• Thai Express

  • (7)
    2
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Thai
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Quick-service franchise restaurant with outlets across Canada and US. Offers large Thai food menu where some dishes can be adapted for vegans, such as stir-fried noodle or fried rice with vegetables and no egg. Specify clearly when ordering.


Venue map for Thai Express
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by FriesBerry

TravelingThroughLife1

Points +3174

Vegan
14 Jul 2023

Just ok

There really aren’t a ton of options in this area of the airport so at least this place has a few. It seemed like each meal was warmed up in the same frying pan so if you’re worried about cross contamination definitely don’t eat here. I ordered the veggie pad Thai with no egg. It was nothing special and at $15 quite expensive.

Advertisement

LoganMelton

Points +1245

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

Clearly labeled

I was happy to find clearly labeled options in an airport. In all fairness, the food was not my favorite, but airports are still hard for vegans so you take what you can get!

Ferdyntom

Points +58

Vegan
05 Jan 2023

Best option in Calgary airport when flying to the US

I'd eat this even if it wasn't on the airport! The food is delicious and the price is very reasonable.

Pros: Food is delicious, Amazing price and quality for airport food

AdrienR

Points +68

Vegan
25 May 2022

Decent portion

Contrary to reviews did not see any clearly labeled vegan options. So had to ask about making vegetarian option vegan (a word I’m not sure was understood). In any case the food is more than adequate (especially for airport food).

Only stopped here as long day of travelling and had to skip breakfast.

If you are worried about cross contamination I would not eat here.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-25

Pros: Ready fast

Cons: Not understand vegan

EvaMcD

Points +107

Vegan
01 Dec 2019

Good Options for an Airport

Multiple clearly labeled vegan options. Two vegetarians, a vegan and one Omni and all were satisfied. Very quick service but took a little extra time for the vegan stir fry.

dontbedaft

Points +569

Vegan
13 May 2019

Ok for an airport

I’m grateful for the previous reviewer for the tip-off about the tofu - given the prominent mention of vegan all over their display I might have trusted them to know what they’re doing. Food was ok -quick, spicy and hot. I’ve had a lot worse at airports

Pros: Several vegan options, Quick service

Cons: Tofu cooked with meat

FriesBerry

Points +59

Vegan
12 Dec 2018

Good Vegetables

This fast food restaurant is located in the E gates food court (International departures). They list vegan options on their menu and it includes fried rice, stir fry, pad Thai and pad see ew (thick noodles). HOWEVER because their tofu is deep fried in oil that also fries chicken and beef, it is not vegan. Big disappointment. The staff was very pleasant and substituted extra veggies for rice (which I don’t eat) and asked a couple of times if I could eat bean sprouts and basil. Sauce was a little sweet for my taste but veggies were not over cooked. Now off to find some kind of protein to supplement my lunch.

Pros: Knowledgeable staff, Listed menu items that are vegan, Cooked to order

Cons: No tofu or other protein available




This page has been viewed 2632 times.