CLOSED: Thai Vegan

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 23 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
505-954-1780
Find

1710 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA, 87501

Third location in NM, opened Oct 2013. Located 1/4 mile past St Michaels. Offers mostly Thai food along with some American food like veggie burgers and wraps. Confirmed closed August 2017.

Categories: Vegan, American, Thai, Take-out, Asian

23 Reviews

First Review by JC

Delicious and Affordable - Edit

My husband and I visited Thai Vegan while in Santa Fe for a conference. I was often frustrated by the lack of affordable Vegan options in the Plaza and Downtown area.

Thai Vegan is well worth venturing five minutes away from the Plaza. The lunch specials are fairly priced and you get a lot of food. It was delicious! I highly recommend the Vegan fish and the Pad Thai.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent Flavor, Wide Variety, Pleasant Atmosphere! - Edit

Goodness, did I ever enjoy stuffing myself here during a business trip to Santa Fe. The flavors in everything were perfect, the Freshy Rolls were crunch, Miso soup perfect.
I'm coming back for dinner!

Pros: Great Atmosphere , Lovely Staff, Excellent Food

Cons: Park behind restaurant

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Definitely check it out, but I have some reservations - Edit

If you are vegan, or just curious about vegan food, or maybe just like Thai food, then definitely check out this place. As you can see, lots of people love this place. I have been here several times. I like it. As a vegan, I find the menu is a kind of wonderland, with a wide array of interesting and often delicious food.

However, I want to temper some of the enthusiasm with some of my own reservations: First and foremost are my concerns about the staff. It seems like every time I have been here, I have encountered different waiters and waitresses. My question is, why is the turnover so high among the wait-staff? Are these waiters and waitresses not being paid fairly? Are they encountering harassment from, say, the kitchen staff? Are they seeing practices in the kitchen that they know are not hygienic or not vegan?

One time when I visited, I saw a group of three or four Asian men outside near the front porch chatting. Judging by how they were dressed, they were obviously kitchen workers. I think one or two of them may have been smoking. This is their right of course, but it does not convey the sense of health-consciousness you would hope for at a vegan establishment.

The location, in an aging building on very busy Cerillos Road, leaves something to be desired. Behind the building, in the parking lot you can see a small battered trailer, where, presumably, someone from the restaurant lives, or perhaps it is used for storage. Strewn about around the trailer are various items like ladders and furniture covered with drop-cloths. It is not a very appetizing scene.

One final quibble: In the dining area, there are many statues of Buddha, all of them painted gold. I don't really have a big problem with this. I am not a religious person. I have nothing against Buddhism. But I would prefer fewer religious decorations. Maybe some plants or goldfish. Something more secular would be my preference.

Despite all this, Thai Vegan would be the first place I would recommend to a vegan friend visiting Santa Fe. The menu alone stands head and shoulders above the rest.

Pros: Tasty Food, Diverse menu, Reasonable prices

Cons: High turnover of wait-staff, Aging building on a busy street, Lots of Buddha statues

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fresh and Delicious! - Edit

I love all the amazing spices....The curries are great, the spicy "chicken" (vegan) salad is fantastic. The soups like Tom Kai Ka are incredible. Spices I have never tasted before.
The PET is great (Pumpkin, Eggplant and Tofu).
I love that everything is 100 percent vegan and I can easily get gluten free vegan ....tons of choices.

Pros: spices and flavors, atomosphere, friendly

Cons: too many choices to pick from :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Like many Asian-style places - Edit

The fare is pretty standard - Asian vegan food, stir fried veggies, rice, noodles, etc. I give them credit for using brown rice (not all such places do) and their prices are reasonable. I ate broccoli with tofu, which came with brown rice and was good, but nothing special. The sauce was too salty to my taste - it was supposed to be a garlic sauce, but I barely tasted the garlic. I thought it was overpowered by the soy sauce. I go to such places because there are limited vegan or vegetarian options, in most cities, but as a frequent traveler, I will usually opt for some other style of cooking, if available, if nothing else, because this type of cooking is just too similar everywhere I go.

Pros: Decent food, Vegan, Reasonably priced

Cons: I could have been anywhere in the world where ther

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Standard Thai Veganized - Edit

Thai food being one of my favorite cuisines I was super excited to have such a huge menu of dishes from which I could order anything I wanted and know it's cruelty-free. The restaurant has every item you've ever seen on a Thai restaurant menu except better because its all vegan. Being on vacation we wanted to try it all while we were able so we did our best to stuff our faces and I'd say definitely order the chicken satay for an appetizer.

Pros: vegan thai food, attentive service

Cons: not downtown

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food and great atmosphere - Edit

My husband and I ate here during our vacation. It is a fabulous restaurant! Very large menu. We wanted to try it all! We will definitely be back when we vacation here again!

Be aware that the hours listed are incorrect. They close from 2-5

Pros: great food, large menu, fair price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Outstanding! - Edit

This place just keeps getting better and better! Everything I've tried has been excellent. Love Parham's Plate (soy chicken in peanut sauce on spinach) - so good with salad, rice served in a heart-shape, and a Freshi roll. Yum yum yum.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good vegan place - Edit

The food was pretty good but the soy chicken was a little bit mushy. I would definitely go back again and try other dishes. The spring rolls and steamed dumplings were very good.

Pros: vegan and organic

Cons: soy chicken isn't very good

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan food in Santa Fe - Edit

My wife and I love this place. Everything we've ordered has been fantastic. The Tom Yum Seafood is delicious, as are the dumplings (either steamed or fried). Looking forward to eating there again tomorrow.

Pros: delicious, extensive menu, vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Surprisingly good - Edit

Visited this place in August 2015 on a road trip through the midwest of the U.S. We were searching for a Mexican restaurant which does at least serve vegetarian food but did not find any veggie meals without loads of cheese... Looked for any vegan restaurants then and were positively surprised to find a 100% vegan restaurant near our hotel. It does not look too nice and welcoming from the outside and the deco inside looks quite dated. The waitress was really nice and helpful. She had an answer for all our questions.
We ordered the green papaya salad as starter and it was the best I've ever eaten. It tasted fresh and the dressing was well balanced and not overpowering. Mains were "jungle noodles" with tofu and "mushroom steak". The noodles tasted fresh and not heavily smothered in sauce as you often experience in Thai or Chinese restaurants. The "steak" had a meat-like texture and a pleasant taste.
The bill for two was $47 which was acceptable. Can fully recommend this restaurant and if I would live close, I would def come back to taste more of their food.

Pros: Fresh food, Big choice of vegan food options, Variety of styles

Cons: Look from outside

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Vegan Thai restaurant in Santa Fe - Edit

We ordered the freshy rolls, Chinese broccoli with soy pepper steak and spicy noodles with tofu. The freshy rolls were bland but the other two dishes were outstanding. The staff was friendly, the restaurant has nice Thai interior. Give it 4 out of 5 stars. We would go back anytime when we are in Santa Fe our at the other location in Albuquerque.
As for the menu, I would remove all the non Thai dishes.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday April 14, 2015

Pros: Good flavor, Nice Staff, Great ambiance

Cons: Reduce menu to only Thai dishes

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Come to Mama! - Edit

Oh hi there, Thai Vegan! Thanks for making my life complete!

This attractively decorated restaurant is a must-stop if you're in Santa Fe. Their all-vegan menu (YAY!) is extensive (too extensive), so you're sure to find something good.

My favorites are the Papaya Salad, steamed curry dumplings, chicken nuggets (you can upgrade your entree to include these decadent vegan morsels), and yellow curry. They also serve BROWN rice which is great!
Updated from previous review on Saturday March 28, 2015

Pros: ALL VEGAN!!!, delicious food, reasonably priced

Cons: too far away from me , menu too extensive (should pare down), a bit decadent (not organic, etc)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the name says it all - Edit

love this place
food is consistently good and the staff friendly

Pros: vegan, thai, asian and american, consistently good

Cons: salads and dressings seem commercial, could be spicier

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mediocre - Edit

I wasn't blown away but this is good as it gets in this town.

Pros: East Location, Convenient, Large Seatings

Cons: Lots Of Gluten, Fusion, Lack Authenticity

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Have Had Better - Edit

The restaurant in beautiful, lovely decorations and ambience. The staff is super friendly, although seemed challenged to deal with the 5 tables between two servers. The Green Papaya Salad was delicious, and rivaled the non veg version. My daughter enjoyed the larb as well. We also tried the Pad See Ew and Chow Mein, neither wowed us. Although we appreciated the effort, the food was flat and not very flavorful in general. They do not use MSG, a giant plus, but we have enjoyed other Thai food at other restaurants more. Organic tofu would be a great plus, we did not eat any tofu as it was not organic.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice to have in Santa Fe - Edit

Upon visiting Santa Fe we were pleasantly surprised at Thai Vegan. Very large selection on the menu - one fav was the Chile Shrimp.
If I had one criticism it would be the Pad Thai didn't live up to others I've had. Not sure if it was too much sauce but I wasn't thrilled with it.
The inside of the restaurant was wonderful - great decor, lots of Buddhas very nice vibe.
Updated from previous review on Monday October 20, 2014

Pros: Huge selection, Fast service, Large portions

Cons: Some dishes seemed a bit sauce heavy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow! - Edit

My husband and I eat here every chance we get when in Santa Fe. The atmosphere is lovely - all the golden Buddhas make it feel like a temple. It is not often we get to dine where we can eat *everything* on the menu! The fare is reasonably priced, delicious, and the staff friendly.

My husband loves the large soup bowls, me - I can't get enough of Pad Thai with the veg-meat. I'm still not sure if the tofu is non-GMO or not, and I'd love to hear that it is organic, however, we so rarely eat out, that I'll give it a pass.

Thank you so much for such a lovely restaurant!

Pros: Food, Atmosphere, Price

Cons: None.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best vegan food ever - Edit

We started eating at Thai Vegan since we moved to NM three years ago. There are many remarkable aspects of this (these) restaurant(s) including the very clean and healthy nutritional food, friendly staff, and beautiful environment. We drive to Santa Fe from time to time just for eating at the new location since the place is wonderful, and we enjoy the trip. I think the review about the organic is misleading since the restaurant name does not include any remark about 100% organic, and if not sure, one can order tofu or soy free dishes (As my husband always does; He asks to replace them with extra vegetables). However, mostly all tofu in the market even if not organic are labeled GMO-free.
Having this chain starting here in New Mexico, and hopefully expanding to other states is a step forward to advocate healthy eating habits to control obesity, and prevent many chronic diseases that are consuming us, our environment, and our economy.
I wish you continuous success.
Thank you Thai Vegan restaurants. You are the best!
Diana

Pros: Healthy, Clean, Nutritional

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not organic... to bad ... - Edit

i do my best to eat non GMO products but Thai Vegan says they are NOT organic so the tofu and other soy products are GMO... to bad. I will not be able to eat ther any more.

Updated from previous review on Monday October 21, 2013
Update...
I called the Thai Vegan on central in Alb. And asked if they were organic... The lady who answered the phone said no organic... Then she handed the phone to someone else who said all organic. I asked about the Santa Fe store... He said I should call Santa Fe and ask the chief... I am getting very different stories depending who answers the phone... Some one is not telling the truth.
Seems to me if you are organic then put it on your menu...
If you are not organic then what do you say to your customers? Lie? Let's hope someone is in charge.
Hells bells Chopotle grill is non GMO !
Come on Pat step up to the plate and give us the real story.

Pros: Vegan but...

Cons: Food full of GMO's, too much sugar...., Truth please.

2 Responses
Read More

JC 27 Oct 2013 - Dear Phil, as the Business Development Manager for Thai Vegan I can assure you that Chef Pat does everything possible to make his food organic. All of the mock meats are organic and between 80 and 100 percent of the produce is organic. There are seasonal shortages that cause him to buy conventional produce, but he strives to buy all organic when possible!

I'm sorry about the confusion, so I would like to offer you a free meal at any of the stores. We want everyone who comes to our restaurant to leave happy and satisfied. Please contact me to make arrangements for another visit. If we measure up next time, we would appreciate a revised review of Thai Vegan. Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Philtownsend 28 Oct 2013 -
Here is what JC The Bizz Manager sent to me...

Posted by JC on Sunday, October 27, 2013 Dear Phil, as the Business Development Manager for Thai Vegan I can assure you that Chef Pat does everything possible to make his food organic. All of the mock meats are organic and between 80 and 100 percent of the produce is organic. There are seasonal shortages that cause him to buy conventional produce, but he strives to buy all organic when possible!

I'm sorry about the confusion, so I would like to offer you a free meal at any of the stores. We want everyone who comes to our restaurant to leave happy and satisfied. Please contact me to make arrangements for another visit. If we measure up next time, we would appreciate a revised review of Thai Vegan. Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Much-Needed Blessing for Santa Fe - Edit

I've lived in Santa Fe for the past 3 years and have been disappointed by the lack of vegetarian/vegan restaurants. (There are many restaurants that offer some vegetarian/vegan choices - but that's not the same.) I have had a few meals at the Thai Vegan restaurant on Osuna Rd in Albuquerque and wished that they would open a restaurant in Santa Fe. I am delighted that finally happened on September 25.

Since it opened last Wednesday, I've had two meals from there (one was a take-out and the other was dining at the restaurant.) Both meals were excellent. I'm looking forward to having many more meals at Thai Vegan's newest location. It's already my favorite restaurant in Santa Fe.

Pros: Excellent food, Great value, Good decor

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Compassion spreading throughout New Mexico - Edit

Chef Pat and his staff have one thing on their minds, bringing cruelty-free, healthy dining to all who walk through the doors of Thai Vegan. Thai Vegan Santa Fe is the third location in less than 3 years! Unprecedented for most establishments to expand at this rate, not to mention a vegan one! Congratulations Chef Pat!

Pros: Beautiful atmosphere, Generous portions/great pricing, Happy, helpful staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Another Thai Vegan Open!!! - Edit

Chef Pat has opened his third Thai Vegan restaurant. He is now in the top 10 vegan restaurant chains in the USA. This fast growing chain has delicious food, good portions and moderate prices. Don't miss this eating opportunity!!!

Pros: Delicious, Affordable, Good Portions

Cons: Not MORE Thai Vegans in the world!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Santa Fe Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Thai Vegan closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6929 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support