Myanmar
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Similar food offering as other restaurants in town but its vegetarian set menu is vegan-suitable and worth noting. Owner understands the concept of veganism and also owns Zu Zu's cooking class. Closes 9pm during low season. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Sun Flower Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

24 Reviews

First Review by johan.soderblom

PatiRati

Points +59

Vegetarian
11 Feb 2020

Sympathetic people & fantastic food

We just couldn't stop going to this restaurant. Ate here daily during our 7 days stay and were absolutely convinced with everything we ordered. We also attended ZuZus cooking class (which you can book at the restaurant) and were highly excited about it.

Pros: Simple and fresh food, no msg, reasonable prices

Cons: Atmosphere not too cozy

Advertisement

amyy

Points +146

Vegan
03 Feb 2020

Good food

Good food, cheap price. Variety of options.

Rinnekin

Points +112

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

Delicious food with fabulous owner

Zuzu‘s restaurant has really good food - the set menu provides excellent value for money.
If you have some time to spare in town, do yourself a favour and book a cooking class with Zuzu.
You will choose the dishes you want to cook, have a walk around the market to buy your ingredients and learn a lot about local food and then cook together and eat it.
Don’t eat too much beforehand as you will be tasting and trying things throughout your whole time with Zuzu.
I highly recommend it!

steffikah

Points +57

Vegan
14 Jan 2020

Good eat

I liked it, friendly service and good food. I had the tofu curry, which would have been a little too salty for me without rice. Prices absolutely ok!

Pros: Lots of vegetarian and vegan choices.

sunshine26

Points +109

Vegan
15 Dec 2019

good food :)

I like this place!
very good food clean and not expensive!!
pumpkin Curry is very good!
the owner are very sweet and u can do also cooking class there.

Pros: cheep price, options ,good English,good food

sampre31

Points +32

Vegan
02 Dec 2019

Nice vegan options!

Large portions and good prices for the area. Definitely recommend!

travelyogagirl

Points +49

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Great food, friendly staff

What an amazing food at sunflower restaurant. We have been there for three times. The curry set (soup, curry, vegetables, rice, salad, peanuts, fruits) was very delicious and big portions. Very good fruit shakes. Friendly staff, good English. Highly recommend!

ginagabrieli

Points +68

Vegan
08 Oct 2019

awesome food

the food is delicious! we ordered the set vegterian menu which consisted of a vegetable curry, rice, roasted peanuts, a soup, a salad, boiled greens and fruit for dessert. it was a really big portion and the price (4500Kyat) was unbeatable

Pros: they know what veganism is, big portions, broad selection of vegan dishes

EnmarShaked

Points +92

Vegan
10 Aug 2019

Best Local Food + cooking class

The most amazing family runs this place. The food is healthy, fresh and delicious, and the service is great.
Prices are really good, and they offer a “vegetarian set menu” that includes many small vegan dishes.

***Zu Zu, the owner, also has cooking classes - a really nice experience, good food and really helpful explanations about the food in Myanmar.***

BridieMackintosh

Points +314

Vegan
03 Jun 2019

Great, tasty food!

Very tasty food, great staff, great value for money!

Pros: Cheap, Tasty, Great potions!!

naturalganja

Points +110

Vegan
26 May 2019

Best Vegan shan noodles

Relax spot with nice family running it. Locals eat there which is always a good sign. Food is affordable and tasty, loved the tomato Curry (add tofu to make it more consistent) but the star was definitely the shan noodles to which I added tofu, it was just amazing!

Pros: Best Vegan Shan Noodles!

clauclaudia

Points +48

Vegan
13 Mar 2019

Good food

The food is really good, you have vegan option for several dishes.

Pros: Friendly staff and lovely food.

Cons: They have to improve the vegan banana pancake(oily

mjveganfitness

Points +1669

Vegan
19 Feb 2019

Nice food but there is better

Had our first meal here in Inle because of the good reviews. The food is nice but quiet basic. We really liked the staff here and the fact that all the vegetarian Curries are suitable for vegans. Would recommend the masala potato curry the most. Good portion sizes and good price.

Pros: Vegan options

mtravel

Points +556

Vegan
15 Feb 2019

I loved it

Maybe the best Option for vegan food in Town. The food was good and the stuff super friendly and sweet. They had so many vegan options, so we went there every day for dinner!

Pros: super sweet people working there, many good vegan Options, not expensive

Lucie&Jack

Points +278

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

So lovely

We came back to this place a few times whilst in inle lake! The staff were so lovely and understand vegan. The food was so delicious and they even give free snacks before your food comes (which they top up several times)

Pros: So tasty!, Free snacks!, Lovely staff

GrietTheuwissen

Points +188

Vegan
04 Feb 2019

Delicious food at reasonable price

Went here a couple of times during our stay at inle lake. Good food & generous portions at a very reasonable price! Staff is very friendly and speaks good English.

They also do cooking classes, rent bikes & arrange boat tours

Pros: Many vegan options, Free snack & tea, Pretty cheap

Cons: None

congeeandsesame

Points +381

Vegan
27 Dec 2018

Ray of Sun Flower

Like eating a delicious home cooked meal, made with love. So very satisfying! Tomato curry was outstanding (this region is known for its floating tomato farms), as was the pineapple curry and Shan noodles. Washed it all down with some refreshing juices. If you have any questions, the sisters will be sure to help you out — they are genuine and know their stuff.

Updated from previous review on 2018-12-19

Pros: Very satisfying food, Sisters are very knowledgeable, Many vegan options

JustineCass

Points +106

Vegan
21 Apr 2018

Delicious with lots of veggie options!!

Great value. You can get a huge veggie set for 4500 kyat. Everything was delicious!

maggiechr

Points +30

Vegetarian
27 Jan 2018

A must do in Nyaungshwe

We went to Sunflower for dinner the first day in Nyaungshwe and we loved it! Wonderful food and great service. We asked Zu Zu about her cooking class and we signed up. It was a lovely day with a fun market trip and then a horse carriage ride to the family’s villa for the cooking and eating!! We were introduced to some Burmese food at the market and we were happy that we didn’t eat breakfast! You will get a lot of food! Good food! Do it!

Pros: Excellent food, Good price, Great fun

MoniqueTimminsBaker

Points +42

Vegan
13 Aug 2017

Delicious, great staff, awesome cooking class!

We went to Sunflower once the day before the cooking class and we're very happy with the meal size, taste, and the price! Like other reviews say, they are fully accomodating to a vegan diet. Either Zu Zu or Gu Gu (sisters) will take your order as they both understand English best. Their mother is usually the chef.
We did the cooking class and were blown away afterward. It is definitely worth your 20'000 kyat (other places are less but I highly doubt they could provide the same experience). Zu Zu took us on a our of the market and taught us a lot about local ingredients. If you're not sure - ask her! The cooking class was great and a full family affair, you know you're supporting local when you go to her class. We also had the privilege of learning Zu Zu's life story. I won't say more, but it is truly amazing. Talk to her about it. She also wrote down in Burmese our vegan food requirements to show other restaurants (we were served milk accidentally in Bagan and quite sick afterward).
We made a true friend in Zu Zu and want to see her again. Her food is great, her cooking class is fun and educational. Please support her and her family's endeavours. I would have given 5 stars but could not due to the restaurant serving meat options.

Chur Bro

Points +39

Vegan
11 Aug 2017

Vegan options available. Vegan cooking classes available

Zuzu and Gugu are sisters and are the two main waitresses who understand what vegan is and have a very good command of english. The food has no chilli added but it is served with a side plate for you to add yourself. They have plenty of options at very cheap prices with great service.

The cooking class is 4hrs long ans costs 20,000mmk as of mid 2017 and is totally worth it. You have the ability to alter the set menu (she is happy to make vegan as i did). Zuzu takes you on a tour of the only market in town, educates and purchases ingredients for you and then you head to her cooking school for around 7 dishes

Pros: good command of english, understands veganism, great service and tasty food

HaileyPoLa

Points +1118

Vegan
06 Mar 2017

Nice food and enormous portion

We were delighted to find this restaurant with veg options in Nyaung Shwe. The vegetarian set meal comes with drink, soup, salad, main dish, and stir-fried vegetables. The portion was huge and I was struggling to finish all the food. The tofu curry was nice as well as the tea leaf salad.

Updated from previous review on 2017-03-06

Pros: vegan options, big portion

vivlovveg

Points +94

Vegetarian
12 Jun 2016

good food, good price, good service

lovely restaurant with good food and price. servers were friendly and understand English and vegetarian food.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

johan.soderblom

Points +33

Vegan
23 Jan 2015

One of the best meals of the trip!

I had their vegetarian set menu and it was so good that I returned the next day. Includes a soup, a salad, a main dish with rice and a few side dished as well as a fruit plate. All this for a few dollars.

Pros: Suitable for vegans, Food served hot, Great tasting




This page has been viewed 3403 times.