Bakery

Vegan bakery offering made from scratch goods including macron, brownies, cookies and more. Also takes special orders. Check social media for daily specials. Open Mon-Fri 12:00pm-6:00pm, Sat 10:00am-6:00pm, Sun 10:00am-4:00pm. Hours may vary, call ahead.


18 Reviews

First Review by veganed

StephanieLanger

Points +917

Vegan
02 Oct 2023

Lovely bakery

Went home with a small cake and some cookies. Everything we tried was delicious. The space is cheerful and welcoming. Worth a visit!

Pros: Lots of yummy treats

Advertisement

theNumberOfTheBeast

Points +4054

Vegan
05 Jun 2023

🌱🌈🍪🍨 Sweet Dreams! 🥳🥳

Literal dream come true. Flipping adorable shop. Vegan woman owned. Outrageously good all vegan bakeshop making miraculous manifestations of marvelous, masterful, mid-day, magnificence in magical macaroons.

Entering the threshold was like floating into a dream, light and airy, bright and cheery, populated by angels. Everything vegan. The whole world could be this shop and I would never grow tired of it. This shop is veritable proof of anthropodicy!

I tried an ice-cream cookie sandwich, a $2.50 coffee (incredible pricing in a world of $7 lattes) only ¢20 extra for oatmilk, a pink grapefruit macaroon and why not, a s'mores cookie. Each one was the best of its kind I've ever tried. This is genius level quality.

They should offer free pinches just to make sure their customers don't mistake the experience for actual dreaming and take off all their clothes or start flying around the cafe, because that could be a liability for someone, though not an unreasonable reaction to this sweetshop.


🌈😘🌈😘🌈😘🌈😘🌈😘🌈😘🌈😘🌈

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-05

Pros: vegan woman owned and operated, so many sweet things to eat, incredible variety and shocking quality

Cons: the rest of the world seems just so "blah" now

LouisB

Points +81

Vegan
02 Jun 2023

World-class vegan bakery in an unlikely spot

Sweet Maresa's is incredible! The ever-changing selection of cakes, cookies, and macarons will haunt your dreams and keep you curious. I have gotten brownies, incredible chocolate crossaint, cakes for special occasions, and even a savory "feta" Danish. Do not miss.

Pros: Everything vegan and amazing , Interesting and creative flavors

Cons: Coffee isn't great, $

Newty69

Points +63

Vegan
19 Feb 2023

The macarons make me crazy

I never really liked macarons until I had the ones from here. They honestly blew my gourd wide open and I would eat them every day. The pastry quality here is off the charts and it's awesome we have such good vegan desserts in town!

My only gripe is I think their sugar cookies are too 'sugary'?? They're very dense and sweet and chewy which some people might like but just isn't my preference. Would love for them to have more shortbread-type cookies, and maybe some ladyfingers!

Love that they have the vegan fridge/pantry section as well tho. The Mia prosciutto is so gooooood

Pros: Macarons are crazy good, Vegan fridge/pantry, Really pretty

Cons: Sugar cookies too dense, Want some ladyfingers, So good I want to eat too much

DevonHauser

Points +18

Vegan
02 Feb 2023

Best vegan bakery literally ever

100% vegan and so so so delicious

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-21

victoriadorothy1

Points +478

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Can’t believe I accidentally walked into a vegan heaven!

So many delicious options—mostly sweet but some small savory options as well. Picked up some hard to find cheeses too! Yum!

WHA

Points +1387

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Vegan macarons with rotating, interesting flavors! I look forward to ordering the rainbow cookie each holiday season for delivery—rich marzipan meringue cake, raspberry jam and dark chocolate. I never had this treat as a child but my partner did. It is nice to be able to share a vegan version of something beloved from his childhood. Also, it’s just ridiculously decadent and delicious.

Cons: Pricey to order online but worth it

Johnny_B

Points +317

Vegan
22 May 2022

Um Yum!

4/14/22 - Found this place on HappyCow and decided to stop in for a treat. I was overwhelmed with all of the tasty options and they were all vegan! It was hard to choose just one so we got a variety. Everything was delicious but my favorite thing was the Cherry/Almond Cake. To die for! I cannot wait to stop in here again and load up on some more sweet treats!

5/21/22- Never fails to deliver. Once again overwhelmed with so many yummy options. We couldn’t choose just one so we got a variety. Such a great staff too!

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-14

Pros: So many options

Cons: Absolutely nothing

ShilpaRatwani

Points +30

Vegan
16 Sep 2021

A must visit bakery

Holds up to its reputation. Has very delicious baked goods. Loved their biscotti and shortbread. Their macrons are good considering there aren’t a lot many vegan bakers making macrons but they had a certain plastic texture to them. Can’t really fault them for it, was still a good attempt besides I haven’t really tasted non vegan macrons.

Pros: Delicious vegan baked goods

Cons: Expensive for sure

GFGoldenLady

Points +1855

Vegan
01 Aug 2021

Amazing VGF desserts

OK these are seriously amazing VGF desserts. Not too sweet, excellent flavour and beautifully crafted. Maresa and her staff were all really friendly and funny. An adorable shop too.

Definitely get the macrons! Prices extremely reasonable as well.

I would have given 5 stars but I called a while ago and left a message which went unreturned. Then I phoned a few days later to follow up and was told they don't really check the voicemail. I was given an email address, sent an email and it's been well over a week and no reply. I would have loved to support this bakery for my wedding cake but I guess it was not meant to be.

TaylorVeg

Points +81

Vegan
12 Jul 2021

More please

Seriously can’t stop eating their macarons even if I wanted to. They are pillowy perfection that melt in your mouth. From the peanut butter churro to even vanilla, they are all wayyyyy too good! Happy I moved further away, dangerous to my wallet is an understatement. Their other baked goods and chocolates are delicious but those little French cookies will always make me come crawling back. 10 out of 5 stars if it was possible.

thebartlettbaker

Points +332

Vegan
08 Feb 2021

Truly Magical

Every time I walk into this adorable bakery I feel like I’m in a fairytale. Every detail is purposeful and well thought out- from the pastel interior, to the kind and welcoming staff, the packaging and the baked goods themselves. Every morsel is decadent and heavenly.

makcurtis

Points +1050

Vegan
07 Feb 2021

WOW 🤩

I didn’t know Maresa’s was 100% vegan before I went, and I was SO excited and surprised to find vegan macarons. I hadn’t had macarons since my pre-vegan days! These taste IDENTICAL to the real thing—I’d even say they taste better. The flavors are creative and unique. Red currant is my personal favorite! The prices are unbelievable for the quality, and we always leave with a huge box, although not much of it makes it home.

Pros: 100% vegan , Fantastic macarons , Prices are seriously low

drquayle

Points +721

Vegan
19 Jan 2021

Lovely surprise!

I went in with some friends without realizing it was vegan — to my delight I found out it was! The marzipan cookie was perfect ❤️

TravelingVegan19

Points +122

Vegan
29 Dec 2020

IYKYK

I live in NYC so I go to confectionery!* all the time, so I knew this would be delicious, and it didn't disappoint. I had the apricot oatmeal crumb bar and the walnut chocolate chip cookie (my usual at confectionery!), and I can't stop thinking about the apricot bar. It was next level. The shop is lovely and everything looks perfect - the only problem is deciding what to get!
*Shop on the Lower East Side of Manhattan co-owned by Maresa and Lagusta of Lagusta's Luscious chocolate shop in New Paltz

vegginator1

Points +114

Vegan
04 Nov 2020

💯percent wonderful

Every single item is delicious and you can taste the love in every bite. The macrons are not only super yummy but they’re gorgeous, real works of art.

Pros: Totally vegan, The nicest people sincerely happy to see you, Beautiful immaculately clean shop

Cons: None!

veganed

Points +467

Vegan
06 Sep 2020

Delicious vegan baked goods!

Love their brownies and cookies (cc walnut and pistachio are my fav). Great location in historic stockade area. They have both regular and gluten free options. They also sell coffee, vegan cheese, and some grocery items like oat milk. Staff is really nice and they allow leashed dogs inside (and they gave my dogs free treats!). They have inside and outside space to sit and people watch as you sip/eat. Fyi...If you buy 10 cookies you get 2 free!! Trust me, you'll want 12 cookies!

Pros: All vegan, pro animal! , Beautiful space and location, Delicious

Shibiru

Points +60

Vegan
29 Jun 2020

I kid you not, I’m job searching and won’t move far bc of how much I love SM!!

The staff are incredibly friendly. Every single item is vegan! Their ice cream sandwiches are bomb!! Macrons off the charts! Pistachio cookies?! Yes! S’mores cookie?! Yo. Yes!

Pros: All Vegan!!, Everything is perfection every time. , They got yummo coffee too!

Cons: Medium pricey but worth it!, Not a con, they have adorable seating and dishes., Not con, they are super accommodating in pandemic




This page has been viewed 3414 times.