Lacto
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Greek
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Traditional Greek family style restaurant. Vegetarian items are marked. Uses local produce and extra virgin olive oil. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-12:00am.


Venue map for Tamam
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by Yogini68

Lacquo

Points +94

Vegan
17 Aug 2023

Good place

Many vegetarian options, but no vegan options. You have to ask the waiter which one is vegan.

Pros: place, kindly staff, design

Cons: vegan food is not separated from vegetarian

Advertisement

thomasbk

Points +710

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Popular restaurant

The two dining rooms and outside seating were packed, so reservations are recommended. It's basically a single entree, but it's better than nothing and did taste good.

Pros: Lively ambiance

Cons: Needs more options

wizardworm

Points +24

Vegan
14 Jul 2023

Excellent meal for two

Waiter was very helpful in pointing out vegan options on menu. We had a combination of starters and a main - vine leaves, tomato fritters, beans in garlic sauce, and the (main) Iranian rice. We ate it all. Great portion size and superb depth of flavour in a nice setting. Would love to come back and try the stuffed veg and the salads. We loved this meal.

Pros: Helpful staff, Vegan options , Beans in garlic sauce

NicoleMirasol

Points +116

Vegan
15 May 2023

Delicious

Vegan options and staff new exactly which were vegan. Delicious tomato fritters especially!

jlord

Points +197

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Ticks all the boxes

Everything we ordered was delicious (Iranian rice was a highlight) and there was a great selection of vegan-friendly traditional Greek dishes.

ClareMayo

Points +76

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Poor options for vegans

We went to Tamam last night based on other Happy Cow reviews. The Iranian rice dish was delicious but it was the only vegan main option. There are restaurants in Chania with better vegan choices.

Pros: Good atmosphere., Food is delicious.

Cons: Only one vegan main dish., Busy (best to book). , No view.

BenjaminCares

Points +32

Vegan
25 Jul 2022

Yum!

When you arrive they sit you down with complementary whole wheat bread and olive tapenade, which makes for a solid whetting of the appetite.

We ordered a gorgeous cold, shredded veggie salad with avocado which was refreshing and a sizeable portion for two!

The Iranian rice was tender and fragrant and very satisfying as a main course.

Pros: Good vegan options

tofu_panda

Points +430

Vegan
23 Jun 2022

A nice hideaway behind the harbour

Good friendly service, staff knowledgeable about vegan options.
Just a handful of vegan options but worth a visit if you here for a few days. Get here early as tables get booked quickly.

Pros: Good service , Popular place

Cons: Just a few vegan options

El_J

Points +65

Vegan
08 Jun 2022

Delicious traditional food

The food here was absolutely delicious. The waiter was super friendly and helpful and brought me their allergen menu so I could see what was vegan and gluten free. I had the giant beans in garlic sauce which were absolutely divine and then the Iranian rice which was a huge portion but I ate all of it cos it was so good! Service was quick too. House wine is only 5 euro for 500ml and very nice. Free raki at the end of our meal and you can buy a recipe book to recreate some of the dishes which we will defo be doing. Highly recommend

SaraKuv

Points +128

Vegan
17 Nov 2021

Alright

The food took forever to get ready, it was okay but not anywhere close to the best Greek food in the island.

Cons: Pricey

Aiwendil

Points +948

Vegan
06 Oct 2021

Delicious

Very good food. We had white beans in garlic sauce, aubergine salat and tomato balls. Everything was perfect and we were full after it. With two drinks we paid around 25€ and got free bread with salsa, water, a cake and raki.
The stuff an location are very nice.
We went here two times, because it was so good. At the second time we ask about the tomato balls: attention they are not vegan, other people here wrote they are, but they aren’t!!! The waiter told us, there is egg and cheese inside.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-04

NofiManson

Points +70

Vegan
18 Sep 2021

Great place!

Cozy restaurant, great dinner and many vegan options, we loved the giant beans and the tomato fritters is is very unique and tasty! And we got a dessert and raki on the house because they saw we enjoyed so much!

CaroleJuigné

Points +20

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Wawwwh !!!

It was soooo good!!! You have to test the smoked smashed eggplant, and the tomato Fried.... The giant beans are also good. Really excellent restaurant ! Be carrefull for the tomato and pepper stuffed with rice, you have cheese on the plate and it wasn't notified

Pros: Many vegan choices, Really tasty

Cons: You have to pay the bread that they bring you

dsusanw

Points +78

Vegan
18 Sep 2019

I’m so full, and it tasted great!

I wasn’t starving, so I thought I would just get a couple appetizers. I got the giant beans in garlic, yummy! The other two or three times I’ve gotten them around Greece they were in a tomato base flavoring. This was very nice. I also got the grape leaves, I asked him how many were in a serving, he said seven. There were 9 😊. I asked about the tomato and zucchini fritters, but they are made with egg, despite what other people have said in the reviews. The appetizers came with bread and a tomato salsa type dip, and they brought complimentary dessert and a shot of Raki! Very friendly!!
Update: I didn’t ask for the bread, there was a charge of €1.3 on my bill I asked what it was, they said for the bread.

DNice88

Points +713

Vegan
07 Dec 2018

My favorite restaurant in Crete!

I highly recommend the giant beans in garlic sauce and the vegetable soup. I also had the dakos (bread with tomato sauce) with no cheese and the roasted red pepper dip that comes with every meal and both were good.

Pros: everything is so flavorful, excellent beans and soups

Cons: limited vegan options

ecovegangal

Points +199

Vegan
13 Nov 2018

Authentic Greek Experience!

I came to this restaurant after discovering that Pulse was closed for the season, and it turned out this was exactly what I was looking to experience! This restaurant is on two sides of the street, one above ground and one below street level. I chose the latter because there was a live Greek band playing, which really set the atmosphere. I consulted the previous reviews to help me decide what to order (vegetarian dishes were clearly marked, but not vegan). The tomato fritters and giant beans were great choices; both melted in my mouth and were extremely flavorful. The complimentary bread and tomato dip were also lovely, as was the on-the-house ouzo at the end. Service was excellent too. Would return!

Pros: Vegetarian dishes marked on menu, Great service, Authentic Greek atmosphere

Cons: Vegan options not marked on menu

lillafrost

Points +290

Vegan
07 Nov 2018

Best food I’ve had in Greece!

The Imam Baildi is to die for, for those who eat cheese. The great white beans were also a delight, not to mention the sheep’s milk ice cream (I tried almond flavor). I would’ve easily given five stars based on the quality of the food, if Happy Cow allowed it. Hands down the most flavorful dishes I’ve had in Greece.

Pros: Flavors that make you cry (in a good way), Super friendly staff, No problems with boxing the leftovers

Cons: More vegan options would have been great

Sandra-aus-Wien

Points +48

Vegan
30 Oct 2018

Indeed originally greek

We had to skip our vegan diet and accepted the goat cheese but this was the best trade I made this year. So I could experience the traditional Boureki and the aromatic Imam Baildi. Each dish with different tastes. And yes, you should not miss the gigantes, try the tomato fritters with them.

Pros: Great tastes, Original tavern , Homemade

Cons: Not so many vegan dishes , Allways full, not easy to get a table

Hearticulture

Points +216

Vegan
25 Oct 2018

Vegan Option - Great Gigantes

Tamam is a very cute spot in old town and the waiter was so accommodating to me when I explained that I am vegan. I ordered a fabulous salad with a variety of vegetable (huge - the size was for two people to share so I brought half home), and GIGANTES. When I told the waiter I wanted to learn to make these at home, he let me take a photo of their cookbook - how nice was that?

Pros: Vegan friendly, Outstanding Gigantes, Ambience

JohanBrundin

Points +24

Vegan
13 Jul 2018

very good vegan rice cource

We tried Iranian rice and pasta napolitana, both very good. Price around 8€.

Pros: Several vegan options

Nazan

Points +56

Vegan
17 Jun 2018

Most delicious vegan options in Chania

This is my second time in Chania and on the way here I was already dreaming about coming here...We ate here on our first day and will definitely eat again on our last day. All of their vegan options are great but Gigantes is the best ever!

Pros: Deliciously tasty food, Many vegan options, Excellent location

Cons: Not exclusively vegan

Yogini68

Points +287

Vegan
23 May 2018

Charming location

There were limited vegan items on the menu but our server was very helpful in pointing out my options. I had the stuffed vine leaves and tomato fritters, both of which were delicious. They also have giant beans, Iranian rice, and a salad for vegan options. The setting is absolutely beautiful, located in the old town, housed in a Venetian building that dates back to the 14th century, and with outdoor seating that feels like quintessential Greece.




This page has been viewed 4008 times.