Lacto
Ovo
Western
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cute outdoor cafe with smoothie bowls, salads, and a plant-based section on the menu. Includes a tempeh burger, vegan tacos, buddha bowls, and more. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Sunny Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by just.a.vegan.girl

snozwanger

Points +280

Vegan
21 Nov 2023

Decent food, nice staff, convenient location

I had the vegan breakfast, a coffee and a juice! Pretty good, not amazing but does the job.

Advertisement

YasEats

Points +4655

Vegan
30 Jun 2023

Convenient location, ok food

Food is nothing special but it is a short walk from the port so that's a plus. Tempeh steak was ok and very filling. Las vegan was also a great portion but everything was marinated with turmeric which was a bit off? Maybe worth asking to grill without adding turmeric/replace the seasoning.

Pros: Vegan section

vegonugs

Points +1506

Vegan
12 Jun 2023

great spot near port

went here for a quick take out lunch before our boat left, separate veg menu was helpful and food was good. tempe steak is great!

JessDownard

Points +328

Vegan
18 Apr 2023

Oat milk đŸ«¶đŸŒ

Didn’t eat here but came for coffee as they sell oat milk. Wasn’t keen on the iced latte (bit watery) but the hot latte was delicious

BrittaScheid

Points +313

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Good vegan Breakfast

Nice vegan Breakfast and healthy juices

quirino

Points +1049

Herbivore
19 Mar 2023

OKish

Its a bit expensive and the food was quite tasteless. However, plenty of vegan options, that’s really nice.

Selina_nsw

Points +3489

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Good breakfast option

The vegan brekkie comes with lots of different veggies and 2 kinds of protein. The scrambled tofu was lacking in seasoning but it was still decent. It also comes with a dip which made me wonder why they don't offer a slice of bread to dip it in.

PlantbasedQueenđŸ©·

Points +407

Vegan
22 Feb 2023

Nice Tempeh burger

Lots of nice options. I had a naked tempeh burger with salad and home made chips

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Mxpet

Points +437

Vegan
24 Jan 2023

Good, could taste more intense

First of all, the vibe is nice and the staff is very friendly.
We had the Tempeh Steak and Coconut Curry. Both tasted good, but the could be more intense, maybe more spices? Overall ok to good, but by far not the best food we had on the islands nearby

mat_r28

Points +1686

Vegan
03 Jan 2023

Really enjoyed this place!

The vibe is nice, the staff is mega friendly and the food was fantastic. I wish the vegan brekky came with more bread, but that’s it. The vegan brekky was plentiful and very tasty. The oat matcha latte was also very good, highly recommend!

Alikaymey

Points +54

Vegan
22 Sep 2022

Staff wasn't really helpful with vegan options

Not every vegan dish is clearly marked as vegan, so I had to ask a lot but the staff wasn't really helpful. I got answers like "I think so" or "I don't know" when asking for something to be vegan. I nearly had to force them to ask in the kitchen... For the granola which is used on Smoothie bowls nobody could tell me if it's vegan, they showed the storage jar to me (instead of just reading the ingredient list!) as if I could analyze it with one single look?!
Coffee was served with a non-vegan cookie, curry was super-duper spicy (after asking for it to be less), at least the tacos and spring rolls were yummy. I wouldn't visit again.

Fosefine

Points +98

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

Delicious food and friendly staff

Great vegan options from starters to deserts ( ice cream), a nice atmosphere.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Leonie ice cream, European and local food

AbbyMacredie

Points +36

Vegan
22 Aug 2022

4 stars for the staff, 3 stars for the food

This place is has a nice atmosphere, and the staff were absolutely lovely!! Had the tacos for lunch. They were good, but nothing amazing. Also had the peanut butter smoothie and it was delicious flavour, but it wasn’t cold??? Strange. If the smoothie was cold then it would be a 10/10 for me. Maybe ask for extra ice?

Pros: Has a ‘plant based’ section on the menu , Reasonable price

juliettebrb

Points +638

Vegan
22 Aug 2022

A disappointment

We first had dinner there. I had tacos and my husband had a burger. The tacos had too much stuff, and made the tortilla soft, so broke and couldn't eat as a taco. Definitely quantity over quality.Burger was okay.
Then breakfast.The avocado toast (no egg, no cheese) was okay. The matcha latte had an odd taste. The nutty smoothie bowl was hit good. Also had a really odd taste and wasn't even cold (weird for a smoothie bowl!!). Food didn't feel fresh.
Not many vegan options on the island, but I think you can still find better vegan food in that area. Maybe try the 2 restaurants next door that also had vegan options

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Didn't feel fresh, Weird taste

xiaoxiao

Points +154

Vegan
06 Jun 2022

Great vegan options

Really nice vibes here and very friendly and happy staff. Really reasonable prices for a western restaurant. We had the vegan curry and tempeh sate with roasted veg. Food was really tasty!

Nieve

Points +3840

Vegan
31 May 2022

Plant based section

Really nice to see a plant based section on the menu! I tried the tofu tempeh Hawaiian, it could have used some more flavor but it was alright. Also had a mango juice and some iced tea, both were nice.

robsm95

Points +944

Vegan
03 Jan 2022

Great food and drink!

Stopped here before and after our manta snorkelling trip and I’m glad we did.
they have LOADS of clearly labelled vegan choices
I had the vegan breakfast (and added toast) which was nice and filling with a chia choco smoothie, also very nice and filling.
For lunch I had the coconut curry with a lychee crush drink - both very nice!
Service was very good and prices are reasonable.
They also sell lots of vegan ice pops

Pros: Loads of vegan options , Nice decor

just.a.vegan.girl

Points +1286

Vegan
23 Oct 2020

Delicious smoothies!

I ate here twice during my stay on Penida. I LOVED the smoothies I got. One was a mango, pineapple, coconut and the other was a peanut butter smoothie. For my entree I had a buddha bowl that was healthy and simple, but could of had more sauce/dressing. The next day I tried the Las Vegan with roasted/grilled tempeh, tofu and veggies. I wasn't a big fan of the tofu, but everything else was good.




This page has been viewed 2598 times.