Bakery

Doughnut shop with daily vegan cake doughnut options, and on Friday, Saturday, Sunday vegan raised doughnuts. Accepts custom orders. Will close early when donuts are sold out. Open Tue-Fri 6:30am-6:00pm, Sat-Sun 6:30am-3:00pm. Hours change seasonally.


Venue map for Sweet Retreat Donuts
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by FatTonyBMX

SusanVScott

Points +51

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Fresh Fresh Fresh!

I don’t know if there’s anything better than a fresh lilikoi vegan donut. Except may a fresh Ube donut, or apple fritter, or chocolate glazed… every vegan donut here is fresh and totally delicious. You can not make a bad choice.

Pros: Fresh , Delicious

Cons: Can be slow, but worth wait.

Advertisement

lucky.mud

Points +35

Vegan
09 Dec 2021

Delicious vegan donuts!

I was really impressed with quality of these donuts and how creative the flavors were. They were gorgeous looking, too! And the staff was friendly. (:

Pros: Creative vegan flavors, Great quality, Beautiful presentation

Cons: Not all vegan

Poobalu

Points +26

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

Insanely good

I moved from the East Coast to Long Beach and have had many doughnuts from various cities. While there are exceptional desert-like options elsewhere, these are some of the best cake and yeast vegan doughnuts I’ve had. They tend to sell out by the end of the day, so definitely head here around breakfast time.

Pros: Several vegan choices, Good cake and yeast options, Lots of flavors

Cons: Limited hours, Vegan yeast doughnuts only available on weekends, Vegan doughnuts can sell out by mid day

KitWinnRose

Points +47

Vegan
28 Jun 2020

I love vegan donuts

Sweet Retreat offers great vegan donuts in a clean, open location staffed by friendly people. The donuts are a little pricey, but so it goes. Normalize vegan donuts 😋

Pros: Both cake and yeast choices, Great apple fritters

Cons: Expensive

PennyOrellana

Points +63

Vegan
23 Dec 2019

Amazing vegan donuts

Awesome and delicious vegan options! When you go, ask them to make all their options vegan hehe.

Pros: Many vegan options

Cons: The vegan options are more expensive than the, Non-vegan options

Bri_vegan

Points +150

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

Delicious and well priced

They have at least 10 different vegan donut flavors (raised, cake, and bun style). They have everything from traditional glaze to taro root.

Pros: Lots of options, Good prices, Friendly staff

Cons: Use palm oil, Not suitable for but allergies

Awake1234

Points +1069

Vegan
07 Nov 2018

Sweet retreat Great treats

Great donuts and coffee! Come before 10am for best selection - and on weekends for even more vegan donuts to choose from.

Pros: Many vegan donuts, Great coffee, Very nice owners

FatTonyBMX

Points +1216

Vegan
12 Apr 2018

GO GET THEM NOW!!!

My wife and I are doughnut addicts, and until now there weren’t any vegan raised doughnuts around Long Beach. Sweet Retreats to the rescue!! The raised ones are only available Friday-Sunday right now, but maybe that’s a good thing…otherwise we’d eat them too often!

They are seriously incredible! I can’t say enough good things about them.

The owner is super nice too. We like the chocolate on top of regular glazed, so she does that special for us. And she will drizzle chocolate or maple on top of a cinnamon bun for us too! Perfection!!

The shop is in a little strip center with a laundromat and sadly a reptile store with a lot of great animals in tiny cages. The inside of the place is cozy with some games to play and a nice, relaxed vibe.

Oh, and did I mention the doughnuts are freakin AMAZING!!!

There's a sign on the case that says the vegan doughnuts are cooked in the same palm oil as the non-vegan doughnuts. I'm okay with this. Others may not be.

(Can only give four stars because it's not an all vegan place. But the vegan doughnuts get 10 stars.)

Pros: Taste Like Heaven, Better Than Sex, Best Thing Ever In Life

Cons: They Make You Fat, They Cost Money, They Are Addictive




This page has been viewed 4533 times.