• Teashop By The Canal

  • (9)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
British
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Tea shop set on the canal with a separate vegetarian/vegan menu. Vegan dishes include vegan breakfast, vegan sausage sandwich, beans on toast, soup, a vegan cake. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-17:00.


Venue map for Teashop By The Canal
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by jollypig

ShannonStones

Points +531

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Beautiful scenery, a few vg options

Visited 09/23 had a cheese, tomato and chutney toastie (£7) (comes with crisps and salad) and a lime and coconut cake slice (£5).

If you would like afternoon tea with a scone you must call/book ahead. They did not have vg scones readily available and only one cake option. Very pretty scenery but a little pricey. Toastie & cake were tasty, however.

Advertisement

SJS5

Points +450

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

Brunch

We wanted a fry up breakfast as saw the nice photo above but sadly they don't do fry ups of any variety anymore. I had avo toast with salad leaves and tomatoes and a large pot of tea, both very nice. The best bit of this cafe is it's position next to the canal. I'd go again but poss just for a cake. If you want a lush fry up go to Cote in town yum!!!

wilsonschneidg

Points +2593

Vegan
15 Jun 2021

Light Meal Options

We stopped here for lunch whilst we drove through Newbury. There were multiple vegan options on the menu, all were quite similar. The food was okay - it didn’t taste bad, but the portions were very small and quite basic. There weren’t many vegan cakes available. There was some seating inside but a lot more outside by the canal.

Pros: Low prices

Nicola1111

Points +901

Vegan
08 Sep 2020

Expensive afternoon tea!

Booked in advance for the vegan afternoon tea, my partner had a omni one. Was told on the phone when booking that the scone was actually frozen so I couldn't choose a plain one.
Arrived on the day and double checked mine was a vegan afternoon tea. Sat down and was brought 2x Victoria sponge slices and tea and coffee. I queried if these were vegan, one was taken away and some oat milk brought over to go with the tea.
The afternoon tea itself costs £23 per person usually (we got £20 off in total as it was the last day of eat out to help out)
You get one large scone which was incredibly dry, more like a rock cake. Vegan butter and jam, 3 Tiny finger sandwiches, and one fairy cake and a small strawberries and cream. My bf had a few more extra cakes. The tea was delicious, I wish the scone had been fresh but there is no way I would have paid £23 for it!
I think there should have at least been fresh scones and vegan cream along with a proper slice of cake.
The cafe also does vegan sandwiches and a vegan flapjack. (which wasn't included with the tea) But they really should reduce their price of the vegan afternoon tea if it is not on par with the omni one!

Cons: Expensive

Happycolour

Points +228

Vegan
04 May 2020

Cuteness in abundance!

Visited a few months ago - love this cute cafe placed by the canal! Vegan options available - I had a delicious avocado on toast and did a takeaway of some vegan treats (flapjacks were a hit).

Pros: Great presentation, Cute interior , Friendly staff

Cons: Very cosy - advise booking a table!

Ptdickinson

Points +21

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Place with character

Lovely location tea rooms with a good selection of options on the menu for vegans and veggies. Friendly staff, grade 2 listed building, excellent food. And accommodated is easily, even when I forgot to ask for dairy-free butter on my toast they swapped it without complaint. Highly recommended

Pros: Good for vegan breakfast, lunch and snacks, Unique venue with great canal views , Friendly staff

Cons: Small so book a table if possible

chickapea

Points +21

Vegan
24 Apr 2019

Cute cafe

Friendly little place with a good vegan breakfast and some vegan cake.

Pros: Independent, Nice location, Good vegan breakfast

nwindhauser

Points +418

Vegan
22 Apr 2019

Beautiful setting and yummy food

Outdoor seating was beautiful by the water. We enjoyed lunch with vegan sandwiches and a vegan flapjack. The minestrone soup of the day was also vegan. We came here after visiting Highclere Castle.

Pros: Several vegan options, Reasonable prices

Cons: None

jollypig

Points +3060

Vegan
30 May 2018

Vegan Breakfast by the Canal

Came here on the way to Highclere Castle (aka Downton Abbey). It's a nice setting on the canal (in summer) and they have a veggie/vegan/gluten-free menu. The coffee and vegan breakfast was great.

The staff are really friendly too.

Recommended.

Pros: Nice food, Lovely setting, Friendly staff




This page has been viewed 2719 times.