Chinese
Fast food
Take-out
Asian
Vietnamese
Singaporean
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. East Asian food restaurant with a few outlets. Food types range from Vietnamese and Japanese to Indonesian and Singaporean noodle and rice dishes. Has express lunch menu and a separate vegetarian and vegan menu. For dessert the banana fritters and mango sorbet are vegan. Happy hour in drinks and cocktails in the evening. Relocated from Albert Square. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-21:00.


Venue map for Tampopo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by StevieSurf

minksie

Points +73

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

Definitely worth a visit

Good vegan selection with tofu done just right

Pros: Loads of choice , Not expensive, Quick service

Advertisement

NinaW7

Points +247

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

Tasty

There is a good variety of vegan options on the menu. I've been here a few times - the service is great, the food arrives promptly and it is always tasty!

Pros: Tasty food, Good variety of vegan options

ClaireCarole

Points +317

Vegan
12 Jan 2023

🌱

I love tampopo, well marked on the menu, a great variety. Always so tasty, the vegan sharer starter is so good

KathLewitt

Points +46

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Excellent

Loved the black pepper stir-fry

Pros: Lots of vegan options, all freshly cooked, Very friendly staff, Nice sorroundings

CharlieMills

Points +3956

Vegan
01 May 2022

Lots of options

There was lots of vegan options. The yaki udon was delicious and the passion fruit and mango mochi was amazing.

jimboLFC

Points +28

Vegan
28 Oct 2021

Love Tampopo

Excellent vegan options. Beautiful salads and top service. I work nearby and go frequently. Never been let down.

Pros: Food tastes amazing, Good value , Great atmosphere

TatianaLimonova

Points +582

Vegan
01 Aug 2021

Nice food, good atmosphere

As some may already know, my partner and I are weary of going to chains/fusion restaurants sometimes after having been to Southeast Asia a few summers ago.

However, Tampopo did not disappoint! A lovely and respectfully decorated establishment, great staff and swift service.

My partner and I were not too hungry, so decided to get the vegan sharing platter for two (about £14 I believe), which, for central Manchester, is a great deal!

The selection was amazing! The tofu was cooked well and the spring rolls were very tasty. My personal favourite were the pickled cucumbers with sesame seeds.

Definitely recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-01


Updated from previous review on 2021-08-01

Pros: Lots of veg options, Cool ambiance , Good deals

Cons: Serves animal products, Busy

oh.olivia

Points +688

Vegan
30 May 2021

Great food!

I love Tampopo! So many vegan options and all of them are delicious and they also serve meat so it’s an easy place to visit with omnis.

atinyfern

Points +18

Vegan
01 Oct 2019

Amazing Singaporean tofu curry

The staff are lovely, and I didn’t even have to ask for the vegan menu ☺️

boomerang9

Points +17

Vegetarian
23 Jul 2019

AMAZING!

I have been to Tampopo a couple of times because of their Vegan Taste Tour and every single time is a real treat. They have added new spicy stir fry to the menu called Pad Krapow and that might be my new favourite. Also, corn fritters are a must try for all veggies - so so good! Highly recommend as the staff is so friendly and knowledgeable too.

Pros: good value, friendly staff, excellect food

Cons: meat options avalaible

HelenDaly

Points +116

Vegan
04 Jul 2019

Excellent range

Ate here pre-show with my omni-daughter. Offered the vegan menu without having to ask and so much choice! Had 3 small plates, all were fresh and delicious and very good value.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fresh tasty food , Good atmosphere

AbbyKuo

Points +538

Vegan
30 Jun 2019

Nice food

Independent vegan menu available. Wide range of vegan option from sides, starters, rice, noodles, desserts. Recommend! We had katsu curry udon, tamarind tofu with rice, kale and coconut stir fry. Everything is delicious, flavorful and not greasy. Happy that I can to support their vegan menu.

Pros: Lots of vegan option, Yummy, Nice environment

Cons: A bit expensive

Aless81

Points +340

Vegan
05 Jan 2019

Very nice!

Their vegan menu is really amazing and the food is always good! It can get pricey though so be aware.

Pros: A vegan menu, Knowledgeable

Cons: Can be pricey , Drinks are small

Hoggy

Points +1234

Vegan
20 Sep 2017

Time for Tampopo's

Absolutely thrilled to see Tampopo have a clearly labelled, and integrated vegan menu. Delicious food and very helpful and friendly staff. Although the menu includes animal produce, I prefer integrated menus as it makes it more available to omnivores and others who might be interested in trying vegan options but are worried of being treated differently. We invited omni family members and they were fully on board for ordering only vegan options (and there was loads to pick from, which illustrated how tasty and easy it is!), and they wholly enjoyed what they ate! Will happily return to try more of the menu.

Pros: Extensive vegan options, Integrated, clearly labeled menu, Friendly and helpful staff

Cons: Majority animal produce menu

manchestervegan

Points +56

Vegan
17 Jul 2017

Good vegan options

Tasty food, great service, nice atmosphere and decent prices. Several good vegan options, though the number of GF options could be improved significantly by replacing soy with tamari soy sauce or wheat noodles for rice noodles.

jennyc32

Points +3229

Vegan
06 Jan 2017

Tasty and Convenient

I've been to Tampopo by the Town Hall a few times, and I really love it - there are plenty of vegan options, service is fast and friendly, and the food is always well seasoned and delicious. Most recently I tried the tamarind "duck" dish, and I would highly recommend it. The sauce was so flavoursome. Portion sizes are usually good, and it's really clear which dishes are vegan or veganisable. The spring rolls are always a delicious starter too.

The location is really convenient and it's a good one if you're in a group of mixed dietary requirements - everyone should be happy.

Pros: Fast and friendly service, Decent number of vegan dishes, Delicious flavours

Sapppho

Points +102

Vegetarian
23 Sep 2016

Delicious Asian food

Tampopo is an Asian restaurant that also serves meat, but they have quite a lot of vegetarian and vegan options available. One of the thing I liked was that many of the dishes that normally contain meat are also available in veg*an combinations which are marked in the menu, so there's plenty to choose from, including ramen, fried rice and noodled and different curries. Their spring rolls are simply mouthwatering and I really liked the vegetarian fried rice too. Tampopo is conveniently located in the city centre just outside Arndale. The prices are pretty average. Some evenings the restaurant can get crowded. I'd probably give them a 4 for the food itself but I'm taking away one star since they do serve meat.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-23

Pros: delicious food

Cons: gets crowded

saffron_summer

Points +105

Vegan
10 Sep 2016

Plenty of options

I went to Tampopo in the Corn Exchange & found the staff really helpful. The menu shows exactly what is veggie & vegan. There are a variety of options for vegans!

Pros: Lots of labelled options, staff very helpful

StevieSurf

Points +1895

Vegan
19 Jun 2016

A fair city centre choice

This is a handy option. It's an omni restuarant but it's a city centre staple for lunch or dinner with omni diners. There are some decent starter and main choices for vegans and veggies. Staff are pretty well informed about veg/an options. Decor is in the style of Japanese industrial with diners sat on long communal benches.

Pros: Location , Well priced , Some decent options

Cons: Basement - lack of natural light , Served meat, etc




This page has been viewed 5410 times.