53
Lacto
Fast food
Take-out
Mexican
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant specializing in tamales. Menu lists vegan and vegetarian options. Open Tue-Sun 9:00am-4:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Tamaliza
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

53 Reviews

First Review by thorok73

teresapineda

Points +50

Vegan
01 Sep 2023

Delicious

The ramal was so good, had not had a tamale in a very long time and this definitely satisfied my craving. The horchata is to die for yummm. Love it I will definitely be coming back when I visit Sedona.

Pros: Tamale and horchata were delicious

Cons: A bit pricey for the size.

Advertisement

RicinBeans

Points +506

Herbivore
27 Aug 2023

Probably the best vegan breakfast option

On a recent trip here, my husband and I had a hard time finding places that were open early and had good vegan options. This was one of the few places that fit the bill and it was very tasty! They were serving the whole menu even though it was early. We got the chilaquiles and mushroom tacos and they were very good. Friendly service and a really nice little outdoor seating area too. Portions were a bit small for the price, but Sedona is just expensive generally so it didn't seem too out of line compared to other places in town.

Pros: Good vegan breakfast, Nice ambiance, Friendly service

Cons: Small portions

ronitw

Points +639

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

Came out Hungry!

The price of vegan tamal supremo is $19.50. It's tasty. But the portion is small and not fulfilling.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-08

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Small portions , Expensive

lulacoco

Points +64

Vegan
25 Mar 2023

Yummy vegan options

The menu has the vegan items clearly marked and there was enough to choose from. For two of us we ordered chips & salsa, guacamole, vegan tamales, vegan tacos, and vegan enchiladas. Everything was fresh and tasty. My favorites were the tamales and tacos.πŸ˜„

veganityinsanity

Points +38

Vegan
22 Feb 2023

Bland food, small portions, expensive

Went here on a friend's recommendation but was overall pretty disappointed. Chips and guacamole were ok but very small portion of guac. Got the vegan tacos with rice and beans, with the horchata and Jamaica on the side. Horchata was solid and naturally vegan, probably my favorite part of the meal. The Jamaica tasted like musty hibiscus flowers and did not seem to be spiced which is strange to me for sorrel drinks. The vegan protein in the tacos was shredded mushrooms and they were just kind of...there, not a whole lot of flavor or texture. The rice had no texture or flavor, the black beans were pretty standard. Got some salsa to finish the chips; it tasted like they blended the whole batch so odd texture and flavor for salsa.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-22

Pros: Vegan options clearly marked

Cons: Expensive, Bland

Dwerber

Points +114

Vegan
31 Dec 2022

Expensive for no reason

Very very expensive for small portions and okay food, not many vegan options and the meat substitution is mushrooms.
Even the sparkling water bottle is $4. Limited seating inside, small place.
You order and pay at the counter before food arrives, and yet when we were leaving the lady asked us in front of everyone if we paid. Not good service. Won't be coming back.

GoodNewsVeg

Points +297

Vegan
07 Dec 2022

Such a Welcome Place!

After eating mediocre vegan food for a few days in Sedona, it was such happiness to find this restaurant. Truly authentic Mexican cuisine, people who went out of their way to accommodate vegan customers. The offerings were not just an afterthought. No fake meat, just delicious flavors. Wonderful place, can't wait to go back.

Pros: Authentic food, No fake meat, just delicious flavors

Cons: Small

meroe05

Points +782

Vegan
22 Nov 2022

Vegan Tamales!

Delicious Mexican food. They use some organic ingredients. Vegan options clearly noted on the menu. Try the tamales.

Sdramos

Points +202

Vegan
19 Nov 2022

Vegan options

Food was soooo delicious. Little pricey and Not much indoor seating though.

AlexiaL

Points +282

Vegan
09 Nov 2022

Yummy fresh tamales, obviously never frozen

I enjoyed a SUP vegan tamale πŸ˜‹

Pros: Clear vegan options, Thoughtful, friendly, accommodating , Family owned and operated

nataliegalliano

Points +20

Vegan
14 Oct 2022

Fresh Authentic Mexican Food

Great local business with tasty options in all the usual Mexican offerings made vegan with oyster mushrooms-YUM!! they don’t sell alcohol, but have a nice refreshing hibiscus home made tea.

Pros: Fresh food , Casual atmosphere , Lots of vegan options

Janisd

Points +48

Vegan
11 Sep 2022

Best Vegan Tamales

My husband and I stopped by for Vegan Tamales. This was a wonderful lunch option while in Sedona. Excellent service and an outdoor seating option.

Pros: Fresh ingredients , Outside eating area option

MaddyBrancati

Points +22

Vegan
23 Aug 2022

Best vegan tamale!

Best vegan tamale I’ve ever had. They also have a lot of other vegan options (enchiladas, tacos, burritos, etc). Everyone was very friendlyπŸ˜„

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Mikhelk

Points +185

Vegan
07 Aug 2022

Open on Sundays…at least this Sunday

Vegan tamale supremo is very delicious. Not a $20 meal but delicious.

If you don’t want to park next to a leather store turn into the lot in front of the cafe, not the lot where the street sign for the cafe is visible. The cafe front lot is between airport road and a real estate office that separates the cafe from its road sign.

JulienneSlice

Points +1441

Vegan
24 May 2022

Organic & flavorful

Tamaliza is a nice family run Mexican restaurant that prioritizes fresh organic ingredients.
I ordered the vegan poblano peppers with corn
tamale supreme. It was flavorful and delicious. The supremo plate comes with an addition of black beans, guacamole, raw spinach and some pickled radish. I found the amount raw spinach to be a bit too much and was not integrated into the dish that well. I love me some greens but that amount of raw spinach just tasted like an afterthought and the tamale itself was smaller in comparison to the price. Overall the price for the plate is bit high considering to veganize it the cheese and sour cream is removed but the price stays the same.
You can order the tamale a la carte and personally I would probably order it a la carte and get a couple tacos to try out next time.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-27

Pros: Organic , Vegan options , Nice view from the patio

Cons: Bit pricey for the value

EPvegan

Points +106

Vegan
04 May 2022

Authentic tamales

Tamaliza serves authentic Mexican food. They specialize in tamales, which are super good. The staff understands vegan needs. I highly recommend this restaurant if you're in Sedona AZ.

Pros: Authentic Mexican dishes, Several vegan options, Friendly staff

MeeraPatel

Points +69

Vegetarian
24 Mar 2022

Lovely discovery in Sedona

This place is an absolute gem - small but decorated beautifully! The staff are very friendly, service very fast, and the food was amazing. Between us, we tried the burrito, enchiladas, tamales and chips and salsa - all very tasty. Pretty much everything on the menu can be made vegan. Portion sizes were perfect.

Pros: Pretty much everything can be made vegan, Reasonably priced given general prices in sedona, Friendly and welcoming staff

JuliannaK

Points +65

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2022

Really tasty

Loved the atmosphere. Had the vegan tamales and It was really good! Small portions if you get A La Carte.

k8vinny

Points +16

Vegan
24 Feb 2022

Wish I could give them 5 stars! The tamales and smothered burritos are delish!

I loved the oyster mushrooms in adobo sauce 🀀

heathera75

Points +274

Vegan
08 Jan 2022

non gmo with organic, but pricey

Great little find. I had the vegan enchiladas and they were delicious. I wish they did also have a vegan cheese though. They have vegan tamales and vegan tacos also. They say they use organic spinach and organic beans. I saw a garden outside restaurant with tomato and bell pepper plants. Not sure if this is where they get some of the ingredients? Anyway, cute chairs and nice view as well. The only issue is the price- ouch! 3.5 stars

Updated from previous review on 2018-08-26

Pros: Some organic, Some vegan, Tasty

Cons: Price

TPriss78

Points +27

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Great flavor - vegan tamale and guacamole

Wish I could give more than 4 stars. Burritos and tamales have vegan options.

Pros: Some vegan options , We were able to order online for pickup

harriettkp

Points +66

Vegan
03 Nov 2021

Delish!!

Authentic Mexican food, fresh homemade vegan tamale supreme to die for. Quick Service.

eatingeggplant

Points +710

Vegan
13 Aug 2021

So Fresh & So Clean

This restaurant is definitely a hidden gem in Sedona. It is so fresh and absolutely delicious. I feel like anyone would enjoy these dishes. The enchiladas comes with corn tortillas and the burrito comes with flour. I definitely enjoyed the burrito more than the enchiladas but both are absolutely recommended. The guacamole and chips are also a really great appetizer to start before the entree. Is a little pricey (not more pricey than other restaurants in Sedona) but definitely worth trying AT LEAST once.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-13


Updated from previous review on 2021-08-13

Pros: A good bit of vegan options , Super fresh ingredients , BIPOC Owner

Cons: A little expensive for the portion size

VinceVandemolegraaf

Points +165

Vegan
07 Aug 2021

Bad bad and bad

We ordered our food within 1 minute my wife had hers and I waited for 15 minutes. I walked out as they prepared my plate. My wife had finished hers so what the point of having a meal together. They charge extra for tortillas, water, salsa and mole.

Pros: Leaving

Tabgreenvegan

Points +1031

Vegan
14 Jun 2021

Delicious Tamales!

This place is super cute & they have tons of vegan options, including the rice & beans. Highly recommend the tamales!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Beans & rice are vegan, Patio

YozgartGarcia

Points +88

Herbivore
18 Dec 2020

Great little place with a vegan tamale πŸ«” option

Little girl that works there is one her toes don't see kids like that now a days

Pros: 1 vegan option in tamale πŸ«” , They have black bean and rice 🍚

Cons: Pricey

Adventurechica

Points +859

Vegan
02 Dec 2020

Great options

Got the tamales with poblano peppers it came load with beans guac lettuce. It was good. Would order again

Pros: Lots of vegan options tacos enchiladas and tomale




This page has been viewed 8271 times.