CLOSED: Gap House - Thai Vegetarian Buffet

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 23 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
053-278140
Find

3 Rachadamnoen Rd Soi 4, Chiang Mai, Thailand, 50200

Offers a buffet at night time only. Menu doesn't change and there are no salads or soup, just 3 to 4 curries and rice. Most dishes are not spicy to medium spicy. Located a 5-minute walk from Tha Phae Gate. Confirmed closed October 2017.

Categories: Vegan, Thai, Buffet

23 Reviews

First Review by msvegan

closed until October 2017 - Edit

Gap House can be a bit hard to find if you are driving down Rachadamnoen Road ... currently there is a 2 metre tin fence on the corner of Soi 4 ... the restaurant is behind a row of trees and is upstairs when you enter the grounds ... the all-you-can-eat buffet is great value and the quality of the food is good ... while I don't go to Gap House every night I am in Chiang Mai I make sure I at least go there once each visit ... 29/08/17 update - Gaps House restaurant closed until October 2017

Pros: nice food, friendly staff and very nice building

Cons: upstairs so may be a mobility problem

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great thai food - Edit

So cheap! Would cost me $60 to eat like this in Australian vegan cafe!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not so delicious - Edit

I'm not even sure why we tried this restaurant two times because the food wasn't that good already in the first visit. Buffet includes rice, 4-5 different curries and fresh fruits for dessert. It's good if you're really hungry or just need to carb up (with rice) but to be honest the curries don't taste so fresh and are too oily. The place is peaceful and nice. Starts at 7pm which is too late I think and the food is not worth the 120bt.

Pros: All you can eat, Peaceful place

Cons: Not tasty, Too oily

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Solid Eatery - Edit

This place is great if you like to feast. I ate here on four occasions. Each time I ate to capacity. Typically there are 4 curries available with sides of steamed veggies, monkey bananas and pineapple. The curries are mild (Suitable for Westerners) so if you're like me and enjoy eating fire, you'd better bring some chilli flakes along.

Pros: All you can eat, Good vibes

Cons: Food is a little salty, Curries are quite heavy on the tofu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

If you like a whole lot of average, come here. - Edit

Quantity over quality is how I would describe the meal at Gaps. It's a buffet service that costs 120baht for unlimited food.
They had 4 different curries on offer when we were there, but sadly none of the Curries were incredible that we wanted a second serving.
They had these awesome fried spring roll things that were delicious, and we went to town on them. Also, all you can eat bananas is pretty good. I may have stored two in my pants for the walk home. Can't go wrong with fruit.

Look, if you are starving and could eat a mountain, come here. All you can eat food for 120 baht is pretty good. But if you want a good meal, there are better options nearby, like Bohdi or Taste like Heaven.

Pros: Shit ton of food. Just keep eating, fatties! , Bananas and pineapple included in buffet., Cool atmosphere.

Cons: Food is not superb. 5/10 taste. , Curries are too watery.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

yummy food - Edit

Yummy food, flavorful enough without being over spicy, great for American and western tastebuds. They food is served buffet style, get there early so you can eat as soon as they remove the covers or else bugs can fly into the curry dishes. The atmosphere is dark so you can't really see the details of your food. Bring bug repellant for mosquitoes and you will have a wonderful meal.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great value - Edit

All you can eat 3-4 types of curries, deep fried amazingly delicious spring rolls, rice, and some fruits.
great value for money!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Poor choices - Edit

Went there for dinner one day. Just 5 types of curry with some white rice, rice crackers and pineapple slices.

Well I suppose 2 of the curries were quite nice but it was a very meagre spread of options - just a set dinner from clay pots.

Pros: Central

Cons: Poor choices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice presentation - Edit

I had a vegetarian buffer for dinner. I liked how they put food into the big clay pot, but I wasnt really satisfied with their food. not that tasty to me.

The restaurant was open space, so I was a bit worried about mosquitos. It was my first time to visit in Chiang mai (september), so not really sure how badly mosquitos are active though. Aren't local people afraid of mosquitos??
Overall the place is lovely and I would love to try to stay for couple of nights to experience real Gap's house

Pros: nice atomosphere, clay pot looked good

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I got satisfaction. - Edit

5 curries - 1 looked like mock-meats-galore so didn't touch it but the other 4 were very tasty. Snacks were tasty too. Ended the meal with very sweet pineapple (didn't touch the banana.)

Had to use only one flat plate so gravy from all the curries were mixed up. On next visit will eat a little rice with only one curry, next serving will eat some more rice with another curry and so on thus avoiding the issue of curry mix-up.

All had enough veggies with some tofu mostly in fried soft tofu form. I picked mostly veggies with a little tofu. I thought it was a very good value for 120B.

Nice setting too.

Pros: Tasty dishes, Location, Good value

Cons: Read same menu everyday , Some raw salad will be nice, Some tea will be be nice too

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome eating, highly recommended ! - Edit

Great buffet for a great price. Food was delicious and always consistent in flavour.

Pros: Delicious food, Fair price, Friendly staff

Cons: Slow to top up food, Too quiet, Few mosquito's

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

down a dark soi. - Edit

the gap house buffet was delicious. we were very pleased with the flavor. i find the comments about it being expensive a bit odd as it is a buffet. 120 baht is still very reasonable for a limitless amount of food. they had yellow, red and green curries. also mussaman curry and a stir fry veggie mix when we were there.

while it is just off a busy road, the soi is quite dark and has an abandoned feel to it.

Pros: vegan and delicious. , free wi-fi if you need it. , inexpensive buffet.

Cons: down a dark soi., so many other tourists.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great food, though pricey - Edit

Great dinner buffet - usually has 3-4 vegan curries and rice. You can go up as many times as you want. PRICE WAS RAISED JAN 1 to 120B per person. Thats pretty pricey though I guess you can get your moneys worth if you get a lot.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Thai Buffet - Edit

Very tasty buffet with 4 or 5 different Thai curries plus rice and fruit. All you can eat for only 100 bhat (including water). Very nice place to sit, also there are mosquitos. I've been there many times and always eat too much.

Pros: Tasty

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very Nice In All Regards - Edit

I have visited the buffet 5 times in the last month. The food is always the same. What I enjoy is that it is not salty and made from scratch. Some of the dishes have too much tofu, but you can choose the dishes that have more or all vegetables. Would be nice if the menu would change periodically as well as offer either a salad or soup dish.

The surroundings are very nice - lush vegetation like your 30 miles from the center, but your inside the moat.

Although there are a lot of other places that have very inexpensive vegetarian food, the combination of the soft music, authentic Lana/Thai style buildings, and the vegetation/flowers add to the experience.

They provide a very cold bottle of water for each table with the buffet.

Pros: Home Cooking., Not Salty., Nice Environment.

Cons: No salad/soup selections., Menu Limited and Doesn't Change.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Place - Edit

Great oasis i the middle of city - Really tasty food.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Gap's House Rocks - Edit

The food is amazing delicious created by people who understand the "pursuit of the palate". I have eaten here at leaset 5 times and each time I have been satisfied even though the dishes are the same each time. I do not mind that at all. Always well seasoned and fresh.

The ambience is amazing too. From the music playing in the background to the friendly staff, this an ideal spot to meet friends or perhaps a date even if you are lucky. You forget that you are in the city with it's lush greenery.

Get there early. Just before 7PM if possible. Because the vegetarian buffet is only for two hours and food disappears very quickly. You can't blame anyone for that. For this 100 Baht treat you are getting your money's worth.

You can end the dinner with some fresh sweet pineapple or other sweet item on the buffet. Each time I've been there the pineapple has been sweet beyond my expectation. I can tell that someone is making sure the produce is fresh and ripe instead of just plopping it on the table just to say they have it.

I also signed up for the cooking class and was satisfied with the team and the operations. They make arrangement for vegans/vegetarians in the class. That includes not using fish sauce or cooking the spring rolls separate.

Gap's House you are the best! See you soon.
Updated from previous review on Monday February 04, 2013

Pros: Ambient, Best Vegetarian Thai Food

Cons: Buffet dishes can go quick

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sub standard food. Mosquito loka, and one mean old - Edit

New this place by the sign only as most mornings I walk past it coming from hostel. Intrigued by the buffet I and my wife show up for the 7pm start.
Was impressed by the 100b price tag and dug in and that's where it ended. The food was below standard, and was supposedly vegan yet I felt it either contained shrimp or fish or both. The mock meat was super chewy, which made me suspious. The owner "the dragon" yelled at my wife for getting a new plate as she didn't like what was on the other. 20mins in I was feeling sick and left to the bathroom to throw up my 100b worth.

Sub standard food. Mosquito loka, and one mean old lady. Not recommend at all! Safer to get 2 magnums from 7/11 than eat here.

Pros: Buffet, 100b

Cons: The food, The Mosquitos, The owner

2 Responses
Read More

Vegfox 12 Jul 2015 - I don't see constructive criticism at all. If you felt like the food was not plant-based, you could have asked. How come the food was below standard when all other people are highly satisfied? Also taking a new plate at a buffet is not nice indeed. It seems unlikely that the owner yelled at your wife for no more reasons than that, though. I wouldn't trust your review, and I in truth don't since I know this place and am very satisfied.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Rudrakshaeyes 12 Jul 2015 - Well it's a true and accurate and it's the truth.
It sounds like you work for them all got some free meals so I wouldn't trust your statement either.
It's no Mae Kaydees now that's a satisfying buffet try the next time your Bangkok.
The owner did yell at her and my wife only changed it because it was dirty.
Whose all these people anyway? For all we know it's the gaps people's like yourself writing them.
I call a spade a spade and most people appreciate honesty and it was slop pure and simple and wouldn't recommend it unless your poor or watching your money and need some food in your stomach. Plenty of better places in Chiangmai Than this.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice vegan buffet - Edit

Delicious vegan buffet in a beautiful setting for only 90bht. Highly recommended!

Pros: Excellent food, Great value, Beautiful atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Overall Worthwhile - Edit

The food was generally very good. Some dishes seemed overly salty. The woman in charge is kind of surly.

Pros: Good value

Cons: Miserable staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy VEGAN dinner for 90 baht - Edit

Very good 6 dishes plus fruit. All you can eat. Includes water.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

very nice vegan thai buffet - Edit

All you can eat + unlimited water for 90 thb every night from 7 to 9, except Sundays. Dishes are (almost) the same every night - brown rice, one bamboo dish, three curries, one pot of steamed veggies, rice/sesame crackers, fresh fruit.

LOCATION ON THE MAP IS WRONG. (as of Sept 2011) From Tha Pae Gate (east gate) follow Ratchadamnoen Road west (=inside the walls). Take the 2nd side street on the left hand side (between AUA English school and a big tempel) - Gap's House is in the first block on the left hand side, the buffet is above the reception area.

Pros: all you can eat vegan buffet! :o)

Cons: same food every day

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best and cheapest VEGAN Thai Buffet. - Edit

I have been coming to Thailand for years and Gap house continues to have a delicious vegan buffet 6 nights a week from 7-10pm. Its set upstairs in a beautiful traditional teak house surrounded downstairs by a lush garden. They have about 8 dishes nightly of high quality food and its all you can eat for only 90 baht. A little difficult to find. Down an alley next to the American Institute. There is a sign in English on the main street. Highly recommended
Updated from previous review on Thursday December 30, 2010

Pros: Excellent Food, Beautiful peaceful setting, Cheap

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Gap House - Thai Vegetarian Buffet closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7460 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support