• Tadu Ethiopian Kitchen

  • (20)
    29
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Delivery
African
Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ethiopian food place, has spiced vegetable dishes. Veg items are marked. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Tadu Ethiopian Kitchen
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by mmeghani

maem.

Points +34

Vegan
02 Aug 2022

Vegetarian Platter 馃拵

My boyfriend & I usually get the veggie platter and it NEVER disappoints. Great lunch option, if you want something filling and healthy!

Pros: Vegan options , Fresh food

Advertisement

路X路

Points +15739

Vegan
20 Jan 2022

Tadu Ethiopian Kitchen

I have eaten at both Tadu locations several times over the years and both offer delicious food. Prior to the location that opened in Mission Bay, I'd often order delivery from this location. For those unfamiliar with the area, it's not very appealing / safe-feeling, so be careful if walking around here. The food itself is very delicious. My favorite is usually the cabbage and potatoes. They have some interesting dishes with beets too. Overall, I've never had a bad experience with their food.

Aniseed

Points +4737

Vegan
01 Nov 2020

Great Vegan Ethiopian!!

We got the Veggie Combo with an assortment of dishes (a few bites of each) and the Vegetarian Banatu, both are vegan. I recommend Veggie Combo if you want to try a bit of everything. If you want to try 2 dishes I recommend the Gomen (collard greens) and Key Sir (beets and potatoes). The Vegetatian Banatu was good also, but I honestly think I preferred it as leftovers (the flavour was better the next day I thought!). The injera here is excellent. We placed a phone order for pick up, the man helping us was really nice.
It had been way too long since I had good Ethopian! This really hit the spot! Another good spot for Vegan Ethiopian is Rahel in Hollywood, CA (100% vegan establishment).

blippie

Points +36

Vegan
23 Sep 2019

Delicious, lots of options

First off: unless you are very comfortable with homeless people, you will want to take a lyft or similar to this place. This neighbourhood is not for casual strolling around.

I had the vegetable combo with injera and it was fantastic. One of the things I love about Ethiopian food is that there are so many courses that are vegan by default, without substitutions or subtractions. The default seasoning is decidedly not spicy, so if you have found Ethiopian food a bit too much before, this is for you. Of course, they are happy to provide spice to anyone who asks. The salad and the two dressings was a perfect complement to the hearty vegetable stews provided. The service was not super attentive, but the food arrived quickly and the portions are generous.

Pros: Lots of options, Very healthy food

Cons: Very rough neighbourhood

Terryptran

Points +16

Vegan
07 Sep 2019

A little gem in TL

It has a lot of vegan/vegetarian options, and more than generous portion. The prices are very reasonable and the food is delicious. I witness acts of kindness from the owner towards a homeless person that made me feel even better about my overall experience. I will definitely be back. They deserve a fifth star.

pmesman

Points +319

Vegan
17 Aug 2019

Amazing kitchen

A small but really nice restaurant. Lots of vegan options and the Ethiopian kitchen tastes great.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Really reasonable priced

oddoom

Points +37

Vegan
23 Apr 2019

love

delicious food w/ a hearty list of inexpensive, large-portioned, wholesome veg options! the best part was the extremely kind staff. would give 5 stars

Rica

Points +13

Vegetarian
02 Oct 2017

Super Lecker

Sehr freundliche und zuvorkommende Bedienung. Die vegetarian combo hat uns sehr gut geschmeckt. Gerne wieder :)

Pros: keine

Cons: keine

AlexanderTaylor

Points +282

Vegan
20 Aug 2017

v tasty and vegan options labelled

great food and easy to find something to eat! we got the vegetarian combo (vegan) to share and we loved it.

HolyNoCow

Points +25

Herbivore
14 Aug 2017

Good to know it's there

The place is a hole in the wall and the decor very basic, sort of fast food ambiance. However, the food was quite good, not spectacular but good. The menu is not vegetarian/vegan however these options are mostly marked and there is quite some choices. Service was very friendly and helpful. We were also unexpectedly presented with dessert (equally unexpectedly vegan). All for a very reasonable price. It's good to know that there is this place downtown.

Pros: Quite a range of vegan options. Quick and simple.

Cons: Fast food ambiance.

MFOPhotography

Points +91

Vegan
07 Jun 2017

Delicious Birthday Dinner!

Tadu is a real gem in the city! I love Ethiopian food not just for the taste but for the "shared experience " you have with others all eating from the same plate! This was my husbands and mine first experience at this restaurant . The service was prompt and friendly and we will definitely visit again when we are in the city!

Pros: Quality and taste of food, Courteous and Friendly service

BanjoGirl

Points +227

Vegan
08 May 2017

Really bad neighborhood. Really bad.

So the veggie plate was good. Reasonably priced and yummy. The service was lacking. Tiny glasses of water remained unfilled. It took a long time to get he check. The place is tiny- we had to wait on the sidewalk for a table for quite a while. This is only a big deal because the area is horrible. This appeared to be the only place not gated up (7pm, Sunday). There were swarms of homeless and mentally ill folks around, and very few other people. My friend and I are from NY and Chicago and both of us felt like this seemed like one of the worst areas we had ever been to. Would not return.

Pros: good food, good price

Cons: bad neighborhood, few tables

jennamelanie

Points +120

Vegan
21 Jan 2017

Amazing

If I could give it 5 stars I would. Small joint but with delicious food. Great portion sizes, filling. Heaps of vegan options, all outlined on menu with a code. They know what vegan is. Unlimited injera and gave my siblings (not vegan) some baklava free after. Very well priced. Highly recommend.

roberto.artiles

Points +34

Vegan
14 Sep 2016

Loved it

Very tasty food. Lots of vegan options. Nice staff.

Pros: lots of vegan options

dschuett

Points +92

Vegan
21 Mar 2016

Best Ethiopian Food

I love this place, I eat here once a week. I love Ethiopian food and this place offers the best I've had so far.

alicus

Points +213

Vegan
29 Jan 2016

BEST Ethiopian in the city!

This is the BEST Ethiopian food we have ever had, most certainly the best in San Francisco. Beautiful presentation, deep and well developed flavours, perfectly cooked beans and veggies - everything you could ever want. The owner is incredibly friendly and so interesting to talk to.

Pros: Amazing food, Awesome selection, Amazing service

vegan_ryan

Points +3865

Vegan
09 Dec 2015

Delicious and inexpensive

This is relatively inexpensive, for SF. The food was delicious, and staff were friendly friendly. The veggie plate is VERY filling.

Quality, authentic Ethiopian food at a decent price. Definitely recommended.

Pros: Delicious, friendly

Cons: Serves meat

MaartenC

Points +141

Vegan
27 Sep 2015

Would have given 5 stars if Happycow let me

Wonderful Ethiopian food! Very much worth a try if you have never tasted the Ethiopian kitchen. The best dish is the vegetarian combination. Very nice and pleasant owner.

AshleyLorden

Points +1237

Vegan
23 Aug 2015

Casual place with fresh classic Ethiopian food

A newer, small restaurant, modern, clean, casual and efficient, Tadu has seating for ~10 people and seems to be run by an Ethiopian family. The menu is well-labeled, with about half the dishes vegetarian and all but one of those vegan. The service was good, friendly and fast. We got the sampler and it was a good portion, with plenty of injera, and came out quickly. The food was tasty, not better or worse than other Ethiopian restaurants in the city. I did really love how on the plain salad usually included with samplers, they topped it with some creamy chickpea stuff that made salad much more fun.

Only con is that it's definitely in the Tenderloin, not a neighborhood I'd want to walk through in the dark. They do also offer the option to order online and pick up food, or arrange catering.

Pros: Reasonable prices, Quick service, Can order online

Cons: Neighborhood

mmeghani

Points +503

Vegan
20 Jan 2015

Good vegetarian & vegan options

A new Ethiopian restaurant. Good menu with some items I have not seen elsewhere. Vegetarian options are clearly marked. The service was fast. Seating is limited. Great flavored water.

Pros: good vegetarian & vegan options, fast service

Cons: limited seating




This page has been viewed 5957 times.