• Taste of Ethiopia

  • (7)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Buffet
Take-out
African
Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Lunch buffet includes has several vegan suitable dishes. Previously located at 29702 Southfield Rd, Dec 2016. Open Mon-Thu 3:00pm-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 12:00pm-11:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Taste of Ethiopia
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by houndmom

VeganOnTheMove

Points +53

Vegan
29 Jan 2024

Best Vegan Ethiopian Food.

I've been going to this restaurant for many years and the food is always good. They are knowledgeable about vegan food; there's not a concern about what you're being served. The service is gracious and friendly. Prices are reasonable. Would give it 5 stars if I could.

Pros: Overall good experience

Advertisement

EatGoodVegFood

Points +92

Vegan
28 Mar 2021

Such great food

Great traditional Ethiopian food. Clearly labeled vegan options and we appreciated the vegan desserts as well. Everything was tasty. The tea was also really good.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan options. , Quality food , Vegan dessert options

Cons: I prefer to support 100% vegan restaurants , Lamb ( and other animal carcasses) on the menu

j.eni_

Points +100

Vegan
01 Jul 2020

the vegan options are wonderful!

the owner of the store was our server and was very excited when i mentioned i was vegan, and very helpful with pointing out what is vegan and what wasn't.
the food is very good, felt very authentic with a great atmosphere
even had some appetizers and desserts vegan

Pros: very yummy authentic food

amwhite91

Points +508

Vegan
11 Jan 2019

Cool place

I've lived near here for a long time, and they have always been enjoyable. If I remember correctly, the owner herself is vegan.

Pros: Many options, Great decor, Good lunch special

XOXO

Points +1760

Vegan
16 Jul 2016

my favorite Ethiopian restaurant with vegan options

Call ahead of time to ask enjira made 100% out of Teff, no wheat added.

booya

Points +80

Vegan
29 Jan 2011

Loved it! great vegan options and delicious food

I went to the southfield location after seeing groupon special. I'm a vegan and not easily impressed. I was surprised to learn that Ethiopians eat vegan every Wednesday and Friday as well as during most or all of their holidays. Bottom line, as a result this place has delicious vegan options, including a vegan dessert consisting of plantains, vegan carmel, and vanilla soy ice cream (by request). I strongly suggest the vegetarian sampler plate (which is actually vegan). It has 6 vegetable dishes on it. Each tastes better than the next. They provide ample "bread" to scoop up and eat your dish with. The bread is actually a protein packed, flat, soft bread. It seemed very low carb and wheat like. The sampler is more than enough for two people. We were stuffed. There are meat options for your carnivorous friends. The ambiance was cute, warm. Service fast. We went on a Friday night and at certain points there were people lining up at the door waiting for a table. As an added bonus, they serve wine and maybe beer ( I had the south African cab which was good). They have a turkish style coffee that my wife loved. Leave room for the vegan dessert. Overall I have to give it 5 stars. I loved it. But this site only let's you give a max 4 stars to restaurants not labeled as vegetarian. Sort of a dumb rule. I don't see how this place isn't considered vegetarian.

Pros: Food taste, Service, Great vegan options

Cons: I didn't go sooner

houndmom

Points +232

Vegan
08 Jul 2009

Great service, decent fare

Super fast service, friendly. Food was decent-the green beans were overcooked, but otherwise the veggie combo plate was well seasoned and a more than ample serving for one. Reasonably priced.




This page has been viewed 3881 times.