasty

DC guy

Points +25

Vegan
24 Jul 2014

Very Nice In All Regards

I have visited the buffet 5 times in the last month. The food is always the same. What I enjoy is that it is not salty and made from scratch. Some of the dishes have too much tofu, but you can choose the dishes that have more or all vegetables. Would be nice if the menu would change periodically as well as offer either a salad or soup dish.

The surroundings are very nice - lush vegetation like your 30 miles from the center, but your inside the moat.

Although there are a lot of other places that have very inexpensive vegetarian food, the combination of the soft music, authentic Lana/Thai style buildings, and the vegetation/flowers add to the experience.

They provide a very cold bottle of water for each table with the buffet.

Pros: Home Cooking., Not Salty., Nice Environment.

Cons: No salad/soup selections., Menu Limited and Doesn't Change.

leon48

Points +96

Vegetarian
09 Feb 2014

Amazing Place

Great oasis i the middle of city - Really tasty food.

agentbey

Points +89

Vegan
08 Mar 2013

Gap's House Rocks

The food is amazing delicious created by people who understand the "pursuit of the palate". I have eaten here at leaset 5 times and each time I have been satisfied even though the dishes are the same each time. I do not mind that at all. Always well seasoned and fresh.

The ambience is amazing too. From the music playing in the background to the friendly staff, this an ideal spot to meet friends or perhaps a date even if you are lucky. You forget that you are in the city with it's lush greenery.

Get there early. Just before 7PM if possible. Because the vegetarian buffet is only for two hours and food disappears very quickly. You can't blame anyone for that. For this 100 Baht treat you are getting your money's worth.

You can end the dinner with some fresh sweet pineapple or other sweet item on the buffet. Each time I've been there the pineapple has been sweet beyond my expectation. I can tell that someone is making sure the produce is fresh and ripe instead of just plopping it on the table just to say they have it.

I also signed up for the cooking class and was satisfied with the team and the operations. They make arrangement for vegans/vegetarians in the class. That includes not using fish sauce or cooking the spring rolls separate.

Gap's House you are the best! See you soon.
Updated from previous review on Monday February 04, 2013

Pros: Ambient, Best Vegetarian Thai Food

Cons: Buffet dishes can go quick

RawVeganFruitarian

Points +53

Fruitarian
16 Dec 2012

Nice vegan buffet

Delicious vegan buffet in a beautiful setting for only 90bht. Highly recommended!

Pros: Excellent food, Great value, Beautiful atmosphere

GlobalVegan

Points +125

Vegan
14 Mar 2012

Overall Worthwhile

The food was generally very good. Some dishes seemed overly salty. The woman in charge is kind of surly.

Pros: Good value

Cons: Miserable staff

PeaceOut

Points +33

Vegetarian
10 Mar 2012

Yummy VEGAN dinner for 90 baht

Very good 6 dishes plus fruit. All you can eat. Includes water.

lifewontwait

Points +25

Vegan
16 Sep 2011

very nice vegan thai buffet

All you can eat + unlimited water for 90 thb every night from 7 to 9, except Sundays. Dishes are (almost) the same every night - brown rice, one bamboo dish, three curries, one pot of steamed veggies, rice/sesame crackers, fresh fruit.

LOCATION ON THE MAP IS WRONG. (as of Sept 2011) From Tha Pae Gate (east gate) follow Ratchadamnoen Road west (=inside the walls). Take the 2nd side street on the left hand side (between AUA English school and a big tempel) - Gap's House is in the first block on the left hand side, the buffet is above the reception area.

Pros: all you can eat vegan buffet! :o)

Cons: same food every day

msvegan

Points +377

Vegan
23 Mar 2011

Best and cheapest VEGAN Thai Buffet.

I have been coming to Thailand for years and Gap house continues to have a delicious vegan buffet 6 nights a week from 7-10pm. Its set upstairs in a beautiful traditional teak house surrounded downstairs by a lush garden. They have about 8 dishes nightly of high quality food and its all you can eat for only 90 baht. A little difficult to find. Down an alley next to the American Institute. There is a sign in English on the main street. Highly recommended
Updated from previous review on Thursday December 30, 2010

Pros: Excellent Food, Beautiful peaceful setting, Cheap

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Gap House - Thai Vegetarian Buffet closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8600 times.