TAN Restaurant

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 11 reviews )
Contact
+32-25378787
Find

Rue de l'Aqueduc 95, Ixelles, Brussels, Belgium, 1050

Serves meat, vegan options available. Organic restaurant attached to a health food store. Has vegetarian, vegan, and raw vegan items. Food is cooked at low temperature or steamed. Zen decor. Open Mon-Sat 12:00pm-2:00pm, 7:00pm-10:00pm.

Categories: International, Organic, Beer/Wine, Take-out, European, Fusion, Non-veg

11 Reviews

First Review by torchs

Tasty but a tad pricey - Edit

I had lunch there twice. I find the food quite original and tasty. One minus: there is only one vegan option, so if there is something you don't like, you don't have any alternative. The other minus is that it is a bit on the pricey side. Nevertheless, I would recommend because it is a fun culinary experience and you get to taste something truly different.

Pros: original, tasty

Cons: only one vegan option , pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice restaurant. - Edit

It's a rather a luxury restaurant, nice place, nice staff and good vegan food.

The passion and love of the staff for what they are doing, is great to see and is one of the lovely points of this restaurant.

Pros: High end restaurant, Great vegan food, Lovely staff

Cons: Not easy to park the car

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/chb-pbfp">chb-pbfp</a> <br/>Table <br/> August 26, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/297518'>Report</a>

Table

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/chb-pbfp">chb-pbfp</a> <br/>Dessert <br/> August 26, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/297517'>Report</a>

Dessert

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/chb-pbfp">chb-pbfp</a> <br/>Food <br/> August 26, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/297516'>Report</a>

Food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

my favorite restaurant in Brussels - Edit

Tan has 2 menus a vegan one and an omnivore. The menus change regularly, according to seasons. Food is fresh, very tasty. The place has a nice atmosphere too and is perfect for romantic diners.

Pros: food is amazing, large choice of wines

Cons: bit pricey, the wine menu is difficult to navigate , desserts are not to the level of the main dishes

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

unacceptable prices - Edit

Allure of grande cusine with exorbitantly unjustified prices: if you want to set your prices on the same level of the "Lucky leek" in Berlin or the "Ghea" in Milan please serve the same variety and degree of taste, textures, sauces and excellent culinary research. Otherwise you may cut down your prices to less than the half you ask

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan fine-dining in Brussels - Edit

Brussels is not Berlin and it's light years from it :)
For such an vegan-unfriendly city, TAN allows you to have a elevated vegan food experience.

From starters, mains to desserts, the food is thought through, delicate, flawless.

The prices are quite high but all elements are organic and beautifully cared for.

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/Vera%20Peres">Vera Peres</a> <br/>chocolate cake  <br/> January 7, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/209141'>Report</a>

chocolate cake

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely place with very unique menu - Edit

I went here recently for a birthday dinner and it was lovely. The menu had a variety of raw vegan and vegan options, all of which looked fabulous. The food was mouthwateringly good and the service was friendly although quite slow. This was understandable however as the restaurant was packed. Would recommend making a reservation if you're interested in going here.

Pros: Unique and delicious food, Beautiful presentation of dishes, Zen atmosphere

Cons: Expensive

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/Michaela_BB">Michaela_BB</a> <br/>Chocolate and strawberry cake <br/> June 4, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/152268'>Report</a>

Chocolate and strawberry cake

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/Michaela_BB">Michaela_BB</a> <br/>Vegan dinner <br/> June 4, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/152267'>Report</a>

Vegan dinner

Photo of TAN Restaurant  by <a href="/members/profile/Michaela_BB">Michaela_BB</a> <br/>Vegan dinner <br/> June 4, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/34635/152266'>Report</a>

Vegan dinner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great lunch on the patio - Edit

Very nice lunch formula, with a vegan entrée and main dish vegan or meat (useful when you go with non-vegans), around 20€.
The patio is really nice for summer and everything is excellent!
A little expensive but all worth it !

Pros: Patio, Vegan available

Cons: A little expensive, Portions not so big

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Happy and satisfied. - Edit

First time I had lunch at there today.

Took the menu and a juice, all tasted very good and were much to my satisfaction. Portions not huge but enough (we all eat too much anyway).

I was able to ask an English menu and was helped in English. I verified if the vegetarian was vegan and was well explained how all ingredients were prepared.

I will go back.

Pros: Interesting dishes., good quality of food, Outside terrace

Cons: restaurant is a bit hidden away

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

sophisticated - Edit

I go there for lunch whenever I'm nearby;
It's slightly pricey but still affordable. I find their food innovative and tasty. But the servings can be small so ... avoid if you are extremely hungry (or, just chew slowly?)

Pros: tasty, sunny terrasse, nice staff

Cons: can be expensive, small servings

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Restaurant! - Edit

My son is a US diplomat posted in Brussels. In October 2013, we took my son, his wife, and friends to Tan. 3 of us are Vegans and rest not. Great vegan meal for us vegans....and great fish and meat meals for our non-vegan friends. Wonderful place where you can go as a vegan and take non vegan friends.

Pros: Excellent food, Vegan option, Has non vegan for non vegans

Cons: Helps to speak French....but can get by

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not recommended - Edit

I was travelling to Brussels for a few days on business and was looking for places that serve vegan options. I found Tan restaurant on Happycow and went in for lunch. I was very disappointed.

First, the menu was all in French. I asked if there was an English menu and the answer was no. I asked if the waitress could translate it for me and she said that doesn't have time for that and asked me what I wanted to eat. I said I was looking for something vegan. She said there is only one vegan option. I ordered it.

Second problem is that there is no wireless internet access for customers.

Finally, the serving was small. It was tasty, but extremely small. I paid about 20 EUR for lunch and left the restaurant hungry.

Luckily, I found a street market on the nearby street and bought some fruits and pastry to satisfy my appetite.

In conclusion, bad service, small servings and expensive. Not recommended.

Pros: Tasty food but small portions

Cons: Bad service, Small servings, Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Brussels Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has TAN Restaurant closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2867 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support