• MSP - Shoyu - T1

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
International
Japanese
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Sushi
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Sushi and noodles with vegan options. Each seat has an iPad Wi-fi. Open Mon 8:00am-10:00pm, Tue-Sun 5:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for MSP - Shoyu - T1
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by Durpadurp

abbyanlocascio

Points +18

Vegan
29 Dec 2020

Great food, great staff, bit pricy

Really accommodating. I pressed on the iPad to call the waitess and talk about vegan options. The lady I talked to knew what she was doing and was very helpful. I went with the Ginger Lo Mein with added tofu and swapping for rice noodles (all the other noodles have egg just fyi) food came so fast!

Advertisement

mchollandred

Points +11

Mostly Veg
03 Jan 2020

Great veg. breakfast burrito

Vegetarian breakfast burrito was very good. Much better than the fast food nearby. Service was good as well. Would highly recommend if it wasn’t so expensive.

Cons: Expensive

lilypadhai

Points +142

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

Pretty good.

The food is good, nothing special. There are 4 rolls that are vegan and one noodle dish (wild mushroom soba). All other options are vegetarian or meat. The wild mushroom soba does not appear on the menu as vegan, but the waitress told me they just changed it so it is vegan now.

It was nice to have a sit down option at the airport, but it is $$.

Pros: Vegan options, Able to add tofu to dishes

Cons: Expensive, Not terribly creative for vegan, Limited vegan options

KatieBush

Points +3172

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Shoyu

It's expensive and you don't get a lot and the staff gets confused about what is "vegan" (i.e. I had a vegan ramen with a boiled egg in it the first go round) but the ramen is really good once they get the order right. Be sure to ask about the noodles as some have egg in them. The chef knew what's up. It's a nice place to eat while passing through MSP. Oh! The little newsstand across from Shoyu has vegan candies if you want a treat, too.

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-27

Meowmeow

Points +788

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

Disorganized, uninformed staff

I have passed this place a number of times. It is in Concourse G. If you’re traveling from C concourse, it’s a good 10min walk. They used to have a big printed stand-up sign menu that labeled what was vegan but this time they had replaced everything with an iPad ordering system. As you can imagine, the menu on the iPad had nothing labeled and no ingredients listed, just dish names that when selected add to your cart instead of giving you details.

Lots of people standing around behind the counter but I struggled to get answers on what was vegan. The first guy to help me was ESL and like most men, rather than admitting he didn’t understand my question, just kept telling me to order on the iPad like I’m an idiot. This was a massive waste of time as I had a 40min layover.

I eventually had a woman help me order a “ginger chow mein” and they agreed to make it with rice noodles instead of egg noodle and not put oyster sauce on it. The dish was onion, noodle and bean sprouts (mung bean). I had asked for tofu, this was not added. They put both wooden chopsticks and single use plastic fork knife and spoon set in the a plastic bag without asking you anything. I returned the plastic utensils and asked for hot sauce, which they don’t have prepared in packages.

Glad I did because this was really salty, soy sauce tasting noodles with barely any ginger. I would only return here if they improve their iPad menu to properly label stuff and I had time to sit down. Not worth $15 for this dish.

Pros: None

Cons: Expensive, Staff and menu do not know what is vegan, No tofu

13RUN5

Points +206

Vegan
04 Mar 2019

Vegan options at MSP

Good soup. Friendly staff.

Pros: Mushroom Raman is awesome., Concourse G, Staff willing to adjust menu items to veganize.

Saga

Points +70

Vegan
06 Nov 2018

Vegan treat!

The mushroom soba soup is not only vegan, but one of the best vegan ramens I've ever had! Staff is very helpful regarding food ingredient inquiries. Lots of beer choices!

Pros: Great staff, fresh food

Durpadurp

Points +114

Vegan
27 Nov 2017

Land and EAT!!!

This place is so good that after I land I stay in the airport to EAT!! My favorites are the Wild Mushroom Soba (with Vegetable stock) and the Futomaki Roll (under specialty rolls) Serious good. Best airport eats in the country!

Pros: Vegan options, Delicious, Fast




This page has been viewed 5191 times.