• Tara Natural Foods

  • (9)
    3
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Organic produce, vitamins, cereals, frozen food items, breads, and more. Open Mon-Fri 9:00am-8:00pm, Sat 9:00am-6:00pm.


Venue map for Tara Natural Foods
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by CharYvy

vegangrocerygrabs

Points +1457

Vegan
05 Feb 2024

Great Specialty Store

Tara's is a cute specialty grocery store that offers many unique vegan products. They also have many zero waste/sustainable products as well. A wide and wonderful selection of items, I will definitely be back!

Advertisement

julia.murray

Points +70

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Mixed experiences/great service

Many years ago when I was vegetarian, I reached out to Tara Natural Foods about eggs. Specifically, to ask if they had free range local "happy" eggs. The response I got was very curt, and in hindsight I realize how ridiculous my question was. And while at the time I was taken aback by the pointed response I received, I have come to love this place because it carries many of the random products I need that are difficult to get anywhere else. For example, black salt. Going vegan was easy for me in most respects having been vegetarian for the majority of my life, but eggs were the one thing I missed. Nowadays black salt, chickpea flour and a variety of other spices have more than filled the void I felt for omelettes back then. Overall, some of the specialty items are pricey, but I imagine them to be commensurate with the rent in their location. Overall, have been and will go again as long as I live here.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-20

Pros: Lots of items that are hard to find, fair prices

plantsforlife

Points +252

Vegan
10 Dec 2020

Disappointed

It is wonderful neighbourhood health food store. They do have lot of vegan options there. The staff is not always friendly though.

Pros: Local produce, many vegan food options.

Cons: Can be pricey., Not so friendly staff.

CatherineMauro

Points +68

Vegan
20 Apr 2018

Local treasure

Decent amount of vegan food though with lots of room for more improvement.

hayls04

Points +326

Vegan
12 Sep 2017

A favourite

I've been going to Tara for much longer than I have been vegan for the great selection of bulk foods and health products. I love the focus on local products stocked in store, as well as hard to find specialty ingredients. Although not completely vegan, there are always many vegan products in store some of which you would have little luck finding in other retail stores throughout Kingston.

dummizwetschge

Points +125

Vegan
13 Aug 2017

Personal Favourite Natural Food Store

Tara's is a place I look forward to going to every time. It's not a huge store yet there seems to be so much there to find. I love the warm feeling the store gives off and I love that you can find so many vegan food options there. I also enjoy that they have section that offers different kinds of freshly made butters such as peanut, almond, cashew or apple butter. In addition to their huge selection of natural-, organic-, or just special foods, their staff is very friendly and willing to help you out with any inquiries.

exhale

Points +47

Vegan
20 Jan 2017

A Staple Veg Stop

Looking for local vegan cheese or the latest vegenaise? Then Tara's is the place in downtown Kingston. The staff are always incredibly helpful and your basic vegan needs can certainly be met here.
Tara's also hosts Kingston's local veg organization (Kingston Vegetarian Network) vegan bake sales during the balmy summer months, so they are very supportive of the veg community.
Check out their frozen food area for Daiya pizza and Tofurky items (not always available) and if you are in the need for some Belsoy, this is one of the few places in Kingston to purchase.

Pros: Good vegan staples available., Friendly and helpful staff and locally owned., Great supporters of the Kingston Veg Network.

Cons: Downtown parking is a pain., Don't have a large stock of items., Closed on Sundays.

christopherko

Points +282

Vegan
29 Oct 2015

The Best Place To Shop In Kingston

If you need vegan/veg goods and/or healthy food then THIS is the place to go. It is a bit pricey, but you get great service and a lot of good options. A gem in the heart of downtown Kingston AND right beside the best veg place in the city, The Sleepless Goat!

Pros: Healthy foods, Great selection, Helpful staff

Cons: Expensive

jameswsay

19 Feb 2018

re Sleepless Goat - permanently closed in 2017

CharYvy

Points +38

Vegan
07 Sep 2008

A good place

I've only been here a few times, but they have a great selection of everything. They have vegan stuff, vegetarian stuff, organic stuff, nutrition stuff, etc.
What I noticed most is their variety of chocolates and candies (like vegan gummi bears).
They have a lot of interesting foods.

Pros: Large variety, Good layout, Fast service

Cons: I don't know yet




This page has been viewed 4535 times.