Sweet Hereafter

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 25 reviews )
Contact
n/a
Find

3326 SE Belmont, Portland, Oregon, USA, 97214

This vegan bar was started by the folks from the Bye & Bye vegan bar. It has a similar menu and style but not quite as upscale. Vegan food include appetizers and sides plus various bowls. Prices are inexpensive-moderate. Backroom seating. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-2:00am.

Categories: Vegan, American, Beer/Wine

25 Reviews

First Review by Akdouglas

best tofu ive ever had! - Edit

I got an eastern bowl which had nutritional yeast coated tofu, broccoli, rice and a spicy peanut sauce. It was literally the best thing I have ever eaten in my life and I think about it every day. The service could have been better but as a lone minor, I feel as though I was the bar's lowest priority which, I guess, is understandable.

Pros: vegan bar!! , busy, best food ever

Cons: busy, distant servers , minors only allowed in until 8ish?

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/SkyFitzgerald">SkyFitzgerald</a> <br/>Eastern bowl <br/> October 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/316952'>Report</a>

Eastern bowl

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My Favorite Bar - Edit

The buffalo sub is incredible, and they always have really good drink specials! Nice atmosphere.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great drinks/awful mac & cheese - Edit

The drinks were fantastic and the atmosphere was lovely, but I was super disappointed with the mac and cheese, which everyone raves about. It just tastes wrong, I can't even describe it. I couldn't even finish half of it, which is saying a lot, cause I am basically an unstoppable vegan eating machine. The pretzel and choice cheese was astounding, so I don't understand how they got the mac and cheese so wrong, but man did they. I usually don't write negative reviews either, but this dish was just so bad. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing; I would definitely give it another try.

Pros: Great drinks, Great atmosphere

Cons: sad mac & cheese

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My Favorite Vegan Pub - Edit

Love the food and brew pub ambiance. This has become our favorite place to eat in Portland and they have local beers on tap. They are strictly vegan so we don't have to worry about our food being cooked along with non-vegan food.

Pros: Friendly staff., Great vegan food., Great ambiance.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Drinks and Snacks! - Edit

Atmosphere- My dad and I came here on a Saturday night, so it was pretty busy and loud. We eventually sat at the bar once a spot cleared.

Drinks- We had a few beers and I got one of their hot spiked drinks which was really good.

Service- We got pretty quick service, but none of the bartenders were that personable. As I got the general impression that most people who live in Portland are rude, this bar was not an exception.

Food- For an appetizer we got the pretzels which was really good. Though it was a small portion and extremely salty (and I like me some salt!). For food I got the pretzel burger and coconut kale as a side. Though both were very good. My dad got the Jamaican bowl and gave me a try, I thought it literally tasted like sewage. He liked it though!

Summary- Maybe it's quieter during the week and you're just looking for a food spot with some drinks! Great place/atmosphere if you're hitting the bars and need a snack on the weekends.

Pros: all vegan, drinks

Cons: loud, busy, bartenders attitude

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/CorissaMarie">CorissaMarie</a> <br/>Appetizer!  <br/> October 18, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/316362'>Report</a>

Appetizer!

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/CorissaMarie">CorissaMarie</a> <br/>Pretzel burger with coconut kale <br/> January 16, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/212520'>Report</a>

Pretzel burger with coconut kale

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/CorissaMarie">CorissaMarie</a> <br/>Jamaican bowl  <br/> January 16, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/212519'>Report</a>

Jamaican bowl

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Terrible Service - Edit

So I'm in Portland for a couple days, excited to check out the vegan places. The first night I come here. I'm by myself and sit at the bar. The bar tender looks and acts like a guy from the jersey shore. It was clear unless I was an attractive female I wasn't going to get good service. And that's exactly what happened. Food was decent, service was really terrible. I felt like I was being rushed out as fast as possible. He didn't even ask if I wanted another beer when mine was empty for most of my unpleasant stay. Would not recommend and will not go back.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

OK food and inexpensive - Edit

We didn't have any drinks so this review is only for the food. We ordered the antipasto platter, a cup of broccoli cheddar soup, the blacked tempeh sandwich, and the Jamaican bowl. I had no idea the platter was that big, so it was altogether a lot of food for just the two of us.

The platter was pretty good. Loved the miso chive cheese. The jerk tofu in the Jamaican bowl was the best thing of the evening. That seasoning was the bomb! Everything else was kinda underseasoned and meh. We got a $2 happy hour discount and ended up paying just $31 plus tip for the whole meal. Can't complain about that!

Pros: great value

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty Vegan Food and Great Drinks - Edit

I love Sweet Hereafter. I have been both times I have visited Portland, and the food is great and the drinks are good. I love that their is a bar that serves all vegan food (and while I love bar food, I actually really like that this is not just junk food...healthier and a little more upscale). I have had the Jamaican bowl and the Eastern bowl (love the nutritional yeast breaded tofu) and enjoyed them both. I especially like getting the antipasto platter, as that sort of classy appetizer is not typically readily available to vegans. The miso chive cheese in it makes it worth it in itself (I just wish it came with more!). Mixed drinks are great. The beer selection could be better, but it's fine.

Pros: Great vegan food, All vegan menu, Good drinks

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Baked Mac and Cheese - Edit

All around BEST vegan Mac & Cheese ever!!! We've tried quite a few and had just about given up on this dish in any vegan form. On a lark, we ordered their Mac & Cheese as an appetizer to share- rich, cheesy, with a little spicy kick & this became a fantastic accompaniment to a happy hour beer

Pros: Casual setting, Varied menu, Lots of candles

Cons: Bar-like setting is not for everyone.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cool place - Edit

If all vegan restaurants were this cool, everyone would be vegan. Cool atmosphere. The buffalo sandwich was nummy! And the bread was so good. Two thumbs up

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food and atmosphere - Edit

I have had several things on the menu and it has always been great food for very cheap. Their drink selection is also pretty good. I can't think of a way this place could get better!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SUPER COOL PLACE - Edit

This place was just SO cool (found it using my Happy Cow app when I was visiting Portland). First, it is in a GREAT neighborhood - lots of stuff around it. Second, the interior is just so charming. And, of course, they had good food.

This is a bar that serves food - lots of good, all vegan, choices. You order at the counter, then pick it up. It's very open and welcoming and decorated comfortable and casual. I love the charm of the inside.

I had the Precious Bowl (very reasonable at $7). It had
coconut kale, black Beans, and brown rice - I added pineapple on top. It was very good, but there was something in it that was just a tad spicy for my taste (I don't like any spice at all). But, it was very good.

My friend had the Blackened Tempeh Sandwich ($8), and said it was good (I didn't try it). It was a LOT of food for $8!

The prices are fantastic (lots of food on a budget) and the place was clean, and the service was great.

Unfortunately, I left Portland, but when I return, I most definitely will go back here. All good!

Pros: good food, GREAT prices, Super cool place

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/Julie%20R">Julie R</a> <br/>The outside of Sweet Hereafter.  This is a very happening neighborhood - lots of shops and places around.  Loved it <br/> August 29, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/115672'>Report</a>

The outside of Sweet Hereafter. This is a very ha...

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/Julie%20R">Julie R</a> <br/>Blackened tempeh burger.  My friend had it and said it was delicious <br/> August 29, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/115671'>Report</a>

Blackened tempeh burger. My friend had it and sai...

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/Julie%20R">Julie R</a> <br/>The inside was industrial and cool.  Very clean and welcoming - casual atmosphere <br/> August 29, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/115670'>Report</a>

The inside was industrial and cool. Very clean an...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful bar food! - Edit

We'll go back! Very good and fast service.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday August 18, 2015

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing - Edit

Everything was great: fantastic cocktails & draft beer selection, food, atmosphere. Doesn't play up the vegan thing but it's awesome to know that everything's vegan. Buffalo soy curls & Jamaican bowl were super tasty!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

dark bar atmosphere - Edit

They have buffalo soy curl subs here to go along with lots of draft beer or cocktails. Sit at a picnic table in their large outdoor area or inside at the bar or wall tables. Late night vegan food!

Pros: sandwiches

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great spot - Edit

One of my favorite places for sure. Great bar and selection of beverages. The food menu has many comfort food type choices. I've tried several items and liked the all. Great place to socialize.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Vegan Spot! - Edit

White Russians ftw! Great vegan bar, with really good food! Their sandwiches are really good. Been here several times and have gotten consistently good food and drinks.

Pros: 100% Vegan!, Great food, Great drinks

Cons: Loud, Crowded at times

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reliable late night spot - Edit

I'll keep this one short. It's a good standby.eats. Nothing fancy, just fairly good vegan eats. And it's open late.

It's a popular bar so you might have to wait a bit for seating if you have a larger group who all want to sit together. It's a little quieter if you sit in the patio area out back (when the weather is good).

Pros: Decent food, Reasonable prices

Cons: It's a bar - so don't expect quiet

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food - Edit

Delicious food (got the Jamaican bowl and husband got the Jamaican sub). Drinks are good. We definitely did not fit in with all the carefully dressed hipsters but we still enjoyed ourselves. Go earlier... things start getting busy at night. Great patio out back.
Updated from previous review on Monday September 24, 2012

Pros: food, dim lighting, drinks

Cons: busy

Photo of Sweet Hereafter  by <a href="/members/profile/VintageVariety">VintageVariety</a> <br/>Jamaican Bowl & Buffalo Sub!  SO TASTY! <br/> April 9, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/27937/221331'>Report</a>

Jamaican Bowl & Buffalo Sub! SO TASTY!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful vegan bar & restaurant - Edit

I loved Sweet Hereafter -- what's not to love about a place that is all vegan, where you can order anything off the menu?

Not only that...the food is delicious, the drinks sublime.

We had sandwiches, a "cheese" plate, beer, and cocktails -- all wonderful.

A must-visit place in Portland for anyone who appreciates good food and drinks, vegan or nonvegan.

Pros: Amazing food, Fantastic cocktails, Great atmosphere

Cons: none!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy! - Edit

Lovely place with delicious food. Had the curried cauliflower sandwich. I'm not a huge cauliflower fan, but this sandwich was amazeballs! Great beer and cocktail selection too.

Pros: Fast, Yummy, Beer

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sweet Hereafter, Portland - Edit

I had dinner here on Weds evening last week. Its like a bar that also does food. Everything is vegan friendly. The food was great, the atmo was fine, no issues with service. Myself and my friends went a on a little bar crawl afterwards and ended coming back here again in the same evening.

Pros: All vegan, Great food, Nice atmo

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Everyone loves this place! - Edit

I would take my 92 year old, never has had tofu, Grandmother here. Seriously. We go here at least every other week if not multiple times a week. This second spot by the Bye and Bye guys does not disappoint. The food is great.

I *highly* recommend the Buffalo Sub and the Jamaican Bowl. Seriously, the coconut kale alone is worth going.

I like super-hoppy, well-balanced IPAs and the rotating taps here have gotten much better in the past 6 months. They also have the North Williams ( a classic carried over from the Bye and Bye's menu.)





Pros: great to take omnis, late night menu, super tasty

Cons: busy, sometimes too long of a wait for food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Drinks are on point. - Edit

I haven't tried the food, but if it's anything like the Bye and Bye, I can get down. It is usually crowded and the drinks are normal priced. I would try this place at opening or on a slow day.

Pros: vegan

Cons: crowded, loud, dark

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Filling & delicious at a great price - Edit

For $8 you can have a bowl of marinated firm tofu that's drizzled or covered in any number of delicious sauces with beans, rice, mild, spicy, ... and several other options on the menu including appetizers. We had the antipasto plate and it had almonds toasted with olive oil and rosemary, slices of apple, bread, hummous, green olives and some red sauce. Served without utensils. Several other options we want to go back and try. So full we didn't have room for dessert. Antipasto and two bowls (one with avocado for $1 extra) came to $25.

Pros: Original flavors, Delicious healthy vegan food, Generous portions for the price

Cons: Order at the bar. Full service bar., No host; no waiting list if it's full, community drinking & diner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Portland Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Sweet Hereafter closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9841 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support