• Thai Chili

  • (14)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Thai
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Asian
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai place offering a peanut vegetable dish. Ask for other vegan options. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:30pm.


Venue map for Thai Chili
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by ChristyLambert

Anitamom

Points +108

Vegan
15 Feb 2023

Yummy in Ouray

The Tom Kha Soup was extremely delicious. The two of us plus a 2 year old all loved it. The baby kept asking for more mushrooms. The peanut dish was also delicious with crispy tofu and lots of delicious broccoli. The other veggies (snow peas and carrots) were less good but I still ate it all. The peanut sauce was yummy and sweet.

Pros: Most options you could have tofu or veggies, The vegan options could be better marked., So nice!

Cons: More vegan soups.

Advertisement

frenchfries4life

Points +734

Vegan
29 Oct 2022

Tasty, but...

Service was kinda awkward. I got the drunken noodles w/ tofu and specified vegan, and they were very good, but I did not have the best experience the following morning. May be related.

tomtheplantsman

Points +623

Vegan
11 Oct 2022

Mediocre

I can’t recall ever having Thai food that was flavorless, but there’s a first time for everything! Tasted like reheated frozen veggies, the tofu was dry, and the peanut sauce was bland. Service was also bad; it seemed like they were short staffed, but our server ignored us all night. Not many options in Ouray, of course, but this was such a letdown.

shutterbug95

Points +16

Vegan
11 Sep 2022

Great vegan meal

Very accommodating for any of the meals. We enjoyed the Thai peanut meal.

Pros: Good portions, Very friendly

Cons: Non

JoshTetreault

Points +124

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Tasty Thai

Several vegan options, the cashew nut was great! Great place for a quick, friendly, tasty meal.

veganrv

Points +528

Vegan
10 Apr 2022

Pretty good in a town with few options

Ouray doesn't have a ton of vegan options. The server here said they could make just about any dish vegan. We both opted for noodle dishes. The portions were large and both dishes were packed with veggies. If you want tofu, you'll need to specifically ask for it. We didn't sadly. The food felt nourishing but maybe lacked some of the flavor you normally have with Thai food. If there was any competition in town I'd probably give this 3 stars but since they're the only option like this and the food was perfectly fine I stuck to 4 stars.

Pros: Decent vegan options, Lots of veggies, Nice portion size

Cons: Might not be as flavorful as most Thai food

CassieTaylor

Points +32

Vegetarian
05 Dec 2021

I love this place!

Keeping in mind that it is the only "alternative" restaurant in a busy tourist town of pub food galore, Thai Chili is a wonderful and welcomed option. There is always delicious vegetarian or vegan options on the menu!

Pros: Lots of options, both vegan and vegetarian, Affordable compared to the rest of town

Cons: Service is not always great

JohannaDMac

Points +16

Vegan
01 Jul 2021

Not totally veg

Of note, they were unable to make me anything that was not contaminated with shrimp (I have anaphylactic allergy) because everything was cooked in the same pots. So I could not eat here.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-01

Pros: Only Asian place in town

Cons: Everything contaminated with meat

ElissaBVegan

Points +2352

Vegan
31 May 2021

Delicious!

We really loved the vegan options at Thai Chili. In fact, we loved them so much that we ate dinner there twice!

Highly recommend!

AlishaM

Points +992

Vegan
09 Jan 2021

Worst Thai food ever

Wow. This was bad. I love Thai food and eat it often and this was the worst I’ve ever had. I ordered the Thai Peanut and the tofu was chewy and flavorless and the peanut sauce tasted like something that should have been poured over ice cream it was so thick and candy-sweet. And absolutely zero spice whatsoever despite requesting it fairly spicy. I may give this place another shot with a different menu item to see if it was a fluke, but only because there are so few options in town. Extremely disappointing meal.

Pros: Several vegan options

Cons: Not Thai food, Not spicy, Just bad

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
06 Jan 2021

Good Stop!

One of the few places with vegan options! Staff knew what vegan meant and changed our orders accordingly. We got the Thai rice curry and the peanut Thai curry. Both were good and the vegetables were steamed which I thought was pretty neat.

Pros: Staff knows what Vegan means, Decent prices

Crystalrhea

Points +664

Vegan
12 Oct 2020

Great options

In the attached photo you will see the slashes by the numbers indicating the available options that can be made vegan. No fish oil in those.

Pros: You can take to go food on the Imogene rooftop , Plenty of choices

Cons: Tofu must be steamed- no separate fryer

alicej18

Points +261

Vegan
19 Jul 2020

Strange place

Unfortunately, the staff did not know what items contained fish sauce and only named a mixed vegetable plate as the only vegan option despite the menu having a Thai peanut vegetable dish as literally the only labeled vegan option. This is the worst Thai place I’ve ever experienced. Food was far from authentic and the staff was rude in addition to not knowing what the vegan items were. I did specifically ask about the Tom Kha soup and was told it had fish sauce in it as well as all the curries and the pad Thai cannot be made without fish sauce too apparently. If you want a hot dinner of broccoli and tofu with melted peanut butter on top this is your place.

Cons: Rude staff, Staff not trained on ingredients , Limited menu

ChristyLambert

Points +68

Vegan
03 Feb 2020

Best Option in Ouray

Ouray is slim-pickings for vegan food, and Thai Chili is by far the best option! We come here at least once during our stays in Ouray every year. Perfect for a protein-rich meal for recovery after a day of climbing. Tom Kha is amazingggg and vegan as-is, must try!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonably priced

Cons: Gets really busy




This page has been viewed 1500 times.